Into the Wild

Thank you for rating this movie!

Into the Wild Movie Poster

3.50 / 5

User rating: 3.5

Based on 241 votes and 33 reviews

  • User rating: 3.5 57.14%
  • User rating: 3.5 4.46%
  • User rating: 3.5 2.68%
  • User rating: 3.5 2.68%
  • User rating: 3.5 33.04%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 33 of 33

User review rating: 0 July 10, 2008

Emile Hirsch was fabulous I couldn't stop crying at the end of the movie...Still thinking about it.. :(

User review rating: 0 July 08, 2008

I thought this movie was incredible, inspiring, touching, sad, etc...made me cry...I can't stop thinking about it...I went straight to the library to get the book and now that I read the comments on the soundtrack I will listen to that too...will definitely own the movie so that my kids can see it(when their old enough)...amazing actor..sean penn is great for letting the world see this should have won the director, picture and movie...

User review rating: 0 May 14, 2008

Awesome movie and story. I only wish I could have done something similiar. Now I'm nearing my 40's and stuck in a rut. Chris lived his live well.

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2008

One of the greatest movies I've ever seen. This is a film for anyone who sees that the current state of the world is worthless. It is for anyone who just wants to be free. It is inspirational, heartwarming and just an all around great movie.

User review rating: 0 March 28, 2008

this movie made me take stock of my life and put into perspective whats truly important because in a 100 years no one will care what you did for a living or how much money you had but chris mccandless's adventure will still be in writing somewhere on this earth

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2008

You might need to be a bit of an existentialist to really appreciate this movie, director, writer and hero, Mr. Supertramp. I pondered the depth of his search for truth myself after viewing this movie and feel that Chris's life was not in vain for this story touched my soul. Thank you Sean Penn and the author.

User review rating: 0 February 07, 2008

On of the best movies I've seen this year. Really leaves you thinking about it for days afterwards.

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2008

An amazing film. The kind that stays with you for a couple of days afterward. I don't know who these people are who rated it so poorly, but the movie sold out and it was so worth seeing. A moving story that reaches inside you.

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2007

This movie was an amazing journey. For those of you that didn't like, your behind is wrapped around your eyes AND your heart. The big picture here is the importance of family and not material. It is nice to have a comfortable roof over your head and having food on the table. But do we REALLY need all the excesses we have in life??? I mean REALLY?!?! Think about it, when we have so much yet share such a small percentage of it, what happens to us? Do some of us REALLY need to have a billion dollars in the bank? If you have a continuing flow of revenue from your business ventures, then slow down, take stock of your world around and see what is happening to it and you in it. Bring family back to

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2007

Reaches into the marrow of your bones and tugs at the essence of who you are. In spite of the tragedy, an optimistic film.

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2007

Horrible rot. An intriguing book wasted. Watching this felt like the slow death within the film. Penn must have had a lobotomy to produce this drivel.

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2007

Somthing we all should do in our youth. Makes you think ( If Only I Could ! ) * * * * *

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2007

This film is for anyone who feels the need to escape the bullshit we call society. And I am sure we all do from time to time. I know I do. This story inspired me...this man was not stupid - he despised the materialistic world his parents set up and expected him to follow in. A true buddhist. And his story will affect me for a long time to come. See this film.

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2007

I think it was a movie definately worth watching. It was incredibly moving and really makes you think about life at a deeper level.

User review rating: 0 November 13, 2007

Best movie of all time!!!

User review rating: 0 November 11, 2007

There's much to be learned between man and earth relationships we don't learn through our rigorous institutional pursuits.

User review rating: 0 November 11, 2007

Fantastic movie, based on an amazing story. Good movie for those seeking adventure and those who have an open mind. Suggest everyone see this at least once. Those who don't get it, and believe it to be a 'eye-roller' or think the young man is an 'idiot', lack an open mind and any sense of adventure. Absolutely amazing movie, 'nough said. It will move you.

User review rating: 0 November 08, 2007

The greatest story ever told, Jesus?

User review rating: 0 November 05, 2007

Very overwrought. Too heavy handed with the visualizations. I think they filmed while stoned. For example - the scene showing the guy shaking water drops from his hair in slow motion - we didn't need to see that for more than a few seconds to get the point, the scene went on too long. A real eye roller. The puppy was cute, and it was great to see Hal Holbrook!!

User review rating: 0 November 03, 2007

He survived for over 100 days in Alaska, alone. He went in looking for a challenge, and got one. He was ready to come home, and a series of seemingly little mistakes, came at the ultimate cost. He was not a spoiled kid, or an idiot. Even with the story being "dumbed down" for our viewing, many apparently still arent getting it

User review rating: 0 November 02, 2007

the kid waisted his life and blamed his parents typical poor me story kids a idiot and dies an idiots death

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2007

Once in awhile a movie comes along that just leaves me in total awww..Well folks this is one of those movies.Visually brilliant and amazing story. I left the theatre wanting to see it again. I loved this movie and it will go down as one of my favorites of the year.

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2007

I would have given it zero stars however that option was unavailable. A complete waste of time about a kid that had no business being in that type of environment given his level of survival skills.

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2007

I couldn't help but think that the young man was a "lost soul" and that he would never find what he was looking for on his journey.He certainly was no "Survivorman" amd wasted his life foolisly.Amazing visuals and a journey worth watching though it may leave you very sad.

User review rating: 0 October 16, 2007

great story and beautiful scenery. a bit slow in parts. excellent music/soundtrack. not a must see, but a decent watch.

User review rating: 0 October 16, 2007

Amazing - I cried!!

User review rating: 0 October 13, 2007

I just finished the book in time to see the movie. This is an amazing story. Thinking to myself how great the movie was turning out to be, I started to think perhaps i was biased to show it favor. I answered myself though with the realization, when have I ever went into a movie with high expectations for a hollywood production, and those high expectations werent let down? Let downs are pretty much a given when it comes to movies. Not this time though. Krakauer wrote an amazing book on this story, and Sean Penn was up to the challenge in giving me a visual picture to compare to the mental one I had created. Never before have I stood up and looked around after the movie, to see so many peopl

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2007

This movie moved me like no other in a very long time. I have seen it three times and cant get enough! Great soundtrack by Eddie Vedder too.

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2007

Visually stunning! An incredible, true story!

User review rating: 0 October 06, 2007

artistic, coming of age unique movie that made me hunger for more info about the main character. Emile Hirsch was perfect.

User review rating: 0 October 06, 2007

Great story! Excellent acting! Perfect soundtrack! Those who voted 1 star probably thought "You, Me, and Dupree" should have won an Oscar for Best Picture!

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2007


User review rating: 0 September 28, 2007

Incredible, great true story, inspiring, visually spectacular, great cast... this movie has it all!!

Change Location