Lawless

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.96 / 5

User rating: 3.96

Based on 246 votes and 68 reviews


  • User rating: 3.96 31.67%
  • User rating: 3.96 47.50%
  • User rating: 3.96 10.00%
  • User rating: 3.96 6.67%
  • User rating: 3.96 4.17%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 68

User review rating: 3 June 14, 2016

Very good really dark and very old timey violence stuff you never see coming

User review rating: 2 May 14, 2013

2 1/2 stars for me and that was due to the violence, although that is my hang-up. Generally enjoyable and interesting yarn but I am tired of the film industry making heroes of out of these horendous criminals...police included. By the way; is Jessica Chastain in every movie lately??

User review rating: 5 April 05, 2013

One of the best movies I've seen in awhile. I wasn't going to watch it because Shia LaBoeuf was in it but it turns out he can act. For a low budget movie that didn't gross much it was excellent. I can't believe people described it as a sleeper - it certainly had me yelling in my seat.

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I both loved this movie. Tom Hardy was brilliant as always.

User review rating: 1 December 24, 2012

This is a very bad B movie,on second thought, this is a non-movie

User review rating: 1 December 19, 2012

a complete waste of a talented cast...borrinnggg

User review rating: 1 December 16, 2012

bring a pillow..movie was a sleeper

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2012

Loved it best movie I have seen in a long time

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2012

This was AMAZING, truly underestimated

User review rating: 3 November 21, 2012

Why wouldnt you just watch boardwalk empire

User review rating: 1 October 08, 2012

Nick cave can't write a screen play

User review rating: 4 October 05, 2012

very interesting true story. great acting all around.

User review rating: 3 October 01, 2012

Should not be rated 14a... very violent

User review rating: 5 October 01, 2012

This was one of the best movies I've seen all year. The acting was fantastic. This will certainly be added to my DVD collection.

User review rating: 2 September 30, 2012

DVD material

User review rating: 5 September 29, 2012

Amazing movie! Funny, sad, action all great movie ingredients

User review rating: 4 September 28, 2012

I really enjoyed this one, I particularly liked the coming of age story of Jack. While I know it's somewhat stereotypical, I was impressed with the character development of that particular role. Plenty of action, amazing scenery and I feel that you did get a sense of how it was living during the prohibition period.

User review rating: 4 September 27, 2012

No one is indestructible.

User review rating: 5 September 26, 2012

Seen twice,exciting and realistic.

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

Interesting and entertaining. Even funny at times.

User review rating: 4 September 24, 2012

exciting movie, keeps you on your toes. however, towards the end it somewhat drags on.

User review rating: 5 September 23, 2012

i loved tom hardy in this movie !

User review rating: 5 September 23, 2012

academy award material

User review rating: 4 September 22, 2012

indestructible

User review rating: 4 September 22, 2012

thought this movie was great, it had a great story and all the actors really embraced their roles!

User review rating: 4 September 19, 2012

great casting, very entertaining and realistic to the gritty western era.

User review rating: 4 September 19, 2012

not bad

User review rating: 4 September 18, 2012

great movie! i'm loving tom hardy! me-ow!

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2012

very good acting, i enjoyed it a lot.

User review rating: 1 September 17, 2012

Waste of time

User review rating: 5 September 16, 2012

more often that not, a movie's trailer shows us the best scenes and we come away disappointed after seeing the whole flick. not so with lawless. yes it's violent. but not any more than some of these action movies. what sts lawless apart is the depth of it's characters. tom hardy was great in inception, even better in the dark knight but really shines in this movie. great cast and kudos to john hillcoat for his vision on bringing this true story to film.

User review rating: 4 September 15, 2012

pretty bloody.

User review rating: 3 September 15, 2012

really, far too much gratuitous violence for the 14a rating. that being said, this film was beautifully filmed, with great sets and setting. acting was believable. it is refreshing to see an entire set of actors who can actually act. really appreciated the one funny moment. not a great datenight movie.

User review rating: 4 September 13, 2012

a contrast in characters.

User review rating: 4 September 13, 2012

i tend to shy away from movies that promote the glories of 'machismo' of who can be more violent than the other, or cocky ruthless bullying. well, given the context was corrupt lawmen, and illegal bootleggers making moonshine; it turned out very well done, depicting a very dark story of that era. lives all seemed dispensable, and no one was safe; and every man had to figure out how to survive 'on top' or be knocked aside as mere dead-meat. no one is invincible. a nice ending... funny... and happy. worth the see.

User review rating: 4 September 12, 2012

lawless and indestructible.

User review rating: 5 September 12, 2012

very nice!

User review rating: 2 September 12, 2012

beautifully filmed, but i didn't care for guy pearce's performance at all.

User review rating: 4 September 10, 2012

lots of violence but a good movie.

User review rating: 4 September 10, 2012

good

User review rating: 4 September 09, 2012

so bloody. enjoyed it anyhow.

User review rating: 5 September 09, 2012

loved it

User review rating: 4 September 09, 2012

great movie.

User review rating: 4 September 08, 2012

much better than i expected.

User review rating: 5 September 06, 2012

the characters were well developed and the soundtrack was great. this is a great movie to see in the theater.

User review rating: 4 September 05, 2012

great movie and truly entertaining. loved the western style theme. the actors are believable and i enjoyed watching each scene.

User review rating: 5 September 05, 2012

great story...amazing acting and prolly the best movie i've seen all year! truly fell for this movie...a must see

User review rating: 5 September 05, 2012

loved this movie - great story.

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2012

absolutely a must see. well done.

User review rating: 3 September 03, 2012

i found the movie entertaining, however i was a bit disapointed with the lack of character development during the first half of the film.

Change Location