Gosford Park

Thank you for rating this movie!

Gosford Park Movie Poster

3.46 / 5

User rating: 3.46

Based on 1076 votes and 42 reviews


  • User rating: 3.46 52.48%
  • User rating: 3.46 8.23%
  • User rating: 3.46 4.77%
  • User rating: 3.46 1.96%
  • User rating: 3.46 32.55%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 42 of 42

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2010

You really need to be on your toes. There is no wasted film here. There is a story and clues every where to solve the whodunit. This wonderful film has your attention.

User review rating: 0 June 14, 2006

One of the best Robert Altman´s movies !!! Great cast,amazing story and excellent photograph. It´s a very special film because of the way in wich,comedy,drama and suspense are combined perfectly by Altman. All the plenty characters inside the story,have their own magic. The design of the poster reflects the essence of the movie...........neat design,flawless making and awesome production!!!!

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2006

Brilliant - one of my favorite movies - liked the natural dialog, complexity of character interactions and storylines - acting and script were excellent. Not surprised at large number of negative reviews - this one is not for those to lazy to think.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

The movie reflected the class/caste system of English society inasmuch as everyone "knew his place" and their role if they were "in service" in an aristocratic household. My interest was in the hierarchy of both guests and servants. I loved the film, found it well researched, giving what I believe to be an accurate reflection of the times. Acting was well nuanced, costumes wonderful. As an English woman who grew up in the county of Kent, I have reflected on the name "Gosford Park". A gosling is a baby goose, a ford being a shallow water, usually under or by a hump-back bridge - so I would imagine the name means, "the place where the gos

User review rating: 0 August 20, 2003

Excellent film with great cast. This is one of Altman`s best films.

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2002

this movie is just too boring. it has too many characters that don`t really need to be in the film. the plot drags on and the ending is really lame. it deserves 2 stars.

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2002

for all those who think thiis is confusing or boring can go watch rollerball

User review rating: 0 May 15, 2002

Too long, too many characters, not enough to the plot to keep interest levels up. Nice costumes....overly long movie.

User review rating: 0 May 02, 2002

maggie smith was hilarious but overall I didn`t find Gosford Park all that captivating. Altman has done better. Might be better with repeated viewings.

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2002

Gosford Park had a good pace - very involved movie. Great acting. Loved it.

User review rating: 0 April 03, 2002

excellent,Stephen Fry is the best.

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2002

Boring! Good acting but there is no climax and there is no interest in who the killer is. i mean the guy doesn`t even get killed until 2 hours in.

User review rating: 0 March 24, 2002

Very hard to follow, and im still not sure who the killer is! But it was great acting and a very visual pleasing film

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2002

this was a great movie...very interesting and thought provoking

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2002

Very interesting movie. Not for everyone though as it was a little slow at times.

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2002

I loved Gosford Park. It was the type of movie, thjat you don`t see done anymore. It made the viewer think....and didn`t say: Ok, here is the person that did it, because you are to stupid it figure it out for yourself!!! The only thing....was there was WAY to many peopele

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2002

great

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2002

It was a marvelous movie in the tradition of Agatha Christie and the Murder on the Orient Express. Thoroughly enjoyable!

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2002

Great movie. The murder appeared late in the movie. However, I was so involved with the scenery, costumes, characters, and sorting everyone out, that I almost forgot this was a good old-fashion murder mystery.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2002

this movie is worst that the last time i voted for

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2002

The Best movie I have ever seen. Ryan Phillippe was so hot in it!

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2002

Great movie, but you have to pay close attention to EVERYTHING to understand it. Those who don`t will get lost and think it`s boring. Those who do, will be rewarded with wonderful murder mystery. Great movie, loved it. =)

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2002

Difficult movie to follow. Very slow movie, one of us fell asleep, the rest of us felt like leaving.

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2002

CRAP!

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2002

Full of wonderful moments: the countess snubbing the American producer from her car, her maid given precedence at dinner over the maid of a mere baroness, the servants listening to Ivor Novello while the self-absorbed aristocrats chat and play bridge ... One of the most enjoyable movies for years.

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2002

Fabulous

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2002

the best Robert Altman movie of all time.

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2002

It`s so hard now a days to find a movie that holds ones interest through out. I found Godsford Park to be such a movie. There was so much information flowing through the film that even if i did get confused i was enthralled at the same time. The actors, the script, the direction, the design, this is truly a fool proof film unless a complete idiot was at the helm, and Altman is no idiot. Bravo!

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2002

It had its moments, but the film tended to drag on for me. It didn`t live up to all the hype.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2002

It was a well built tale about the hypocracy of british high society at the turn of the century... Piercing in critique, but lacking in entratainment... a miss with american audiences that miss the depth of the story.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2002

GREAT movie! A bit hard to follow with so many characters, but it definately held up to the murder mystery plot. Very enetertaining!

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2002

Similar to Clue, an amusing murder storie with comedy!

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2002

Very Confusing at first but well worth it in the end.

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2002

Well I went into this movie thinking it was a "who-done-it" type of mystery film...but it wasn`t. I don`t wasnt to poil it for anyone, but if that`s what your expecting, don`t see it. Putting that aside, it had great acting and I found the actors were perfectly cast as well. But really, if your interested in seeing the differences between seravts and rich English and American people, see it.

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2002

It was amusing. Like murder-mystery dinner but with popcorn instead. It was fun trying to find the killer and figure out whom was sleeping w/whom. =P

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2002

Entertaining from beginning to end. Excellent acting, writing, and directing.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2002

Definately the most intelligent movie I`ve seen an a while. My faith in the instustry was renewed for a brief time. If you don`t like this movie, you didn`t get it.

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2002

This film received five Golden Globe 2002 nominations - - Best Picture (Comedy or Musical), Best Director, 2 for Best Supporting Actress, and Best Screenplay.

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2002

Refreshing. Hollywood rarely comes up with something so thoughtful yet captivating.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2002

I hate it. For a mystery movie there should be suspense. This movie just gives away the ending and the murder.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2002

Very anti-climatic. Waiting for the shoe to drop for the entire movie and in the end, nothing happens. The "mystery" is terribly transparent, and disappointingly presented.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2002

very interesting. different from the usual storylines. could of been better

Change Location