Jem and the Holograms

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.71 / 5

User rating: 2.71

Based on 146 votes and 39 reviews


  • User rating: 2.71 30.65%
  • User rating: 2.71 9.68%
  • User rating: 2.71 6.45%
  • User rating: 2.71 6.45%
  • User rating: 2.71 46.77%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 39 of 39

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2016

Great movie, my 9 year old daughter absolutely loved it.... If you are an original fan of jem then maybe you won't like it as much but really jem is a cult following... GREAT KIDS MOVIE.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2016

This movie is a marvel!

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2016

I found this movie was a lot better than all the critics made it seem.

User review rating: 5 November 07, 2015

For once a suitable family movie without swearing, sex, or violence. Great movie and can be used as a way to open up a conversation with children of how things get shared over the web...my 5 & 12 year old both liked it.

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2015

Excellent adaptation! Loved it!

User review rating: 5 November 01, 2015

this movie is awesome from sisterhood to father n daughter relationship is the best part, being a good inspiration n example to younger once out there (^_^).

User review rating: 5 October 28, 2015

I got talked into seeing the movie with my wife... Great story, I actually enjoyed the music and the message it gave to kids.

User review rating: 5 October 28, 2015

What a clean awesome movie, with a great story to never give up on yourself and your dreams. This movie was a feel good movie and left you feeling happy. I loved the songs and the message the words gave. It was so nice to view a wholesome movie! Great message for the younger generation. Thanks

User review rating: 3 October 27, 2015

i love the trailer it was a little bit boring but the cartoon i think was 100 times better. This movie was not like all of the rest of the movies it's unique and if the awesome stuff is at the end then there has to be a 2nd movie

User review rating: 5 October 27, 2015

The best movie that's out now. Can't stop playing the soundtrack!

User review rating: 4 October 26, 2015

My daughter and I really enjoyed the movie. She and I had a lot of fun. Loved it.

User review rating: 5 October 26, 2015

Sexy movie with a kick-ass soundtrack.

User review rating: 1 October 26, 2015

A silly little movie. We laughed a lot at the ridiculous plot and acting. If you not a 12 year old girl I'd say skip it.

User review rating: 5 October 25, 2015

Spectacularly entertaining! You don't have to be familiar with Jem's story to find this a fascinating and engrossing watch!

User review rating: 5 October 25, 2015

This movie was soooo good!

User review rating: 3 October 25, 2015

Good family movie.

User review rating: 1 October 24, 2015

A horrible film. As a fan of the original I had hopes for this but I was grossly disappointed. NOTHING in common with the original cartoon in the least...why is this even called Jem?? AVOID and watch the cartoon instead. Insult to the original cartoon.

User review rating: 3 October 23, 2015

LOVED the music, but the story and cheesy moments just make this film only so-so.

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2015

EIZA GONZALEZ IS SO HOT!!!!!

User review rating: 3 October 22, 2015

Catchy music, but was slightly creeped out by Rio (he looked like a 35 year old dude hitting on an 18 year old). The home-video-Synergy storyline was a little hard to get over, especially coming from a generation that watched the cartoon. On the other hand, that Misfits teaser at the end with Ke$ha basically made the movie for me.

User review rating: 2 October 22, 2015

A decent film for tweens, but for the age demographic that grew up watching the cartoon, the movie fell a little short. The lack of antagonist (The Misfits) was disappointing and left the movie and story a little lack lustre.

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2015

Good movie for teenagers, happy and sad moments. Some parts don't make full sense.

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2015

The movie was fun and the music was awesome!

User review rating: 2 October 22, 2015

It appears to be a movie aimed at 'tweens. Predicatable.

User review rating: 1 October 13, 2015

It would have been great, if they stuck to the source, this is not jem

User review rating: 0 October 12, 2015

Would watched Jen new movie their original cartoon came out when I was 6 months old I loved the cartoon still have the original hem doll from the 1980s

User review rating: 1 September 30, 2015

This movie sucks big time and the one that is making it should be hung out to dry so frigging lame since when is synergy a friggin old tech cam this is a shitty way to show a perfectly good cartoon from the 80's U idiots and the make up is terrible I do better reconditioning the famous vintage dolls.......... IDIOTS.......... Will not waste my time in watching the movie waste of time and money hope that it flops really bad. Another flop like briber ROFLMAO

User review rating: 1 September 30, 2015

From what I seen of the previews NOT Impressed! I grew up with the only true original Jem for the 80's. The tree morons that came up with sad poor excuse movie should made to watch all of original Jem! This movie does NOT represent Jem at all! Since when is Shana a white woman? Jem's make up & fashions are totally WRONG & NASTY!

User review rating: 1 September 29, 2015

This Jem movie completely ignores all source material. Change the character names, and you now have any generic slice-of-life teen band movie ever made. Nothing but an 1 1/2 hour collection of overused teen girl tropes and clichés. Completely unoriginal,uninspired and as about as novel and exciting as your average ABC 'After School Movie'. Except for this one you are expected to pay full theater pricing to watch. Gets one star, because no star is not an option.

User review rating: 1 September 29, 2015

This movie pretty much abandoned the source material and replaced it with some generic coming of age story. This is like ordering a double bacon cheeseburger with the works and getting a plain single patty on a slice of bread. Save your money.

User review rating: 1 September 28, 2015

I don't understand this nonsense. This movie was meant to be awesome and outrageous. This should have caused a Jem Fever all over the world with millions of fans and little girls dreaming about being this fabulous Jem. No, they made this cheap, boring and unoriginal movie that has nothing to do with the source material. Dragon Ball and Avatar The Last Airbender already suffered this before... Hollywood knows by now what happens when they change a lot of things in movies adaptations... why do they need to screw things up?

User review rating: 1 September 28, 2015

Saw this movie in an advanced screening. I went in with an open mind. Molly Ringwald and Juliette Lewis lost their spark that they once had as daring young actresses. Molly seems bored with the whole role and Juliette's acting is like a bad high school play. The younger actresses have no inflection. It almost feels they were going through the motions saying their lines like it was a favor for a friend. The writing for such a beloved well thought out franchise is sub par. The story is even generic for a coming of age film. If you choose any child-show based to movie see goosebumps or save your money and watch the original JEM cartoon on netflix.

User review rating: 1 September 28, 2015

What is the point in making a Jem film if you are not using any of the source material aside from names and places (sort if)? This is the Life and Times of Aubrey story with a Jem twist, everyone knows that by now and Chu has even said so. Don't bother wasting your money and just stay at home and watch the original cartoon with popcorn and soda and use the money you have saved from going to this movie on a movie that is awesome because this isn't.

User review rating: 1 September 15, 2015

Boring and generic. If you've seen any rise to fame film, you've already seen this a dozen times. Also, I don't know what this has to do with the Jem cartoon, because this is completely different from the cartoon. It's not even a distant cousin! 1 star (I'd give it zero if I could!)

User review rating: 1 September 15, 2015

Saw an early screening of this. Horrible and lame. Nothing at ALL like the cartoon - literally - have NO CLUE why this is called "JEM" because honestly...it's NOT at ALL! It's like they randomly slapped on the JEM name onto a generic "rise to fame" film just to cash in on the nostalgia surrounding it. Also, the way the director lied to the fans with all that fake audition bull just to get some free viral marketing...not cool at ALL. Save your money.

User review rating: 2 June 30, 2015

I love the 80s Jem and the holograms so I was super excited for this,but they didnt use the sourcce material.

User review rating: 1 June 19, 2015

I have to give this one star because obviously the source material wasn't used at all, save for names of people and places. This movie may be great for teenagers who have zero clue who Jem and the Holograms are but for someone like me who does (and who actually cares) this is a great disappointment.

User review rating: 1 May 20, 2015

How can anyone be interested/excited for this movie?! A Hannah montana-josie and the pussycats mash, that literally has nothing to do with the source material!! So disappointing, they could have at least tried

User review rating: 5 May 14, 2015

This looks AMAZING!

Change Location