John Q

Thank you for rating this movie!

John Q Movie Poster

4.32 / 5

User rating: 4.32

Based on 2791 votes and 86 reviews


  • User rating: 4.32 76.94%
  • User rating: 4.32 4.87%
  • User rating: 4.32 2.24%
  • User rating: 4.32 4.94%
  • User rating: 4.32 11.01%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 86

User review rating: 3 September 08, 2011

Although the plot gets a bit sloppy at times..the movie is enjoyable and makes the viewer consider all sides of the health care debate. Denzel is...well he's denzel!

User review rating: 2 June 25, 2011

I love Denzel, but this is a bunch of nonsense...

User review rating: 0 August 08, 2006

john q is absolutely carrying to his son, he is a good father and it was a good story

User review rating: 0 June 04, 2006

AWESOME MOVIE KEEPS YOU IN YOUR SEAT ACTING WAS FANTASTIC

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2006

The movie itself wqas just outstanding & with concerns

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2006

I loved it the only movie I have EVER gone to see 4 times at the movie theatre. I now own the movie as well. Great job Denzel Kimerley and the rest of the cast.

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2006

Questions for group discussion after the movie: 1. Was John Q justified in taking the emergency room hostage, even though his intention was to save his son? Does the end justify the means? 2. How do you assess the role of the negotiators - Duvall and Liotta? Were they not more nasty in their attitudes than John Q himself? 3. Did the doctor do well by allowing John Q to attempt to shoot himself so that his heart could be used for his son? Great movie! Useful for discussion on moral principles.

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2005

John Q is toooo good. Denzel was just perfect and excellent as usual. I wish he is given Oscar for Best Actor for John Q.

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2005

O God, Dezel was just a Soooooooper Doooooper, I love his expressions, his style....... i just love it. I really cried alot while watching it. Denzel is a very cooooooool guy to perform extremely great. I`d watch John Q over and over again

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2005

If you think you are having a hard time with your insurance carrier...watch this one!!!!

User review rating: 0 May 28, 2005

so good, and sad at the same time

User review rating: 0 December 26, 2004

it was a great movie. And with a great actor like denzel the movie was realy cool with a very important message. i love the preformance of denzel

User review rating: 0 October 15, 2004

This movie was the most extravagent.

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2004

John Q is the best movie in history it shows what lengths a father would go to to save his sons life i cried when i saw this movie

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2004

worst movie I have ever seen. avoid at al costs.

User review rating: 0 May 19, 2003

Wonderful film!!!!! Denzel Washington makes an amazing performance in this one . Go watch it

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2002

Me encanto la pelicula pero dejo con la incertudumbre de que fue lo que paso despues con el protagonista. Tambien como es que reacciono el corazon del nino con el paso del tiempo.

User review rating: 0 September 09, 2002

One of the Top 5 Drama Films I have ever seen. Excellent acting, directing, and everything else. Very emotional too. 5 Stars

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2002

i luv this movie so much.although it was so sad,!?!

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2002

It was a good movie, but there was no clear distinction between Drama and comedy.It was suppose to be a drama but it had too much comedy in it and at the end the really message was all mixed up.for that i would give this movie a four star rating.But it is a must see.

User review rating: 0 July 24, 2002

it wuz so sad........i almost cried great movie

User review rating: 0 July 08, 2002

it had a lot of emotional speeches in it from Denzel but the movie was great and touchy.

User review rating: 0 June 29, 2002

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! BUT ITS SOO SAD! i think this is one of the best movies ive seen. Latley i havnt really liked many drama movies, but when i saw this at the cinema i liked it straight away. I think it has a great story line.

User review rating: 0 May 30, 2002

BETTER THAN JUST GOOD

User review rating: 0 May 29, 2002

I saw it quite a while ago, but i remember liking it very much. It had some great messeges in it, and the acting was superb (especially on Denzel`s part).

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2002

it was a great movie!

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2002

What a gr8 movie! Usually movies only focus on one theme, which tends to get boring so this had a lot more than just one issue going on. It has a variety of emotions in it as well. I suggest everyone goes and sees this movie, especially if u like movies such as Ransom and Don`t Say a Word. I cried so hard because this was one of the nicest movies I have ever seen!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2002

John Q. was a pretty good but there was just something that didn`t give it the extra star. It was really sad but had a cool ending. It was halarious when that funny dude pretended to be John Q. so he could be with his son.

User review rating: 0 March 23, 2002

Not bad "Not a movie The Boys would like" Chick Flick.

User review rating: 0 March 23, 2002

This was nothing like The Negotiator. Now that was a good movie

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2002

Very touching storyline and great acting. Too bad they chickened out and went for the Hollywood ending. Real life isn`t "happy ever after". They should have ended it with John shooting himself before getting word of the available heart, then the doctor having two available hearts, one of which would be wasted. That would be more realistic. Too neat.

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2002

i didn`t understand the end i still wonder how many years he got in jail but denzel washington is the best actor in hollywood it made every thing look so real i loved it and so did my familly

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2002

i loved the movie denzel was the best of them all and i thoght that this movie was great denzel washington is the best actor in hollywood im tellin you the guy all most killed him self for his son and if thats not love i don`t know what is im telling you the acadamy awards are on the 19 so if it got there i nomanate john q for best actor and best movie of the year!

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2002

good acting. but some things were not too realistic. had potential to be a really great movie but it somehow went downhill

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2002

the father was so sweet, it made me cry it was a very touching... good acting, good storyline go see it cuz it`s worth it

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2002

I thought it was a very touching movie that really got the people to think.Denzel was an excellent actor,and so were the rest.What really got my attention was that how John Q was was so determined to save his so life.Now in the real world how much dads would give up there for there son to live,very few.I think there should be a John Q 2. The reason I say that is because at the ending when he went to jail for taking over hostages it left the audience more into the movie wanting to know what happened to him while he was in jail or did he brake out of jail and ran away with his family somewhere far away.If you guys do make a John Q 2,I will be

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2002

It remided me of The Negotiator with Kevin Spacey and Sammuel Jackson. It was a great movie and I would do the same thing for my child anyday.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2002

I loved John Q, I thought it was an excellent movie, it really shows the love that the father has for his son, and how he is willing to sacrifice everything, and his own life for him. And it`s nice, you always see the mothers, attachment, but never a fathers. I absolutely loved it! A must see movie!

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2002

Denzel was excellent as always, and James Woods is still my hero. I enjoyed the movie, up to the point they wheel his son down to the Emergency reception...c`mon!

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2002

I like this movie very much its very sad and touching you will want to watch again forever cause if you were really in that position you would mmight do the same!! i enjoy this movie very much i give it all my trust to watch it with my friends!!! This is one good movie you mudt watch it!!!

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2002

I thought it was based on a true story, that is how real the story was and how hummane the story was

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2002

It is wxtremely real and quite human. I admire his and his wife`s priciples. Dex, Toronto

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2002

loved the movie it was exelant with the best actor in all of hollywood

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2002

Suspenful!

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2002

The acting was surpurb. The story incredible. It was heartwrenching!

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2002

Sublime! Be wary of any negative comments from the cynics. It is impossible for a film so moving to be anything but brilliant.

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2002

It made me cry :-( !!

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2002

Incredible!, honest, real and riveting!!!!!

User review rating: 0 March 03, 2002

I think the movie was excellent, in written and played. IF ya have an open mind, go watch it, if not then, rent it!

User review rating: 0 March 03, 2002

GREAT MOVIE!!!!!

Change Location