Lalee's Kin: The Legacy of Cotton

Thank you for rating this movie!

Lalee's Kin: The Legacy of Cotton Movie Poster

4.73 / 5

User rating: 4.73

Based on 85 votes and 12 reviews

  • User rating: 4.73 87.67%
  • User rating: 4.73 4.11%
  • User rating: 4.73 4.11%
  • User rating: 4.73 1.37%
  • User rating: 4.73 2.74%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 12 of 12

User review rating: 0 December 10, 2004

It was humbling for me because sometimes I complain about the way my life is thinking I have it hard. You just don`t realize how blessed you are until you see someone who is REALLY struggling just to put food on the table and is just using whatever means they have to live and is still able to smile. I have been trying to find out if this documentary is for sale but haven`t had any success. If it is for sale I want the money that I spend for it to go to Lalee and her family. At least that`s my personal opinion.

User review rating: 0 February 07, 2004

That show just broke my heart to see that things like that is going on right here in America I am from the caribbean and you see this there but,in my wildest dream I never thought that I would see something like that here I was ready to call the lady on the phone and offer my help to her it was so sad no one deserves to live like that it`s not fair.

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2003

An unbelieveable woman stands as the hero of her family and of this documentary. It was heart-wrenching to follow LaLee and her family through several years of their lives... with little to no hope of change... or improvement. The whole scenario broke my heart.

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2003

It broke my heart. However, and more importantly, it inspired me to become involved by helping those that are less fortunate. Each one must help one!!

User review rating: 0 December 06, 2002

I could not believe that in this country, we have people living in poverty like what I saw in your documentary. about LeLee`s Kin. I can our goverment who voice that we are a caring nation for all of the worlds needs, let people in America live where they don`t even have running water. I wish their was something I could do to help this lady.

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2002

Itis a nice film. I have enjoyed watching this film. I have view it several of time and would like to purchase a copy of the title.

User review rating: 0 October 19, 2002

This is a beautiful film. It truly opened my eyes to issues that I thought no longer existed. My perspective is forever changed.

User review rating: 0 October 10, 2002

I loved watching this documentary, however, I was hurt to see Lalee and her family have to live like this. I am so blessed to have things that Lalee and her family didn`t have like running water, electricity etc. I thought that it was so sad that the government gave her $12,000 for a trailer house, and it was not fit to live in. She should have been delivered a trailer house that was spotless regardless if it was used. And they should have given her the stove/refrigerator that she was supposed to get. I wished I could have been there to clean the trailer house from top to bottom for Ms. Lalee. Even under those living conditions she stil

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2002

This documentary was very disturbing considering the fact that we are living in the year 2002. Conditions such as these should not be tolerated in this country. No child should have to bear the burden of cyclical or generational poverty or illiteracy in this day. It`s hard to believe that slavery still has its paralyzing grip on our people. I would like to talk to Ms Laura Lee Wallace personally. Her story is very interesting and yet heartbreaking. Perhaps there is something I can for her. Being a teacher, (ABE for Homeless), I have been showing this doc to all of my students with mixed results. Some of my students are from Alabama an

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2002

I thought it was a wonderful look inside this familie`s life. I am an african-american female married with two sons and we are also a military family which means we travel alot.I had my thirteen year old son watch the film with me so he would understand that every one is not as fortunate as we are. Instead of my husband or myself saying to him how lucky they are to have this and that he`s seen the film and has a better understanding of someone else`s life. I`m a sixteen year veteran of the Air Force, of Birmingham Alabama, whom life was extremely similar to that of Granny`s. I connected to her desire to excel for no other reason than to g

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2002

Lalee (Laura Lee) is about as real and as pure an example of humanity as you can find. I hate watching these cinema verite films because they draw on my raw emotions. I`m tired of feeling hopeless, angry, hurt, sorrowful, etc. If anyone outside of the Delta thinks they`ve got it bad, watching this film will surely make them fall to their knees and thank their maker... I also came away from this movie wondering what more I must do to help people like Lalee and her family. If we each decided that enough is truly enough and sought to make a difference, we would start in our own backyards pulling up the down trodden who have been trampled upon

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2002

I think that the documentary was very good and educational. It gives people the opportunity to see that life in some parts of the south has not changed.

Change Location