Thank you for rating this movie!

Passchendaele Movie Poster

4.44 / 5

User rating: 4.44

Based on 16112 votes and 261 reviews

  • User rating: 4.44 78.74%
  • User rating: 4.44 7.50%
  • User rating: 4.44 1.65%
  • User rating: 4.44 3.66%
  • User rating: 4.44 8.45%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 261

User review rating: 5 March 25, 2016

Never in my memory of watching war movies in my lifetime from 1949 has a war movie been more real. History revealed that World War 1 was the war to end all wars because of the horror witnessed by that generation. Passchendaele masterfully portrays the basis of that assessment by those who have tried to explain the horror. Furthermore, the only film I have watched multiple times to catch any details likely missed when viewed first,second,third... The best film from America. Canada is exemplary in this presentation of superlative movie making and story telling.

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2013

really good movie!!!

User review rating: 0 December 15, 2013

i understand what he was going for with this movie he was not going for 2 hours of killing people it was about the struggles they had at home and for the soldiers sent home wounded.and the dialogue was not corny,the acting was good and people should stop comparing this to a u.s war movie where they just fight for 2 hours and that's all they do this is about both side of the fight in the war and the people at home.the battle scenes where amazing i felt like i was there.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2013

An excellent recollection of Paschendale

User review rating: 5 April 04, 2013

it was a good movie just think we didnt fight in that war we should remmber of the brave people that fought for our country and its nota fake scene most of it it took place ata acutually field so peopele show some respect for what they did in the movie to be remindid to be grateful of what happend how we should never forget and ok some parts were alittle corny but the most of it pretty good

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2012

i thought the movie was briliant

User review rating: 2 October 25, 2012

I just watched with that guy in our social class and it was alright

User review rating: 2 October 25, 2012

i just watched it in my social class, it was alright

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2011

good movie definatly worth wathcing

User review rating: 4 July 01, 2011


User review rating: 1 May 19, 2011

I was looking forward to watching this for a while but Passchendaele was one of the worst movies I have ever seen and not because it didn't have a lot of war scenes. I don't care about that. The dialogue was incredibly corny. The actors were awful (Including Gross who is completely overrated). The plot is completely unbelievable and the war scenes are totally fake. This is a movie for bleeding hearts who only like it for what it was supposed to be (A great Canadian war movie) rather than what it was (A complete embarrassment). It tried and it failed I'm afraid.

User review rating: 4 March 18, 2011

Some people just don't get it. No appreciation for the art of war movie making. This film was not intended just to show combat scenes. Mr. Gross was trying to relate to a wider audience to teach them something about an era that most Canadians know little or nothing about and generally don't care about. He wanted to bring elements into play to interest a bigger, wider audience. Get over yourselves and see the film for what it's purpose was for. Some quotes from the movie (as close as I can remember), "We are the only outfit that seems capable of getting anything done, the Canadian Corp." General Currie is predicting 16,000 casualties and the general is never wrong. Learn some Canadian history

User review rating: 3 November 14, 2010

I am a former Cdn Infantry officer, recently retired with over 30 years service. I was really looking forward to seeing this movie but was ultimately disappointed. I was expecting the Canadian version of the movie "Gallipoli". However, compared to Gallipoli, I was frankly embarrassed. I know that Mr. Gross is very respectful of our veterans and the men and women that have made the ultimate sacrifice but this movie did nothing to really tell that story. I think the first scene depicting the capture of the MG nest in the church was well done. I didn't understand why the bulk of the movie was set back in Canada. That had nothing to do with the Passchendaele battle. I suppose it was to cate

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2010

great movie, not a typical display of WW I but has a great story.

User review rating: 3 May 28, 2010

not enough army scenes

User review rating: 5 March 21, 2010

For those of you looking to be entertained then is for you .Yes in places it’s a little farfetched and formulaic. Unlike the Hurt Locker however (which apart from the first 15 mins dies a death of dull repetitiveness) it’s a proper film, it tells a story. Enjoy

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2010

I had to stay and watch the entire movie. It was the worst film I have ever seen. Script, acting, characters........Awful. I have recommended the film to others as so bad it should be watched. It is on par with the Turkish Star Wars Film.... No actually it is worse.

User review rating: 2 January 27, 2010

A very poor vanity project for an overaged actor with non-WWI teeth. An unbelievable story with a poor school play-like script. The imagery is laid on with a trowel and the action scenes are drawn from Saving Private Ryan - a film almost 10 years old. At times it veered from comedy (the young couple in the newspaper office) to melodrama. I was dissatisfied as I expected something gritty and realistic and powerful. Not so much a shell burst as a damp squib.

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2010

As an Australian, it is a little annoying when I see the silohette photo of troops moving through the battlefield (refer the poster cover of the Canadian movie "Passchendaele" knowing that it's an offical Australian War Memorial photo of Australian troops taken by an Australian photographer (Jack Hurley)- ID number E00833 AWM.

User review rating: 2 January 09, 2010

it sucked...war wasnt all about love and romance...paul did a good job capturing brutal moment in the war but 99.9% of the movie was about the pleasures of a relationship...poorly done and misleading to anyone who doesn't know much about world war 1

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2010

Great movie.

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2009

All you people with your negative comments better shut up. This is a great movie. Who cares if it didn't have them in the trenches the whole movie. It showed what it was like back home in Canada and how the war affected them.

User review rating: 0 July 26, 2009

A passionate and powerful movie. Made me proud to be a Canadian. You made your Grandfather proud Paul.

User review rating: 0 July 12, 2009

exelent movie a story of what many of our family members had to go threw.

User review rating: 0 July 12, 2009

Don't waste your time. 2 hours I'll never get back.

User review rating: 0 July 04, 2009

I LOVED it; it has it all. One of the best movies, ever!

User review rating: 0 June 06, 2009

Ugh. What great filming ruined by a highschool script about as complex as an Archie comic. Something great could have been done with that much money.

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2009

I'm sorry, but this is just a terrible movie.

User review rating: 0 April 15, 2009

This film was really good! i hope everyone joined it. I must say that everyone should be all proud about a Canadian war film since its oen of the biggest and expensive ever made in Canada. Also it talks about war where others had lost their love ones and I strongly suggest not to judge this lovely film.

User review rating: 0 March 21, 2009

I hate being negative about something, but I have to say it was the most boring movie I watched in months. LOL Couldn't stick to anything, the story, the actors, etc.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2009

this love story was too far fetched. not very realistic. the only thing that looked a bit real was a bit of the battle scenes, other than that really boring

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2009

umm you should deff ALL watch the behind the scenes BECAUSE the openinig scene is a story told to the director/main character from his own grandfather. his grandfather actually had that happen to him. for all of you who say it is dumb I disagree highly. love stories are in every major film including history movies. so you might want to take a look at the background info before complaining about it.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2009

This is the best movie I have seen in a very long time. It is passionate, true to the facts, universal in its issues and phenomenally directed and acted by Paul Gross. I absolutely loved it.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2009

If the symbolism in Passchendaele is so obvious and over-the-top, why are so many people getting it wrong? The kestrels are not harbingers of doom or metaphors for the soul leaving the body but are instead a metaphor for man's desire to be more Christ-like himself as in "The Windhover" by Gerard Manley Hopkins (look it up!). The overhead shot of David on the cross being dragged through the mud is the most important scene in the movie: far from being thrown in at the last minute, it is the culmination of the themes of self-sacrifice, the myth of the crucified soldier, and the pointlessness of war.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2009

Boring couldnt get into it .......blah!

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2009

I enjoyed the acting and rated this movie a a really nice love story.

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2009

I can't believe some of the comments saying this is a great film - it's NOT. It's a boring, unrealistic love story, set against the backdrop of war. Sorry, but the characters development was weak and/or stereotypical, especially the one dimensional brother. The pacing was slow and while the war scenes were fairly realistic looking, I can't recall any memorable moments, other than the over-the-top, ridiculous, Christ-on-the-cross/saviour-like ending. 100% Canadian cheese.

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2009

A disappointing, uneven and flawed film. I agree that the ending is a joke.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2009

Absolutely horrible! Not only did the love story destroy the movie, but it was definately not the great depiction of the war that some claim it to be.

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2009

This movie was great. I dealt with a couple of themes that I think people miss out on. One, leaving people behind to fight in a war, two dealing with war when you come home, people not understanding what you have gone through and finally making a difficult decision to go to war. The fighting in the trenchs rival "Saving Private Ryan" for accuracy. Also this is a great piece of Canadian history. It is about time a Canadian made a great film about our history instead of complaining about it

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2009

I'm sorry to say this film is an unmitigated disaster. I was looking forward to this movie and was really hoping that it would be something special. I was terribly disappointed. It's an embarrassing effort from Paul Gross. Poorly written dialogue, implausible plot, wooden cliched acting, need I go on? Looks like Gross' ego got the better of him and he thought he could do it all, Producing, writing, director and starring/acting. Someone should have told him, "stop, this is crap, get a real screen writer!" The ending is absolutely ridiculous; Gross determinedly dashes across no man's land, hauls down the wounded soldier - who is strapped to a cross and traverses again back through no man's

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2009

I loved the movie. I felt it was brillantly done and the acting was awesome. My father, a world war 2 vet, watched it and said he felt the fighting was quite accurate of what the Canadian soldiers went through. Paul Gross' talent certainly shines through in this movie.

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2009

Poor, Poor movie...If you are going to name a movie "Passchendaele", then let's make it about Passchendaele. Let's show what are troops went through, the trench warfare, the disease, the torment, the carnage. Let's explore the third battle of Ypres on the screen. How the canadians, like Vimy Ridge, were the only ones to take the decimated town, only to lose it again the following spring. Do we really need the love story? I mean we all know what these soliders left behind, we all know what wars do to life at home (We are currently in a war) But I don't think people really know, what went on in the killing fields of Europe. The massive tunneling, stuck in a trench for days, artillery bo

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2009


User review rating: 0 February 14, 2009

A beautiful film - thanks for bringing Canadian History to life Paul! Brilliant acting, captivating. Not just a war film, but a look at how war affects communities, love and difficult decisions people must make in war times.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2009

very dissapointed. it was a love story more then it was about the battle. most of film was was not even about passchendale! what happened there should have been told better then ths

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2009

solid movie with a good lovestory for people over 20. Would recommend to see this on your 5th, or 6th date with a girl :)

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2009

Proud to be Canadian. Thank You Paul Gross.

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2009

Paul gross did a great job at this movie, with 20 million, We need to show the world what canadains did in the wars more offen, and how it affected the home frount too.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2009

appositely horrible

Change Location