Mongol

Thank you for rating this movie!

Mongol Movie Poster

4.07 / 5

User rating: 4.07

Based on 75 votes and 10 reviews


  • User rating: 4.07 56.67%
  • User rating: 4.07 20.00%
  • User rating: 4.07 6.67%
  • User rating: 4.07 6.67%
  • User rating: 4.07 10.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 10 of 10

User review rating: 5 September 28, 2010

It’s essentially a love story with plenty of graphic battle scenes and a host of historical inaccuracies, but I enjoyed this film so much at last year’s Film Festival I just had to see it again on the big screen. It’s loosely based on the life and times of Genghis Khan, born in 1162: starting as a child picking a bride then through skirmishes and captivities and on to his leadership of the Mongols. Filming took place on location on the Mongolian Steppes with a cast of thousands, mostly on horseback. It’s those thundering, galloping hooves that will linger with me the most. Breathtaking scenery and magical elements, not to mention the authentic costumes and settings, made Mongol an intense an

User review rating: 0 July 15, 2008

Well acted and good action. I'm not convinced of the accuracy of the historical events but I've heard there will be sequels and I probably will see them.

User review rating: 0 July 08, 2008

The best historical movie ever

User review rating: 0 July 01, 2008

Fighting scenes were very cool. 5 stars

User review rating: 0 July 01, 2008

wow. amazing!

User review rating: 0 July 01, 2008

superb

User review rating: 0 July 01, 2008

Loved everything about the movie: acting, cinematography, costume, action scenes.... To my knowledge, it was fairly accurate, historically speaking, all except the fact that Genghis Khan is known today as the most successful alpha male [in regards to spreading his seed] via the raping of women. In the movie, however, he is depicted [by his true nature being conveniently skipped over] as being a kind-hearted lover, as well as loyal warrior.

User review rating: 0 June 28, 2008

This movie is remarkable. It is more than Gengis Khan's rise to power. I loved how it demonstrated the develpment of his character and honour which drew men to him. You must see this at a theatre to see the wonderful cinematography.

User review rating: 0 June 28, 2008

This is an INCREDIBLE film. ASANO TADANOBU, as always, was astonishing! Whatever character he portrays, he is not simply acting, he BECOMES that character and you forget you are watching a film...you get pulled into the story. This film will make him the international star he was born to be. All around wonderful acting from a great cast, a superior director, a well-developed storyline with plenty of action & drama, stunning cinematography & a very cool musical score make this a must see film! Those who give this film a low rating obviously care to see only dull-witted straight up action films with no storyline, that cater to the 15 year old boy mindset & therefore should stick to drivel such

User review rating: 0 June 08, 2008

The movie was wonderful! Those who require non-stop action and don't care whether there is a viable storyline are probably the same ones who rated this movie one or two stars. While there was plenty of action -- more bloody and realistic than I prefer (I spent those battle scenes with my eyes tightly closed), the slower paced telling of the story, revealed a greater understanding of the life and mores of the Mongols of that era. A must see movie!!

Change Location