North Country

Thank you for rating this movie!

North Country Movie Poster

4.27 / 5

User rating: 4.27

Based on 750 votes and 59 reviews


  • User rating: 4.27 59.78%
  • User rating: 4.27 23.28%
  • User rating: 4.27 7.26%
  • User rating: 4.27 3.54%
  • User rating: 4.27 6.15%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 59

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2006

it was so magnificent!!! it really touched ny heart as a woman....

User review rating: 0 May 05, 2006

very good movie,can`t go wrong with that one

User review rating: 0 March 29, 2006

Moving and thought provoking. A powerful expose` of what TRUE sexual harrassment in the work place consists of! Dynamic!

User review rating: 0 March 27, 2006

tremendously powerful

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2006

LOVED it. Absolutely one of the most powerful movies I`ve seen, really thought provoking and socially challenging

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2006

Performances all fine, but Frances McDormand outstanding. Choice of locaton and photography conveyed fully the bleakness of the area and life therein

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2006

it was eh, alright. Would I see it again? Nah.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2006

Great inspirational movie

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2006

North Country was brillianty written. I was intrigued by the story line and by the acting. Definately on the list of "must see movies".

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2006

excellent supporting cast(especially the dad)...very good story...Theron was good but not Oscar worthy

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2006

good job

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2006

Aside from a just okay performace by Charlize the movie really didn`t make a lot of sense. Scenes included live coverage of the Clarance Thomas confirmation hearings which took place in 1991 but the movie was set in 1989. Don`t bother.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2006

A wonderful movie great acting and a wonderful cast,but just cant belive the goings on at the mice they had to endure,,,

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2006

It was alright , I though she cried too mucha nd was thouroughly dissapointed that sean bean didnt have a bigger role

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2006

charlise once again is making us south africans proud. brilliant piece of an excellent calibre

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2006

Excellent movie. Charlize Theron shines as always in the lead role.

User review rating: 0 December 09, 2005

Great b/c of the super cast!

User review rating: 0 December 05, 2005

It made me proud to be a woman from Minnesota...where all the women are strong...Great film and excellent acting.

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2005

I felt that this was a great movie that showed that we all have to satand up for are selves even whe no one else is behind us

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2005

Another Oscar performance by Charlize THERON. Her performances in Monster and North Country are examples of many great performances still to come. A great movie.

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2005

Somtimes the truth hurts. The seventies were a booming time for Minnesota`s Iron Range. My family has owned a tavern for seventy-three years(we`ve seen alot!). I even dated the daughter of one of the individuals. (seemed like a nice guy??). Great acting ,great cast a great movie. Please don`t think we are all cavemen.

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2005

Simple scenes made this movie outstanding. SIssy Spacek was excellent as was all the cast. A must see for the young women of today.

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2005

Very gut wrenching and raw kind of movie, I think that it did exactly what it was meant to do which is describe the life of a strugling single mother having to deal with all different obstacles in her life including working in a "man`s world". This movie wasn`t made to inspire hate for men but to remind us how hard women had to fight for their rights and perhaps to remind us that we should be thankful for how easy we have it today and to never, ever, think less of yourself just because you are a woman.

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2005

the movie dragged in places, not sure why, as the story could have been a very riveting movie, I got "lost" at times, even wondering how much longer the movie would continue. Found it disappointing, and not Woody Harrelson`s best performance, Charlize was awesome

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2005

you go girl!

User review rating: 0 November 19, 2005

what an amazing movie!!! charlize couldnt have done better.it was a awesome man-hate movie for those of u who do acually hate men.. and also a tear jerker at times awesome just awesome

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2005

oscar... for best movie, best actress and best supporting actress, Frances McDormand. It is also important to see because we must remember what other women fought for. And no I am not a man hater.

User review rating: 0 November 16, 2005

over rated movie and actress. good movie. good actress.not a difficult role to master,she should have nailed this role. she did. oscar? maybe if no one else gives a "great performance". 3/5 for charlize 3.5/5 for the movie.

User review rating: 0 November 15, 2005

great... another man-hate movie..

User review rating: 0 November 13, 2005

I am married and this movie made me hate `men`! I guess I live in sheltered world because I can`t believe there are men out there in a working position that would stoop so low. I hope the men who did this read the reviews because I want you to know how sick, warped, disgusting and childish you all were!!! Shame on you all!

User review rating: 0 November 11, 2005

Great movie!!! Very well acted, Charlize will probably get an oscar for this one too. Overall not a feel good movie, a little disturbing but worth the watch as the story is so moving.

User review rating: 0 November 11, 2005

All the people who think Charlize Theron is not a great actress should not be commenting. She played an amazing role in this movie as others she has acted in. Defintely amazing movie with a great story line. Best movie out as far as I know.

User review rating: 0 November 10, 2005

Excellent movie! she`s a unbelievable awesome actress, and deserves an Oscar again!!

User review rating: 0 November 10, 2005

Good movie plot, but it lacked something. Rather slow in parts and drawn out. Woody Harrelson was great. I think they could have picked someone better then Charlize to protray this woman....she just lacked something....for what was happening to her she didn`t seem to be convincing enough. Overall and OK movie....don`t expect much action.

User review rating: 0 November 10, 2005

One of the best movies i have seen in a long time.She should get an oscar award.

User review rating: 0 November 10, 2005

amazing, definite oscar contender here

User review rating: 0 November 09, 2005

I thought this movie was really good. Definately some really good acting; very touching movie. I would reccomend it to all females and any male that is interested to see how women were exposed to prejudice not so long ago...

User review rating: 0 November 09, 2005

Nice Movie. Similar sort of theme as played out in Norma Rae, Silkwood and Erin Brockovich. If you`ve seen and enjoyed any of these movies, you`ll certainly enjoy North Country. One of the best movies out now.

User review rating: 0 November 06, 2005

I felt some strong emotions multiple times during this movie! I was slightly indifferent about the courtroom scene, however they pulled it off when all was said and done (because of Therone)!

User review rating: 0 November 05, 2005

oh man it was increadible it was aosome i have never seeen a more eiting movie

User review rating: 0 November 05, 2005

Fantastic flick!! Made my blood boil and hate men at times but was also quite the tear jerker. Definitley worth a see. Probably more of a movie for you and the girls though.

User review rating: 0 November 05, 2005

There were a few really poignant moments during the movie, and a few very good performances. Overall though, I felt the movie focused on too many sub-plots at the expense of the real story. At some point, the screenplay writer should have decided if it was going to be a biopic, a court room drama, or a made for tv movie.

User review rating: 0 November 04, 2005

what an incredible movie.

User review rating: 0 November 01, 2005

If you enjoy a well acted, well written movie, this is the one for you. One word describes this movie, enjoyable.

User review rating: 0 October 31, 2005

I heard an interview on public radio with Lois Jenson, who was the woman who started the law suit. She hadn`t liked the book, but said the movie got it right--except she wasn`t drop dead beautiful like Charlize Theron. Great movie. Very moving and inspiring.

User review rating: 0 October 29, 2005

This was another great performance by Charlize. The movie itself is a great one to see, but lacked a little of the punck of Erin Brockavich. Worth the price of admission.

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2005

Interesting movie but becomes a bit slow narrative.

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2005

i thought it was an excellent story with humour and tears, but most importantly an incredible message of one woman helping to change the system for the many other women that will, and have, followed in her footsteps.

User review rating: 0 October 27, 2005

I really don`t see what everyone else must see in Charlize. It`s a good story and all. But she should stick to modeling. She has such a dry personality, and everytime she speaks it sounds so dull. Oscar worthy? Nah.

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2005

People that thought this is a great movie obviously don`t get out much to the movies.

Change Location