Memoirs of a Geisha

Thank you for rating this movie!

Memoirs of a Geisha Movie Poster

4.21 / 5

User rating: 4.21

Based on 1724 votes and 159 reviews


  • User rating: 4.21 60.61%
  • User rating: 4.21 18.83%
  • User rating: 4.21 9.51%
  • User rating: 4.21 2.79%
  • User rating: 4.21 8.26%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 159

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2010

I like the plot of the movie....The lead role is very pretty and talented when it comes to acting....

User review rating: 0 April 20, 2006

I read the book first and found that the movie covered the book well. I really liked the movie.

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2006

It is typical! Portraying the persona of a young, immature, arguably stupid girl for our times! Thank you. But I think it is a movie that should have been definitly explored!

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2006

Extremely well done...you need to have read the book to follow along and the movie helps understand what you`ve read in the book. She was amazing...now why didn`t she get the Oscar? Her performance was superior considering she didn`t speak English and just memorized her lines not knowing what she was saying.

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2006

It was good, although much of what was in the novel was cut-out and much of what made the book so exciting was not used in the movie.

User review rating: 0 March 23, 2006

Delicious, lush, of historical value, has beautiful scenery, is an excellent example of how being demure, pure, and controlled works wonders for the imagination.

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2006

Good movie. Captivating. A pleasure to watch.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2006

I really loved this movie! The exploration of the struggles of human nature and the beauty of true love and the steps taken to get there was inspiring and enchanting. I left the movie with a glimmer of hope in my own life.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2006

I think the movie captivates the heart of everyone including myself.. It gives me knowledge about what a geisha means and how different a geisha from a courtesan.. It`s promising movie!!! Congratulation!!! Mabuhay!!!!

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2006

awesome movie....full of colours and culture

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2006

The book was good, the movie was not.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2006

I just saw the movie and read the book just before and the book definately was extremely well written and outdid the movie.I was dissapointed by the ending which I thought was the most important part of the book to show her independance.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2006

Amazingly good movie! I can`t believe it didn`t get a best picture nomination. Can you say "snub"?

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2006

I haven`t read the book but I thought movie really showed the life of the geisha`s. The thing that bugged me was that all the actors were chinese and the movie seemed to go on FOREVER.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2006

Movie seemed to be a good portrayal of the culture of the time. It was OK, seemed much longer than it needed to be. My wife owes me an action movie, big time, after sitting through this.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2006

really need to read the book to fully enjoy it!

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2006

awesome movie-definitely award material!!!!

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2006

Saw it in theatres and LOVED it. Now I can`t wait to buy the DVD!

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2006

i read the book and loved it! watched the movie, loved it!

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2006

A hollywood produced movie about an asian tale told like it was some primary school story. I did not buy it at all. It seemed to be filmed on a set the size of my living room (same scenes, same atmosphere, same suprised looks)and lacked any authenticity. Im sure the book was great (or so Ive heard) but it was so incredibly cheesy. We all knew how the story would unfold yet all watched an hoped for something different. If you looking for an opportunity to watch women being objectified and asians (and americans) being stereotyped, here it is.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2006

Amazing movie!! Stunning in every aspect. No, it isn`t action-packed. This movie is about story and character development. You know, an actual well-done comprehensive movie. If you`re raving over King Kong then this movie may not be for you. Memoirs Of A Geisha is the best movie of 2005, no question about it.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2006

well it was something to see and do to kill 2 hours. dont know if i really liked it alot. wait to rent !!

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2006

BORING!!!!!!THE FIRST TIME I EVER SLEPT WATCHING A MOVIE.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2006

It was an amazing tale of trial, torture and romance. I definitely recommend it and I can`t wait to read the book.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2006

memoirs of geisha is very good..!! it tells us that to earn a succesful we have to always willing to try..

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2006

memoirs of geisha is very good..!! it tells us that to earn a succesful we have to always willing to try..

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2006

What a masterpiece. I definitely recommend seeing this movie. I loved it!! Beautiful!

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2006

I think this movie was good overall, i honestly think they should have used Japanese actors and actresses, but hey, i didn`t cast the movie, i reccomend this movie for people who like long movies, because trust me, if you dont you might get bored.

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2006

EXCELLENT IN ALL ASPECTS!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2006

This movie is simply stunning; it was well done! Those who barked about the 3 Chinese actresses who acted their Japanese roles is pure `Non-sense`!! Historically, CHINA gave Japan directly its culture and bloodline. What`s the difference? Just go and enjoy this movie for its artistic values, similar to any other great movies!! We enjoyed it, and saw it 4 times now! Each time we saw it was a NEW experience!

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2006

i liked the book better

User review rating: 0 January 17, 2006

it was good until the ending, which happened too abruptly and not in an artistic or holistic fashion. it left me perplexed because so many things were not taken care of. many of the dialogues were missed because japanese scripts were not represented by subtitles. rent it.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2006

4 stars for this movie. I went into it not knowing what to expect - but I heard the novel was amazing. Incredible to see what the Asian women used to have to go through and to experience this culture for a couple of hours was well worth the cost of admission in itself. I thought the casting was excellent, great acting. And, the Chairman was HOT! :) Thumbs up.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2006

OMYGOSH..I THOUGHT IT WAS GOING TO BE GOOD BUT IT WAS SO HORRIBLE I CAN`T BELIEVE I WASTED MY TIME WATCHING IT!!!! I FIND IT BORING THROUGHOUT THE MOVIE! I RATHER GO TO SLEEP THEN WATCH THE MOVIE...A BIG THUMBS DOWN FOR THIS MOVIE! DON`T WASTE UR $$$$ PEOPLE.

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2006

Amazing movie! I was very very impressed with this one. I wasn`t really sure what to expect since Hollywood has never (extremely rarely anyway) done any justice to any Asian culture, but this movie was phenomenal. I am a huge fan of Asian cinema (Hong Kong and Korea in particular) and although I was put off initially by some of the casting, being already familiar with their work, EVERYONE did an incredible job in their roles. To those who said you could hardly understand what they were saying, I can only shake my head and pity you. Sounds like something someone not particularly "foreign"-friendly would say. Anyway. Two thumbs up!

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2006

excellent excellent excellent

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2006

Excellent , excellent, excellent 5/5

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2006

It was a yawnfest a rental for sure. Not worth the $10.75 for the matinee and I wasted 2.5 hours of my life

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2006

Almost as good as the novel...

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2006

An amazing depection of the life of a giesha

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2006

It was wonderful. Followed the storyline of the book and the actors well-chosen. The little girl who portrayed Sayuri was absolutely wonderful. The ending was touching and the sets well done. I thoroughly enjoyed the movie.

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2006

Based on the internationally acclaimed novel by Arthur Golden. Not necessarily based on actual, factual history.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2006

DISAPPOINTING. did not capture the essence of japanese/geisha culture at all! i felt like i was watching crouching tiger hidden dragon. the whole main cast was chinese.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2006

Good enough movie. I would have preferred if the producers invested some money in english-speaking classes for Ziyi Zhang. After a while, watching a Japanese character speak English with a Chinese accent just gets too distracting.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2006

beautiful movie, nothing deep though.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2006

A beautiful film with gorgeous actress.....a big rising star from China!!!

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2006

A beautiful movie! It`s been a long while since I have seen a really good movie. It was worth watching on the big screen.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2006

Beautiful movie altogether, the costumes, the landscape, the actresses...not as good as the book though

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2006

One of the best movies I have seen in a long time. It is heart wrenching & really makes you appreciate the "freedom" we have over here. I laughed & wanted to cry, it was amazing. I hope it wins a lot of awards. I think I am going to go and see it again!!!

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2006

I thought it was absolutely fantastic. This is entertainment not a documentary. It achieved this beautifully. For those who feel there are errors in authenticity, poorly cast actors, etc, get over it! It was a movie. Watch the Documentary channel if you want accuracy. I have since purchased the book and I am sure I will thoroughly enjoy it as much as the movie. Well worth the money and great to see on the `Big screen`...a rarity.

Change Location