Mystic River

Thank you for rating this movie!

Mystic River Movie Poster

4.66 / 5

User rating: 4.66

Based on 117474 votes and 89 reviews


  • User rating: 4.66 72.00%
  • User rating: 4.66 25.70%
  • User rating: 4.66 0.27%
  • User rating: 4.66 0.26%
  • User rating: 4.66 1.77%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 89

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2009

My favourite movie of 2003!

User review rating: 0 September 01, 2006

Excellent...just excellent all around...see this movie!

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2006

Absoluting breathtaking. Saddest ending I`ve ever seen.

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2005

The main actors disgust me as Americans!!!! Buck S., Henryetta, OK Volunteer RVN

User review rating: 0 June 11, 2005

A very great movie

User review rating: 0 October 25, 2004

I loved this Movie...Sean Penn is AWESOME!!!

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2004

This movie was great!...kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Clint is a great director and should win an oscar in the future! Rent this movie today!

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2004

Excellent Movie....I loved it!

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2004

Complete thriller, fascinating story!

User review rating: 0 September 12, 2004

Great Movie! I can see why it won so many Oscars and was among the best pictures last year. Incredible!!!!

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2004

WOW - What a horrible disappointment. Predictable. Slow. Characters that made me GLAD I didn`t grow up in a disfuctional blue collar bostonian neighborhood. Sean Penn did his usual "hot under the collar" routine, Tim Robbins` performance was close to that of Shawshank "cute and clueless". And I expected much better from Kevin Bacon and Laurence Fishburne even as "mutt and jeff" detectives. The female roles of this movie had my mouth ajar - "I think my husband killed your daughter" (but I`ll call you when my husband comes up missing, after I`ve left him, knowing you`re a known psychopath- maybe you didn`t kill him after all!) .. (I unders

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2004

Excellent...a little on the dark side but well acted and great direction from Clint!

User review rating: 0 July 19, 2004

Great movie, but a little slow in spots.

User review rating: 0 July 15, 2004

Excellent movie..well acted, and an emotional drama. Didn`t like the ending so much but still good none-the less.

User review rating: 0 June 28, 2004

I thought this was an excellent Movie. Great acting, great story...everything you want in a movie...make sure you see this one!

User review rating: 0 June 11, 2004

The movie was very good but I read the book first and think that the book was better.

User review rating: 0 May 05, 2004

A top 5 movie of 2003!!

User review rating: 0 May 04, 2004

Wow...what a cast...what a story..incredible movie!!!

User review rating: 0 May 04, 2004

A fantastic movie!

User review rating: 0 May 03, 2004

One of the top 5 movies of the year. Solid cast and soild story. Quality all the way !!!

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2004

The most unsatisfactory ending of any movie I`ve ever seen. The first 4/5th of the movie was quite interesting and involving, but I simply hated the conclusion, even to the point where I wished I never would have gone to see this flick to begin with! I noticed Sean Penn got a Best Actor movie and Tim Robbins a Best Supporting Actor one. Good as their performances were, I don`t think they were of "top of the heap" caliber.

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2004

Wonderfully acted drama. I loved it.

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2004

One of the best movies of the year. Great acting, amazing cast, and incredible story.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2004

No doubt, aside from the Lord of the Rings trilogy, this is the best movie to come along in years. Everything was top notch. From the acting to the directing to the storytelling, this was one incredible movie.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2004

it was terrible.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2004

it was the worst possible piece of entertainment to enter a theater.

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2004

Sean Penn is THE BEST!!

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2004

It was the best movie ever

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2004

Fantastic movie. Sean Penn & Tim Robbins sure deserved the academy awards they received for this movie.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2004

it sucks

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2004

some people say good but i say great

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2004

over the past few weeks I have tried to see as many of the oscar nominated films as possible and mystic river was the last. Unfortunately it was not a case of saving the best. I found myself coming out of the theatre unable to pin point what did not work for me and then I read the review below about Law and Order and it made sense. This movie was like a mediocre cross between the O`Sopranos and Law and Order but lacking the excitment of the former and the sharpness of the latter. While the acting was good-not a stretch for any of the actors- the plot was weak, the pace too slow, and alot of the characters were two-dimensional. Laura Linley an

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2004

What an astonishing story...filled with pain and heartbreak...all of this coming to a boil and blurring the edges between moral and immoral, fair and unfair...Sean Penn is remarkable and so is Tim Robbins, giving a nuanced performance that`ll remind you of Shawshank. The ending doesn`t quite give you the closure you hope for, but it leaves you wondering about the outcome of these lives.

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2004

this was one of the best movies i have ever seen!

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2004

This is not only just the best film I have ever seen, it`s also far beyond that. When thinking about it and reading about it two weeks after seeing it, I still shed some tears...

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2004

it sucked. end of story.

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2004

I loved Mystic..Sean Penn is one of my favorite actors..along with robbins makes for a great movie..I would go again.

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2004

One of the better movies that I had seen lately. There aren`t many great films out but this movie actually surprised me because of how intense it was. Superb acting by all the actors. Sean Penn was incredible and made his character so very believable. Althought it was a bit long, it is definitely worth the money.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2004

Very true to the author`s story! After reading the book, I couldn`t wait to see the movie and for a change I was not disappointed. Although some people felt the ending was less than adequate, I felt it left you thinking about the fact that not all murders are solved, not all murderers are punished and everything isn`t always wrapped up with a bow in the end as some movies would have us believe. If you liked the book - you will love this movie! I think it is one of the best this year!

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2004

Good story and incredible acting.

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2004

The best movie we have seen in a very long time

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2004

bloody excellent,,,,,I would go again

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2004

The Acting was Great, the Directing was Great.... the Movie was Great

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2004

Very good, yet predictable if you come to think a little

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2004

I THOUGHT THIS MOVIE WAS GREAT. SEAN PEAN NEEDS AN OSCAR BUT FOR THE STORY I DONT THINK SO.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2004

Excellent script. Sean Penn Amazing!

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2004

Powerful murder mystery that goes beyond whodunnit. When uncovered, the ending leaves it`s audience disturbed. Oscar-worthy performances by Sean Penn and Tim Robbins. Practically flawless directing by Clint Eastwood. Should be Best Picture but Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King will steal it. Too bad; a riveting masterpiece.

User review rating: 0 January 29, 2004

My husband and I saw it, we thought it was great, alot of twists and turns, slow starting and we actually thought dave was dead. Sean penn was great as was Tim robins I think this movie will recieve an oscar somewhere...best actor,supporting actor, director and picture. We liked it, back in that time frame thats how things were, for regular families Thanks, it was great

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2004

I did not like it at all. Left half way through the movie, boring and dragged on to long

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2004

Great Movie, Excellent script and acting

Change Location