Into the Woods

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.90 / 5

User rating: 2.90

Based on 236 votes and 101 reviews


  • User rating: 2.90 37.38%
  • User rating: 2.90 8.41%
  • User rating: 2.90 4.67%
  • User rating: 2.90 5.61%
  • User rating: 2.90 43.93%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 101

User review rating: 4 April 08, 2015

My Husband and I enjoyed this. Worried about the fact that it was a musical, but it really worked. Liked the whole concept. The fact that it was a musical worked well with the fact that it was intertwined with fairy tales. The ending worked very well. Detected some Grimm influence which is a good way to teach lessons.

User review rating: 5 April 05, 2015

This has to be the best movie Disney has made in a very long time, if not in their history.

User review rating: 1 April 05, 2015

This has to be the worst movie that Disney has made in a very long time if not, in their history. What a waste of great talents. I needed a stiff drink or some anti depressants after watching this poor excuse of a movie. Very dark theme. It should have ended three quarters through.

User review rating: 0 March 30, 2015

absolutely horrible

User review rating: 1 March 28, 2015

not a movie worth buying

User review rating: 5 March 24, 2015

Loved this movie! Brilliant use of mix-up of stories to portray real life messages.

User review rating: 1 February 26, 2015

Worse movie I have seen in years!! My 2 daughters 7 & 11 told me to turn it off. Wanted to shove chop sticks in my ears. Brutal!!

User review rating: 5 February 19, 2015

My kids and I loved this movie, and have the soundtrack to sing in the car. Great cast, great singing - loved it!

User review rating: 4 February 13, 2015

It was a good movie. The ending was not as great as a thought it will be.

User review rating: 1 February 07, 2015

Absolutely the worst. Shocked it was a musical. And a bad musical at that. If I'd known my wife was hating the movie as well, we would have walked out less than 10 minutes in. A cheesy low budget low quality musical.

User review rating: 1 January 31, 2015

One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Disney flat out lied in the previews not showing a single musical note sung. I will not go to any Disney movie for the rest of the year because of this. And I will avoid movies by any of the stars for the rest of the year as well. I vote with my wallet. On top of that, the writing was meandering, with no focused story line. Characters were arbitrarily dropped and never seen again. Unbelievable. The movie must have shown very poorly to focus groups so they decided to lie to us and cover up that it is a musical until they had made their initial money off the Disney name and the names of the stars.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2015

Meryl Streep should do more musicals.

User review rating: 1 January 31, 2015

Awful, awful, awful. If Sondheim were dead, he'd be rolling over in his grave. High point - surprisingly, Chris Pine - chose cheesy and stuck with it brilliantly. Who knew that that would be the best part of the movie? A note to Hollywood: MERYL STREEP can't sing - and even heavily edited, can't sing. Stop casting her in musicals, please. My ears can't stand much more.

User review rating: 1 January 25, 2015

From the moment it started we.the wife and i was shocked it was a musical no biggy.but with such big actors i expected more from Disney.Total waste of time and money.people getting up and leaving.It just seem to drag on and on.Total disapointment.Not even worth one star the wife adds.

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2015

Too long. Unnecessary length.

User review rating: 1 January 23, 2015

Nice songs, fair for a family experience. A bit slow moving and with some scenes that could have been shorter. or with some actual special effects that may have made the experience somewhat better. Overall a waste of time.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2015

First thing I would like to say is "Musical". I was very impressed with the songs, costumes and the actors. If you know anything about the old fairy tales, you'd realize this is what this movie is all about, a little twisted and dark, but what "original" fairy tale isn't. Congratulations, we loved it !!!

User review rating: 4 January 20, 2015

Enjoyed this movie - a unique concept - it was like going to Rainbow Stage. Meryl Streep was fabulous as the witch but then she is just plain fabulous. It's a musical but is very well done. Worth taking the time to watch.

User review rating: 4 January 19, 2015

Many of the negative reviews come from people who clearly had no idea what this was about. So, if you don't like it, don't say it is crap, say it wasn't what you like in a movie- but it is your fault for not checking into it. I am not generally a fan of musicals, but I found this very entertaining.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2015

The "Blade Runner" of movie musicals.

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2015

It's unlike anything that's been done before. I loved it and will go again. Bernadette Peters played the witch in the stage play. I saw it online.

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2015

Very creative. A Musical masterpiece - just really different. Read up on the story line first and pay attention to every word. The actors are singing their thoughts.

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2015

The people who wrote the bad reviews have very bad grammar, so I can see why you didn't "get" the movie. It's not your ordinary musical.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2015

You have to really pay attention to understand it. Meryl Streep is amazing.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2015

It was very cleverly written. The words must have been really hard to learn. Good acting. Anna Kendrick and Emily Blunt have great voices.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2015

Sondheim writes musicals so obviously it's a musical and it was written for the stage. If you saw Les Mis, every word was also sung.

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2015

I have been in the stage play so needless to say, I loved this movie and I'll get the DVD and watch it many times. It is complicated and the parts are intricately woven together but if you pay attention, you'll see that the whole thing is a lesson in being careful what you wish for because the answer to someone's wish can hurt someone else. It says "Wishes are like children" - you have to be careful and look after them.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2015

Of course it's a musical - it's a Broadway musical and Sondheim is a musical genius. The parts all intersect with each other in a very clever way. If you want a happy ending leave when the Prince marries Cinderella. Otherwise, stay and see what happens because of the wishes that were made. Someone said Johnny Depp plays a pervert - no - he plays a wolf, dummy.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2015

I saw the movie twice and I will get the DVD. I saw it 3 times on stage and it helps to know the story ahead of time so you can follow it more easily because it's complicated. Contrary to some reviewers, it does have a plot and lots of lessons to be learned.

User review rating: 2 January 18, 2015

After reading the mixed reviews, I was more than ever curious to see this movie. However, though I was prepared to be forgiving, I found it rather awful. Maybe it would not have been as awful if it ended at the "Happily Ever After" ending, but the movie continued on and all I could ask myself is, "Why?" The movie tells the familiar (ironically) non-Disney versions of fairytales: Cinderella, Jack and the Bean Stalk, Repunzel, and The Little Red Ridinhood. Meryl Streep, who is fabulous in this movie as well (is there anything that woman cannot do), is the witch from Repunzel, and she sets Repunzel's brother and his wife a task to collect "a golden shoe, cow as white as milk, flaxen hai

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2015

Very well done. Loved the melding of characters, the actors and actresses. Loved that it is a musical.

User review rating: 1 January 17, 2015

Don't waste your money! Worst movie ever!

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2015

Absolutely Fabulous from start to finish. Story telling has been around for 10, 000 years, this most definitely is truly Oscar Worthy.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2015

Not a fan of musicals, yet Disney created a movie that made me so happy that i just could not stop smiling. Have always been a hopeless Romantic, and I moved back in with my Husband after a long separation. Thank you so very much to everyone who played a role in producing the Best movie i have seen in years.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. As a trained musician myself I can appreciate a good musical and there are so few of them released in recent years. It combined comedy, drama and music into one enjoyable form entertainment forum. Definitely not for children.

User review rating: 1 January 16, 2015

This movie sucked beyond comprehension. I had no idea it was a musical and a stupid ploy at that. Waste of time and money. Don't see this horrid piece of crap.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2015

An excellent movie. A musical lovers dream. One must marvel at the talent that allows the various artists to sing complicated lyrics in such harmony. The story line was complex but that is how it was intended to be. The weaving of so many classic childhood stories into one story took skill. This is not a children's film nor is it for the immature or culturally deprived. This is movie art at its finest.

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2015

Very Boring and completely lost in story telling. A very bad and weak idea of combining so many storyline from different novels!

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2015

I really expected more of Disney. This movie was pathetic and a waste of time. The previews don't warn people about all the singing (which I didn't mind) but should be noted for people. I wasted my money and my time.

User review rating: 2 January 15, 2015

Not a big fan of musicals, but I enjoyed the first half. Then it just went on too long.

User review rating: 1 January 14, 2015

Terrible movie. Whether or not you like musicals doesn't matter. It was too long, too boring and Johnny Depp creeped me out. What a pervert!

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2015

AMAZING Anyone who has taken voice training will definitely appreciate it. If u love broadway you will love this

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2015

Good actors, fairly good story line, again way too long for the kids, but an enjoyable movie

User review rating: 3 January 10, 2015

It's a musical.. very odd... it had some funny parts, but to be honest it's not what I had expected..

User review rating: 1 January 09, 2015

If you hate musicals, you'll hate this movie. Disney, enough with the musicals already. It ruins the story and it's believable. How often do you see people talk in song in your every day life? Never!

User review rating: 2 January 07, 2015

All I can say is that I saved myself about $270.00 the price of cheap seat tickets on Broadway. That was 2 hours I'll never get back.

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2015

Too bad this movie wasn't marketed as the great Stephen Sondheim musical it is. The trailer I saw had no hint of music, and I was sad to hear people leaving the theatre after the film saying "too much singing"! A good film, badly let down by Disney.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2015

This film caters specifically to lovers of musical theatre (and Meryl Streep fans dying for another "Mamma Mia" moment). This underrated visual masterpiece takes audiences along on the lesser-told version of iconic fairy-tales, and surprises those who know the story with a dark but modern twist. If you are not a fan of stellar casts, hunky & humorous princes, and the musical fantasy that is Sondheim... This movie is not for you.

User review rating: 1 January 07, 2015

Horrible movie. The trailer was completely misleading. Glad I prescreened it and didn't bring my kids. I like musicals, but this one droned on and on and was so boring. Absolutely no plot and completely all over the place. Full of junk and the movie promoted cheating on your wife and leaving your husband. Not to mention horrible parenting. So sad I wasted money and time seeing this junk. Will never let my kids see it. Just full of mixed messages and creepiness. I have never been more disgusted with a Disney movie.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2015

This musical is epic! I grew up on musicals & this one takes the cake! funny from start to finish! acting was cheesy in places , but was a fun romp !

Change Location