Max Manus

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.96 / 5

User rating: 3.96

Based on 316 votes and 119 reviews


  • User rating: 3.96 19.08%
  • User rating: 3.96 63.82%
  • User rating: 3.96 13.82%
  • User rating: 3.96 0.66%
  • User rating: 3.96 2.63%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 119

User review rating: 3 September 28, 2010

I usually prefer to watch documentaries about historical heros, but since I've never come across one on this subject, Max Manus the film provided me with a decent education. Well acted (and well cast!) the story unfolded with gripping intensity.

User review rating: 1 July 10, 2010

I cant understand why top ratings only go to foreign non English,black and white,camcorder ,strange low budget and gay movies only

User review rating: 5 May 09, 2010

Exceptional film! A must-see event!

User review rating: 4 April 07, 2010

good movie, enjoyed it very much

User review rating: 4 April 05, 2010

Excellent job!

User review rating: 4 April 05, 2010

Enjoyed it, kept me interested. Thanks

User review rating: 4 April 03, 2010

Great. Like Original Sound with English subtitles. Felt the pain and terror of Norwegians during those Black days of WWII. Max Manus adds to the catalog of film based on the personal lives portrayed therein. A Must see!

User review rating: 4 April 03, 2010

It would be a mistake to let the English sub-title deter you from watching this movie as all the actors gave stellar performances. It was an excellent movie.

User review rating: 4 April 03, 2010

Really great movie! I was not expecting the story to be as good as it was considering I had never even heard of the movie before the advanced screening. A must see for sure!

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2010

It was a great movie.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2010

I really enjoyed it and will watch it again.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2010

Excellent movie, more real than a lot of the hollywood movies which a lot of seemed to lose this glimmer!

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2010

Wonderful! Intense!

User review rating: 3 April 02, 2010

enjoyed the movie thanks so much, will tell friends about it

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2010

Enjoyed Max Manus! Lots of actions, the movie was awesome! Already recommended to friends and relatives. Would like to see more of these European films. Got better understanding of other peoples' cultures and customs. Thanks for bringing Max Manus to Vancouver, Canada!

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2010

great movie, good plot

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2010

Great movie

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2010

Max Manus was a masterpiece. Some scenes reminded me of 2004's "Downfall", and periodically even Inglourious Basterds. This movie was amazingly unique. I can't remember being this attached to characters in a movie, especially a war movie, in some time. I will definitely watch this film again, it's pretty much perfect.

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2010

Good acting, good scenes.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

This movie has a good story and tells it well. For a period piece it was very well delivered.. intense at times.. very touching.. all in all a good piece.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

It was cool. Hard to believe that it was based on a true story.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

Good movie

User review rating: 1 April 01, 2010

Not perticularly fond of subtitled movies. I left because it was becoming hard to see some of the subtitles and you miss a lot of the movie while trying to read everything.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

A well done film,

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

I thought that it was a very good film and i'm not usually crazy about subtitle and i loved it

User review rating: 3 April 01, 2010

All around great foreign fare!

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

Dubbed as the "best Norwegian film ever made", the film's run time of 118 minutes does much to back up this sentiment. Max Manus is staged with a confidence and with consistent pacing by its directors Roenning & Sandberg. A mere budget of $8 million dollars just happens to make it the most expensive film out of Norway and puts most Hollywood blockbusters to shame with it's beautiful set pieces, landscape and CGI. Thrilling, suspenseful, and action packed - Max Manus is a wonderfully balanced World War II epic that shares a piece of history that most people never would have heard about it. The most significant contribution to the film, is of course, Aksel Hennie who plays the role of Max Manu

User review rating: 5 April 01, 2010

I applaud this movie. Not many movies can be applauded. There are a select few. It shows the courage and integrity of the human spirit when facing all odds and doing in spite of this what is right and heroic. Powerful. Well worth watching again and again from beginning to end.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

Great!

User review rating: 5 April 01, 2010

This was an exceptionally well-done movie based on a true story. The only way to fight oppression and tyranny is by brave men like these who have the courage to stand up and do something. Remarkable. Truly outstanding performances and a truly remarkable life. A keeper. Worth watching over and over.

User review rating: 3 April 01, 2010

the movie was ok i found the words were hard to see would been better if it was in English

User review rating: 3 April 01, 2010

too much reading

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

Good not great world war II movie with solid acting & realistic sets.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

i enjoyed watching Max Manus. I was not aware off the Oslo Gang before . The characters were interesting and there was a lot of suspense.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

We thought it was a fantastic film. It was interesting to see WW2 from a different countries perceptive other than the usual American one. We were amazed to learn it was a true story about some of Norway's greatest war hero's!! It was never ending excitement and action packed! We highly recommend this film.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

An exciting war movie about one of Norway's most decorated war hero's Max Manus. His struggle and victory against the Nazi's to free his country from oppression was commendable and showed true courage and grit, especially when they had to physically place explosives on the sides of the ships they wanted to detonate, surrounded by nazi's. You could feel their fear. Any moment they could be shot and killed. Worse still, captured and tortured. We saw the brutality that one of their commrades suffered. Great cast. Kudos to the filmmakers. Also the love story made it more human.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

This movie surprised me. It was much better than I had anticipated!

User review rating: 3 April 01, 2010

I was not bored. This means more to me than it appears.I didnot understand that Max Manus was the only one of the Oslo Gang to survive. This film made me go to Wickpedia to read about Max Manus and Norway during WW2.I talked to my friends about the film.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

Better than I expected!

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

Alright, but too stressful for me.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

A edge of your seat thriller about The resistance fighters and the war effort.

User review rating: 5 April 01, 2010

A part of history I didn't know at all, very well done, the characters were well buildt and captivating. Will recommend it.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

Was exremely thought provoking.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

Great that Norway has finally been able to get this story told.

User review rating: 5 April 01, 2010

What a fascinating movie! I never heard of this true story before and I am glad that I know more about this fascinating man. I would definitely recommend this movie, not only for history and war buffs but also for fans of human interest stories and the courage we all bring.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

A great historical drama that balances character development with important moments and dates way better than say, "Amelia." You get a strong feel for why decisions were made, the arguments for and against certain actions and the personal and mental impact of war. Recommended viewing.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

Very exciting and was on the edge of my seat. Cat and mouse chase like movie. Would see again

User review rating: 5 April 01, 2010

Enjoyed to see a war related movie.

User review rating: 5 April 01, 2010

A very touching and a well produced movie to enjoy.

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2010

The following are my comments about Max Manus: - great opportunity to learn about WW II from this perspective which was something completely new to me, -liked how the film paralled the lives of these patrotic Norwegians who courageously formed the resistance and fought for their country, - film wasn't too gory but realistically conveyed what war was about including suffering, loss, pain, teamwork, bravery, love, and freedom, - am more interested in foreign films and also would like to visit Norway and Sweden to relive this history and hear the Norwegian language spoken - enjoyed knowing what became of the people portrayed in the film who survived and what they did with their

Change Location