Lincoln

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.17 / 5

User rating: 4.17

Based on 128 votes and 49 reviews


  • User rating: 4.17 65.63%
  • User rating: 4.17 9.38%
  • User rating: 4.17 12.50%
  • User rating: 4.17 1.56%
  • User rating: 4.17 10.94%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 49 of 49

User review rating: 5 August 05, 2013

The acting in this movie was superb. Kudos to the cast!!!

User review rating: 4 June 24, 2013

Day-Lewis gives one the best performances of any leading role of all time. His performance makes this slightly average film abve average.

User review rating: 1 April 01, 2013

This movie was the equlivent of watching grass grow.

User review rating: 1 March 28, 2013

This movie was a cartoon...a pandering, distorted embarrassment. Perhaps it was convincing entertainment for the sub-literate, but for those of us who can read it is beneath our intelligence.

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2013

Exceptional - prefectly portrayed. Highly recommend.

User review rating: 5 February 12, 2013

fantastic!!!!

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2013

I have seen quite a few movies that was rated five stars which in my opinion I would give 2 or 3 stars. The whole movie was poor quality, poor acting, bad story line and left with the feeling of regrets, wasted my money and time which because of the preview I thought was good. Usually only the interesting part of the movie was advertised. Some of the most disappointing movies I saw : silverlinning, Mama, Paranormal activity all after the first one among several others.

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2013

For the person who wrote the comments below I fear your opinion comes from a place of condescension. I went to the movie excited about viewing such an important piece of history. I was bored. It doesn't make the moment in time any less important.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2013

Possibly the most important act of legislation in history. When someone calls this movie "boring" I am reminded of an incident described by the curator of the Mona Lisa. Some young yahoo was viewing the picture and said, "I don't see anything special about it." The curator responded, "Young man, the picture is not being judged, you are." Anyone who calls "Lincoln" boring says a lot about him or her self; nothing about the film.

User review rating: 3 January 27, 2013

Very good acting. The visual was so realistic, I felt I was taken back in time. Lincoln is a boring movie and unfortunately, I was bored most of the time. This is a true story with a deep meaning but I felt unemotional.

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2013

I really liked DDL as Lincoln. It is a slow movie to say the least... but I liked and I challenge anyone to say otherwise.

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2013

The movie was very good. Good directing, smart script and interesting characters. The movie becomes great due to the brilliant performance by Daniel Day Lweis - clearly our generations best actor. His performance lifts this movie to greatness.

User review rating: 1 January 23, 2013

This is the most boring movie I have ever seen

User review rating: 2 January 21, 2013

2 1/2 stars. Beautifully filmed. Wonderful performances. Fabulous set design. Dare I say I was bored out of my mind? Such a pivotal time in U.S. history and arguably the greatest president, but dull movie. I wanted to like it, but....wait for dvd when you can fast-forward sections.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2013

Lewis did a much better job playing Nixon than Hopkins did.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2013

Daniel day Lewis did an amazing job!! I love this movie! He deserves to win the awards!!

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2013

i was really impressed with the daniel-day lewis' performance. The movie, at times, can be a bit slow, but the performance by Lewis kept me wanting to watch more and more. best performance i've seen in ages.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2013

Look for Daniel Day-Lewis at Oscar time

User review rating: 1 January 04, 2013

If you're a history buff, stay away. This interpretation will drive you nuts. Tie this with the the Vampire Slayer movie for historical accuracy. One star is generous.

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2012

awesome movie...also great acting by everyone in the film!

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2012

Best pure acting job I have seen in a long time.

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2012

Excellent film depicting the Cival War era and Lincolns decisions with both family and war. Realistic!

User review rating: 1 December 28, 2012

Dry. Boring....difficult to understand, unless you are familiar with how the American constitution works....Sally Field is good, but it seemed at times she was repeating her Norma Rae role, but wearing a bonnet.....Daniel Day Lewis seemed to be smirking too much.

User review rating: 3 December 27, 2012

Good acting by Day-Lewis but very dark story. Not a WOW type movie which we were expecting.

User review rating: 5 December 26, 2012

Danial Day Lewis craft is exceptional. His performance as LINCOLN is out of this world. If his craft transferred into athletics, he would be in the same class as, MICHEAL JORDON, or WAYNE GRETZKY , leaps and bounds ahead of thief peers.

User review rating: 4 December 23, 2012

A truly amazing movie! Sally Fields and Daniel Day Lewis were great in it.

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2012

Excellent acting. Very well done.

User review rating: 1 December 18, 2012

I must have missed something. I found the movie dry and boring; surprisingly disappointing given my expectations and the reviews. It reminded me of a high school play; production, acting and editing seemed underpar (I saw the reflection of glue, or whatever, on the back of TL Jones' neck). The story itself is a reflection of the vitriol we have in our current Congress and Senate, except in period costumes (please, show me something I don't already know). I remember seeing Hal Holbrook's "Lincoln" when I was about 14 and being mesmerized. No so in the case of this Lincoln.

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2012

give the oscar to Lewis - might be the best performance of his amazing career.

User review rating: 3 December 14, 2012

Maybe my expectations were too high going in, but I found it a bit too stylized and thought there were lots of story bits that weren't clear enough unless you knew more about the historical details than I do.

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2012

one of the ebst performances by any actor ever...daniel day lewis is breathtaking in this role.

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2012

awesome!

User review rating: 5 November 26, 2012

5 stars without doubt. This movie requires a mature audience.

User review rating: 5 November 26, 2012

Loved this movie!!!

User review rating: 3 November 23, 2012

Daniel Day Lewis gives an Oscar worthy performance. He shows a side of Lincoln few people know about the USA's 16th President. Will make you see just what a great man Lincoln was.

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2012

Sally Field makes a great Abe Lincoln.

User review rating: 5 November 22, 2012

One of the better movies I've seen in sometime..in truth, the acting of Daniel Day-Lewis, Tommy Lee Jones, Val Kilmer and many others make this movie go from good to great.

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2012

Excellent acting by Daniel Day Lewis, Sally Field and Tommy Lee Jones.....the story was alittle dry but over all very good.

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2012

a complex/difficult story to tell, focus was on law/legal birth of ideas of equality for all (and all are equal), navigating laws of freedom (where often it includes evils of 'freedom to oppress others' which shouldn't be allowed). great story in need of telling, what Lincoln faced, & overcame when laws of the land were very imperfect, needing serious major amendment for the sake of good for all in the future. people should not forget it. other oppressive nations should learn from this. old-era period details very well done. i didn't see it for 'Lincoln's Life', but went to see what surrounded the 13th Amendment.

User review rating: 3 November 20, 2012

Superb acting, Daniel Day Lewis will probably get the Oscar. Tommy Lee Jones was great too. The movie itself was lukewarm in my opinion. The whole movie was basically just about passing the 13th Amendment which was kind of dry. There was so much more to Lincoln's life and time as President. I guess it is a difficult topic to make into a movie without it being dry or cheesy. A very difficult movie to make, and well done, but not good enough to be film of the year.

User review rating: 3 November 19, 2012

Good movie but seemed long. Narrow focus. I had hoped it would include more of Lincoln's life.

User review rating: 3 November 19, 2012

OK but rather slow and somewhat frustrating watching how Americans take longer than many civilized nations with things like extending rights to minorities, etc. it seems they have to "fight" everything with is exhausting and should not be required

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2012

Found this movie a little dry. Spielberg has done better. Daniel Day Lewis was outstanding, however.

User review rating: 3 November 18, 2012

Can't believe that many liked this - must be mass propaganda - mediocre at best - long and sometimes boring - nothing like I thought it would be - looks like there are financial troubles in Speilberg's neighbourhood since the last several movies have had little or no money spent on them. Surprised that I am the only one so far noticing this. --Wake up people - these latest movies are nothing like they used to be and this is no exception.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2012

Excellent, Mr. Spielberg, BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR...OSCARs, GOLDEN GLOBES...

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2012

the performances make this movie unforgetable

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2012

One of the best movies I've seen in recent years. Daniel Day Lewis' performances is breathtaking.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2012

Spielberg's masterpiece! Daniel Day-Lewis transforms himself, looking and sounding different than anything he's done. A real history lesson for all ages and a course to learn about negotiating today. Don't miss it!

User review rating: 5 September 14, 2012

timeless classic, excellent performances, daniel day lewis embodies the spirit of lincoln

Change Location