In the Bedroom

Thank you for rating this movie!

In the Bedroom Movie Poster

3.61 / 5

User rating: 3.61

Based on 460 votes and 45 reviews

  • User rating: 3.61 48.15%
  • User rating: 3.61 16.56%
  • User rating: 3.61 6.54%
  • User rating: 3.61 5.88%
  • User rating: 3.61 22.88%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 45 of 45

User review rating: 3 March 22, 2011

Tough subject matter...great performances, but not an an easy view.

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2004

1 word...Boring

User review rating: 0 July 05, 2004

So odd, some parts were ok but overall this movie is odd.

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2002

This movie sucked-it was stupid and verrryyy boring...

User review rating: 0 October 12, 2002

I thought it was a very moving and powerful story. I loved the ending!

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2002


User review rating: 0 May 02, 2002

the more I thought about this movie, the more I liked it. It`s a touching character piece. Not about story or action but about people and emotion. And the way spacek and wilkinson are able to convey those feelings through the screen is masterful.

User review rating: 0 April 24, 2002

The actors inthe movie acted well. There were great characters. It seemed to be a long and slow movie, it needed more suspense or action and humor. The ending was a disapointment.

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2002

A long time to say not very much

User review rating: 0 March 26, 2002

well what can I say,, the acting was brilliant but I found the movie was toooo long..I`ve sat through many movies longer, that actually kept my attention,,I kept waiting for something to happen..The write up for the movie was not correct,,they called it a thriller,,maybe I`ve seen too many slasher films in my movie going time,,but this movie needed to be edited and oooommphed up a bit...

User review rating: 0 March 21, 2002

Great Movie, requires mature understanding. Children, Teens or imature adults probably won`t grt it. Really was a work of art

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2002

Can`t understand what all the `hype` is about. Thought it was slow and kept waiting for it to pick up. I also thought the ending was predictable.

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2002

i like the made you think...i would have done the same...don`t call me crazy but he deserves it...go see it, then you`ll know what i`m talking about...really sad... scarboro...spinach

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2002

The trailers are totally misleading. The movie has absolutely no content. It is one of the worst movies that I have ever seen. All in all, I have wasted two hours of my life that I will never get back!

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2002

Sissy is still sooooooooooo great ....

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2002

I liked it. The more I think about it the more I liked it! Almost like a novel. Engaging, interesting, and placed in a beautiful setting - MAINE!...see it if you like intellectual movies because it is one for the mind.

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2002

I liked the end when the father shot the guy that shot his son!

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2002

I wish I hadn`t listened to all those who said it was great! I do enjoy movies that make you think......but I have watched better movies in English Lit many moons ago to dissect. It wasn`t the acting, nor the lack of special effects, I got "numb-bum" for no reason. Really not worth seeing. The book was probably great, but some books should stay that...books! DLM, Hamilton

User review rating: 0 March 03, 2002

It sucked!It was too slow, the first hour was good but then things just got boring. There were some interesting parts but thats it.

User review rating: 0 March 03, 2002

This was a wonderfull movie. I feel that a beautiful mind will win best picture, but for sure In the Bedroom will be in second place. Just goes to show that you don`t need special effects to make a good movie. Brilliant preformances. Spellbinding.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2002

The most amazing movie I have seen in a long time! The acting was fantastic! My friend and I couldn`t stop talking about it. Amazing!

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2002

Where was the ending. If you enjoy a movie with the closure don`t go see this movie.

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2002

"In the Bedroom" is an absolute delight. Even the silent moments speak volumes. The acting is superb and the storyline captivating. If you want action, millions of dollars worth of special effects and mindless dialogue, go see something else. You will not find it here. It is a thinker!

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2002

Three Words: Waste of Money!!! Oh, let me add a few more words... and a waste of time!!!!

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2002

Some interesting elements and great acting, but, overall, very slow and unbelievably long.

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2002

Not a movie for everyone`s tastes....sinks in a little later on, as to as to the emotional aspect. The ending leaves you with a feeling of hanging on...until you start thinking and examine your own reactions. Not for everyone, but excellent.

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2002

There are a lot of people that won`t understand this film. Anyone who gave it a bad review, is obviously one of those people. It had many subtlties that made it fantastic. First, and formost, it wasn`t a movie, more so then it was a filmed play. Notice the short scenes, and quick black outs, as a transition to the next scene. The gun shots were not typical "movie" gun shots. They sounded more like guns that would be used on stage, during live theatre. Secondly, the sound. Did anyone notice that there was very little music, or sounds that didn`t have to do with the action on screen? Also, all the main action, aside from the sho

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2002

Just came home from watching the movie.....I don`t understand the point of the movie. It also gives approval to the process of revenge which I think is not right. The dialogue didn`t go anywhere. Constantly waiting for something to happen. Wouldn`t recommend it to anyone

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2002

very emotional intense. don`t watch it till you think you are ready. and be patient because this movie is a delicacy to savour.

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2002

I don`t understand the nominations this movie received. It was the most boring, dull, stupid movie I`ve ever seen!! The actors were all dead!!! I had a hard time staying awake, and what with the riduculous ending?? These critics should go and see Beautiful Mind - now that was good acting. I don`t understand anybody spending good money making such nonesense!!!

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2002

What a waste of time!

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2002

i kept waiting for SOMETHING, anything to happen, and the movie just carried on and on...very stupid... there was no plot, no theme, no was pathetic...PATHETIC!

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2002

It sucks. It seems like its Canadian or very old. Boring Boring Boring.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2002

Very good movie. I especially like the fact that it was made "on the cheap".

User review rating: 0 February 10, 2002

I`m not sure if "In The Bedroom" is the title of the movie, or the advisory of where this should be watch. What a sleeper. I was so bored, I was thinking about asking for my money back. And my wife was so bored, she actually fell asleep while watching! But a good movie for insomniacs who are looking for an alternative to sleeping pills. CJ

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2002

Very good movie!! Tom Wilkinson was great. He deserves an Acadamy Award nomination. The movie is a little slow - But NOT boring. The ending is well worth the wait. The movie gives a realistic portrayal of grief and the need for revenge.

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2002

Very good movie. You could tell it was cheap to make, but it didnt matter. Very good. A movie you should watch more then once!

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2002

What a boring movie... No story line, a 3 year old could have thought it up.

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2002

Very slow and somewhat boring! I was quite disappointed. The acting was "okay" but not as wonderful as I had been hearing. I nearly fell asleep. Also, the synopsis of this movie is misleading... the parents didn`t discover their son was involved with an older woman -- he was already involved with her when the movie began and they had basically accepted the relationship.

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2002

Excellent Movie - refreshing change from the Hollywoood big budget crap. Excellent acting and well made film. I don`t think it is a movie the teens. Highly recommend.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2002

An interesting movie which is different from today`s fast-paced, Hollywoodized genre. It takes a little getting used too, but worth the adjustment.

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2002

The first 40 minutes of this film are fairly good. But after that, it becomes boring, because there`s no action at all. I give it two stars.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2002

In The Bedroom is one of the most incredible movies I`ve ever seen. Totally enthralled from the first few minutes until the haunting end credit. It is a very satisfying movie that will give you a different outlook on life, never knowing where the movie is going to take you, but certainly glad you came along for the ride.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2002

i think it was a very good and sexy movie it turned ashley on!!!

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2001

i found "in the bedroom" one of the mosre interesting films this year. the acting is superb and the script tight and involving. for a first time director, this is a wonderful film -- rich and insightful

Change Location