Independence Day: Resurgence

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.97 / 5

User rating: 2.97

Based on 192 votes and 77 reviews

  • User rating: 2.97 31.52%
  • User rating: 2.97 16.30%
  • User rating: 2.97 7.61%
  • User rating: 2.97 6.52%
  • User rating: 2.97 38.04%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 77

User review rating: 4 August 12, 2016

great exciting movie almost as good as the first one

User review rating: 4 July 26, 2016

Very good special effects..I thought the movie was a good sequel of the first.

User review rating: 1 July 25, 2016

Why did I watch this? Just like Star Wars, they just made the spaceship bigger. Of course, people are telepathically linked tot he aliens, or how would they possibly figure out their grand plan?...Grrr. Formulaic, bad acting and of course a door is open to a sequel. This flick was a great idea, but it just didn't work out. I'm so disappointed.

User review rating: 4 July 24, 2016

The low rating on this movie is as improbable as the plot: a majority of the low ratings appear to have been written by the same person. If you're looking for a provocative plot, this movie ain't it. Apocalyptic movies are inherently humorous, so why not write the humor into the script? If you're weighing cost against entertainment value, compromise and go to the matinee for six bucks. The end of the world isn't nearly as compelling on a small screen. the big screen makes it worth the cost. I agree that the action is harder to follow when all aircraft are the same color. It would be helpful if there were some "technology" that created a color distinction in the midst of battle. This movie won't win any awards because there's nothing outstanding about it. It's just good entertainment on a Sunday afternoon.

User review rating: 3 July 21, 2016

Very good but killing some main characters not good however it was good that Roland emmerish was still director

User review rating: 1 July 20, 2016

A poor attempt at a sequel. Visually it doesn't rival the practical effects of the 90's with the use of digital. Bad humor, poor character building. Evokes little emotional response

User review rating: 4 July 16, 2016

Recently saw this movie and thoroughly enjoyed it. Must of seen the first one a dozen times over the years. This one has it's own unique appeal and I will definitely watch it again as well - perhaps not as much as the original. If there is another one I will look forward to it as well.

User review rating: 4 July 16, 2016

Really enjoyed it. I was not expecting it to be like the last one but still had a lot of fun watching. Thought it was a good story line. For my money it was worth the entertainment.

User review rating: 2 July 10, 2016

Nowhere near the storyline or energy of the first one. Actually dozed it off once or twice. OK for young kids, but not for those looking for something as great as Independence Day of 1996.

User review rating: 4 July 09, 2016

I liked this one and I am glad Will Smith was not in it. I am looking forward to the third one. It does hel if you saw the first one.

User review rating: 1 July 09, 2016

Worst movie ever. I was nodding off through out...

User review rating: 1 July 09, 2016

Save your hard earned money and don't go. Watching this film was like eating a bag of zesty Nacho chips, only then to barf it all up. It's truly abysmal.

User review rating: 2 July 08, 2016

I'm giving this movie two stars for the CGI and that's it. It was a big let down and I was left wishing that I had left the movie halfway through it. I really hate when they give the characters such ridiculous personalities. The stupid macho man behaviour just reeks of a stinko movie. You'll find that throughout this flick. No wonder Will Smith wasn't in this sucked. Don't bother paying, wait till it's on tv. And to ad insult to injury I had to pay for the 3D screening because the regular one wasn't playing when I could go. And the 3D wasn't anything to write home about either.

User review rating: 1 July 08, 2016

It seems like Roland Emmerich is actively competing against Michael Bay for the "Worst Filmmaker Ever" championship title.

User review rating: 2 July 08, 2016

Very disappointing, could have been far better than the first, but failed and ended up falling well short

User review rating: 1 July 07, 2016

Cliché-a-minute steaming pile of garbage. Half the time I didn't know who was shooting who, or what was going on. The first one is infinitely better than this one. Even the effects from 20 years ago are so much better. The acting, as many have mentioned, is abysmal. And the oversized Pokemon ball? What was that all about??? This movie is so bad it makes you wish the world really was going to end in 2 minutes.

User review rating: 1 July 07, 2016

"There is nothing to see here folks, move along." this is what the ushers at the theaters should be saying outside the doors of the theaters showing this pile of flaming garbage. The story line is recycled from the first movie (which is much better), the actors pretty much phoned in their performances, they sounded like they were reading off of teleprompters. There was no chemistry between the characters and the audience just never got to the point of actually caring about any of them. Luckily the box office returns show little to no chance of movie 3 ever being made.

User review rating: 1 July 07, 2016

Not good, not bad either, but was not worth the time. COMPLETE mimic of the first Independence day, If you have seen the first one, no point in watching this movie. A much younger cast along with the few familiar faces. Same story line, same speeches, same everything. Not much changes. I'd recommend watching if you are bored, or just a fan of aliens..

User review rating: 5 July 06, 2016

Still the film to beat.

User review rating: 5 July 06, 2016


User review rating: 5 July 05, 2016

This movie is highly underrated. The director is COUNTING on you to have already seen the first film.....I can see why some would give it a low review if you have never seen the previous film. Full of action, cant wait for the 3rd installment!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 5 July 05, 2016

This wasn't my first Independence Day rodeo and it may not be the last, if look at the teasers that were at the conclusion of Resurgence. I gave it 5 stars because: (a) Roland Emmerich produced a well constructed story that was easy to follow, at least for those familiar with the original Independence Day. (b) It was true to the blockbuster original, without being too melodramatic (c) The next generation of stars actually could act and were believable (d) The special effects were unsurpassed by any other current film Go to it and judge for yourselves, but be sure to see it in 3D

User review rating: 1 July 05, 2016

This is to acting, what what jello is to wrestling. I enjoy some bad movies because they try too hard, this one didn't even have to try.

User review rating: 5 July 05, 2016

Cool movie

User review rating: 1 July 04, 2016

Part 1 is better

User review rating: 4 July 04, 2016

Really damn good for a sequel

User review rating: 4 July 04, 2016

Surprisingly better than I thought it was going to be ! Entertaining and pretty sharp ( yes - sharp ! ) :)

User review rating: 1 July 03, 2016

Have to agree with previous commenters, there is zero character development, and zero chemistry. No one I have talked to felt a connection to any character in the movie or really cared if they lived or died. Thankfully this is going to be a big enough box office failure that we can expect the announcement that the third movie is going to be canceled.

User review rating: 1 July 03, 2016

Hate the product placement that could actually cause harm. Don't drink, consider you have been warned.

User review rating: 1 July 03, 2016

Not so good.

User review rating: 5 July 03, 2016

Loved it! Has just as much originality, character development, and character chemistry as the last one! It's a triumph and sets up the next chapter in the trilogy to perfection!

User review rating: 2 July 03, 2016

It was a huge fan of the original movie, but Not this one. It lacked originality, character development, and character chemistry. Cannot recommend

User review rating: 1 July 03, 2016

Worst movie we've seen in years. Was laughable - but not in a kind way. They couldn't decide if they wanted to make a action or a comedy movie so they tried to do both and it failed miserably. The action portions were so unrealistic (Earthmen jumping into alien space ship fighters, and immediately flying them like they been through Top Gun Training) distracted from the action and on an on. At times, we thought we were watching the "Mad Professor" from "Back to the Future"

User review rating: 1 July 02, 2016

Two Words... Predictable and Disappointing, Well maybe a Third word ... S**T

User review rating: 5 July 02, 2016

Even better than the original!!!!!

User review rating: 2 July 01, 2016

f**k UP

User review rating: 1 July 01, 2016

Bad movie, waste of time and money!!!

User review rating: 1 July 01, 2016

OMG - best part about this movie was when it was over.

User review rating: 5 July 01, 2016

Tension-filled drama asks it's audience one compelling question: How far would you go to save your planet from alien invasion? A film that is sure to provoke discussion after screenings. 5/5

User review rating: 4 June 30, 2016

Great special effects plus who doesn't like movies about aliens? I do!

User review rating: 3 June 30, 2016

Fun if you turn your brain off. The original was good dumb but this is bad dumb. The things it gets right is equally balanced by the things it gets wrong. Believe it or not, best Emmerich film since the original in 1996, at least this isn't as bad as everything he did in between.

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2016

Excites and inspires! The summer's best movie has arrived!

User review rating: 2 June 29, 2016

All the new actors today are the same, all got into the businesses threw family connections...They have no personality or acting ability...its sad. I miss all the older ones.

User review rating: 5 June 29, 2016

Highly entertaining! Amazing special effects, great acting. Some suspens keep you on the edge of your seat. Worth watching at the movie's.

User review rating: 5 June 29, 2016

The magnitude of the human drama that unfolds upon the screen is staggering.

User review rating: 1 June 29, 2016

Stupid character interaction...did a sixth grader right these lines?Good special effects in between the stupid lovefests.

User review rating: 4 June 29, 2016

Great CGI. Similar to Aliens - Mother Hen egg hatchery - Queen Bee hive swarm

User review rating: 1 June 28, 2016

Special FX 95%. Story 5%

User review rating: 1 June 28, 2016

Clearly a desperate cash grab, the movie is full of forgettable characters that the audience could not care less about, half of which do nothing to advance the plot; and all of which drone out their lines like they are reading from a teleprompter. The CGI is good, everything else about the movie is garbage.

User review rating: 5 June 28, 2016

I like this movie

Change Location