Marie Antoinette

Thank you for rating this movie!

Marie Antoinette Movie Poster

3.43 / 5

User rating: 3.43

Based on 495 votes and 44 reviews


  • User rating: 3.43 42.34%
  • User rating: 3.43 14.86%
  • User rating: 3.43 9.01%
  • User rating: 3.43 11.26%
  • User rating: 3.43 22.52%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 44 of 44

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2011

Loved the fact that it was a character piece and did not show the bloody ending to the royal family's lives. The final frame of the destroyed room said enough.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2010

Great movie but I did not like how "modern" music was thrown in. Wonderful that the movie was actually filmed at Versailles.

User review rating: 0 August 04, 2009

GREAT Movie! It's not accurate but the scenes costumes and music is great. Worth seeing!

User review rating: 0 July 02, 2008

i'm one of the people who make research about Marie Antoinette's Story and i think the movie dosent show the real Antoinette the one who dosent know anything about her will not understand what happened back then, any she didn't sleep with Count Fersen until she got her 4th child(baby girl) who died early that was after 1786, the movie doesn't show why she fall inlove with Fersen and how she start with him, the Movie doesnt show anything about her friend De Pullinak who giude her to the careless life, and movie doesnt show why the revolution has to happened and the movie doesn't show the end, alot of the major stuff in the french history i didn't see it in the movie, im still young but after

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2008

Bored. Out out of my mind.

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2007

I loved it; beautiful colours, great soundtrack, quirky characters.

User review rating: 0 July 17, 2007

worst casting in a film to date. this book was not historically acturate so why make a motion picture just fanning those lies. this glorifies the life of marie antoinette, i wish people would research her life before they watch this and get a warped sense of her character. this has made a farce of the french revolution and all that it entailed, this was a huge part in frances history and i didnt expect an american made film to see that.

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2007

Fantastic costumes and cinematography but not much in the way of dialogue. As the film progresses it becomes more and more of a bizare mixture of monty python, black adder and an Adam Ant video.

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2006

i fell asleep

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2006

I gave this movie 1 star because there wasn`t anything else....yea the young monarchs had a great life at the expense of the rest of France but a didn`t need to sit for 2 hours to get it!

User review rating: 0 November 26, 2006

Surprisingly impressed. Even my husband who went kicking and screaming was thrilled. I don`t know how historically accurate it is but I think the film does a brilliant job of showing the young monarchs as the confussed teenages that they were. There isn`t a lot of dialog, it is more like a presentation of the life style at the French Court.

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2006

Loved it! People should do more research before they hit the theatre. This is a beautiful movie and we can tell Sophia really puts her heart into it & it worked. Stop bitching that it`s boring etc, it`s not "Departed", you know. Movies don`t need violence and explosions to be entertaing!

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2006

Officially one of the worst movies i`ve ever seen. i fell asleep

User review rating: 0 November 07, 2006

loving costumes,good acting and beautiful scenes

User review rating: 0 November 05, 2006

Very Bad movie, just made me want to eat cakes and drink champagne.

User review rating: 0 November 03, 2006

First of all I worship Kirsten Dunst,she is a great actress, having said that, this was one heck of a borefest with no beginning and no end, a waste of time...

User review rating: 0 November 03, 2006

costumes were great, food looked so delicous, but the storyline was horrible. It was sooo boring that i actually found counting the theatre ceiling tiles more enjoyable... btw theres 468 tiles hahaha. i expected more. at least be-head her at the end to add a bit excitement....

User review rating: 0 November 02, 2006

great costumes, most boring movie ever. should have been way better

User review rating: 0 November 01, 2006

loved this movie!!

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2006

one word boring

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2006

If you go to see this movie and have a vague idea of who Marie Antoniette was you will be lost or if you go in expecting the worst or greatest again you will not enjoy. I went in and loved this movie`s witty comments and costumes. I give it 4 stars.

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2006

Feel terrible that I dragged my friend to this movie. I never believe the reviews, but I have to agree with all the negative ones. I can`t count how many bad things were done about this movie but Sophia Coppola should be shot. What should have been a wonderful period piece, whether it was supposed to be fun or not, was executed so terribly in EVERY aspect. It dragged, the music was hideous, her story was not told properly, and what`s worse is that Kirsten Dunst who is usually so talented, completely flopped. What do you expect for such a mature role.....THIS IS NOT EVEN A RENTAL!

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2006

This is one bad movie. Don`t waste your time or money on this crap !!!

User review rating: 0 October 27, 2006

realllyyy reallyyy BAD movie... don`t waste your money

User review rating: 0 October 27, 2006

Grrrrreat film: I love it! This is definitely not a Historic film if that`s what you hv in mind: I love how Coppola looks at Marie Antonitte`s life, she was merely just a child trying to hv fun! I love the `rock & roll` music and all the party scences, she turns Marie Antoninette into a normal young woman just wanna hv fun. Unfortunately she was dragged into all these scandals by her stupid husband.

User review rating: 0 October 27, 2006

besides the lavish costumes which I am pretty sure will win the Oscar, and also what a director Sophie Coppola is, again, the film doesn`t need too much dialogue however the story flows smoothly. the film make us udnerstand how a tragic life Marie Antointeet had lived and being mistaken as an escape goat for her King husband.

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2006

Horrible...just horrible. 2 hours that I will never get back.

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2006

History buffs beware. History is written by the victors and sometimes unfortunately by Hollywood- this is the tabloid version of Marie Antoinette`s life. It would have been more interesting if they had used a fictitious character to portray the events rather than use the unfortunate woman`s name to sell the movie and then fail to tell her story with any degree of accuracy. Costumes are fabulous. Sound track is ridiculous.

User review rating: 0 October 25, 2006

I enjoyed the movie; great music (both classical and contemporary) as well as locations and costumes etc. And made me laugh a few times too (lots little jokes and sarcasm, if you can catch it). Copola is a great film-maker. Some of the comments miss the point: this movie is not a historical film about the French revolution, it is a biographical film looking at a person, who`s world was ended by the revolution. Therefore the focus on HER life and the abrupt ending. This film is very reflective and an interesting personal look at a historical figure. That is why the dialogue may appear "weak": the simplicity and (at times) silence should

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2006

possibly the worst movie ive seen since i was born. This is the only review ive ever written so youve been warned.

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2006

I thought it was quite boring and uneventful for such an exciting time in history.

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2006

This movie just shows that coppola does not have the maturity and/or talent to convey the intricacies and subtleties of an important historical figure. This is a disgrace to the people of France. The public tragedy that ensued from irrresponsibilty of a ruler et al. should not be conveyed as a piece of hollywood fluff.

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2006

HELLO!!!... did you guys see the same movie as me?... I"m pretty sure Kirsten Dunst is an amazing actress shoved into a role that doesn`t do her an ounce of justice!

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2006

For the people who are being all anal about the history`s accuracy you have obviously not read anything about the movie. The woman who wrote the characters and storyline wanted to make it her own and not that of a historical context. Just remember it`s a film made for enjoyment not something that was meant for A&E`s biography.

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2006

Very good....Very funny as well. Loved the costumes and scenery. Oscar worthy for costumes and cinematography.

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2006

Long, Boring, plotless and sadly this movie coulnd`t even redeem itself with historical accuracy. The costumes were gorgeous, the scenery incredible, but you can visit a museum or art gallery and have more fun.

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2006

Wonderfully done. Coppola assumed that the audience was savy enough to know a bit of history so her goal was to tell the story of the woman more than the story of the times. She did well. Note to guys ... it`s not just a chick flick ... it`s ok for a guy to like this one.

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2006

Absolutely the biggest waste of almost 2 hours that i have recently spent in a movie theater. If i had wanted to look at clothes, shoes, hair and food i could have gone shopping instead. Someone should have lost their head at the end of this movie and i don`t mean the star.

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2006

visually it was nice.. otherwise it was pretty horrible you could actually see the microphone overtop of the actors in one scene... i actually have no clue how that could have gotten past everyone.

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2006

The story had so much potential but it was not executed well. The film was very shallow and should have focused more on the political unrest during that time period in France. The ending was completely unsatisfying. Thumbs down for Sofia Coppola.

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2006

i felt it was a good movie for non-historians, but if anyone has studied the French Revolution, the details of this movie will start to bug you. Overall good casting, but the directors spent to much time on her frivilous behaviour and not enough time on the Revolution surrounding the characters.

User review rating: 0 October 20, 2006

At times I found this movie quite boring and the American accent really jarred.The music didn`t impress me at all although the scenery and costumes were fantastic.

User review rating: 0 October 20, 2006

MARIE ANTOINETTE IS COPPOLA`S BEST YET!!! DUNST IS INCREDIBLE, OSCAR WORTHY!!!

User review rating: 0 October 20, 2006

Great concept for this period piece, the music, the costumes and scenery were grand.....BUT dialogue was weak, plot was a little slow at times and was surprised they didn`t show the infamous beheading of Marie Antoinette.

Change Location