Gangs Of New York

Thank you for rating this movie!

Gangs Of New York Movie Poster

3.14 / 5

User rating: 3.14

Based on 3109 votes and 78 reviews


  • User rating: 3.14 46.89%
  • User rating: 3.14 5.71%
  • User rating: 3.14 3.51%
  • User rating: 3.14 1.90%
  • User rating: 3.14 41.99%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 78

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2009

Really awesome look at the early Irish in New York. It really made me think of what the early days were like for my great grandma who died at the age of 27 from Pneumonia in NY, NY.

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2006

The movie was good but could have been great without babyface Leo.

User review rating: 0 June 21, 2005

Fun. Has a few faults (a little violent, long, messy), but is fun. Great history in it.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2005

itv was ok didn`t really like it to much fighting

User review rating: 0 December 26, 2004

My hero is Bill the Butcher!!

User review rating: 0 August 14, 2004

good yet bloody. lol

User review rating: 0 June 10, 2004

I thought it was one the of best movies out. Daniel Day-Lewis is totally gorgeous in it.

User review rating: 0 September 13, 2003

Definatly no an oscar contendar, but if it wasn`t for Daniel Day-lewis` performance I would have left the Theatre.

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2003

i think this movie was very good , i think one of the best movies i have seen in years !!!!!!!!!!5 stars

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2003

i think this movie was very good , i think one of the best movies i have seen in years !!!!!!!!!!5 stars

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2003

I was so looking forward to this movie and what a disappointment. The acting was horrible. Leo wasn`t too bad but they should have spent moer time practicing their Irish accents. What a waste of three hours.

User review rating: 0 July 23, 2003

Gangs of New York is one of the worst movies I`ve ever seen. I can`t believe my friend made me waste money to see this joke-of-a-movie. I can`t believe this movie got so many nominations. Even the fight scenes sucked, they were so fake and overexaggerated. The `movie` was too long, too stupid and too unnecessary! The entire plot just dissappeared in the middle hour and then gets messed up @ the end. If you`re not stupid, don`t see this stupid movie!

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2003

One of Martin Scorecese Best Films Yet! Outstanding Performances by each and every Actor and Cameron Diaz. Full of Action scenesand Fantastic Cinematography. ABSOLUTLY Spectacular!

User review rating: 0 July 10, 2003

very good movie.i think it was way too long though,leo was awsome.his best performance besides ``titanic``.i also thought that it was way too violent,im 19 years old and i thought it was to violent definitly not for kids the age of 18.thanks.

User review rating: 0 July 07, 2003

One word to describe the movie: Spectacular. I thought I enjoy "The two towers" well...but this is another top 5 movies. It`s worth watching it even though it`s a loooong movie.

User review rating: 0 July 06, 2003

Great first 2/3 of film...but then felt much was left missing on the last 1/3...when I was watching it in the theatre I thought some scenes didn`t flow right and felt "something was cut right there" ...hmmm...I wonder how the movie would have been at a slightly longer running time...would a few holes in the film I felt existed make it flow better? Good movie overall though.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2003

this really was a wicked movie. However, the end of the movie really let me down. I really enjoy movies based on history and the history of these riots is very interesting. Liam Neeson was great, however, he was only in it for a very short time (too short). The ending was poor because it involves a stupid twist that I won`t reveal here.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2003

Juicy, baby, Juicy. It`s kind of Last of the Mohicans meeting goodfellas. Scorsese is a living legend, who as always takes you to next level. Gangs portrays extreme violence, and who says that early 19th century New York wasn`t just a bloody freakin mess. Oh it was, they weren`t sweet times in those days and Martin Scorsese as always, proves that. Powerful, a "man`s movie"

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2003

That movie was awesome! Whoever hasnt seen should go and see it. IT was just great

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2003

wow it was crazy

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2003

It is a great film and portrays the period in historic accuracy

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2003

Director Martin Scorsese took a three year absense from Hollywood after making BRINGING OUT THE DEAD, and roared back with this spectacular film depicting just how brutal it was in the streets of 19th century New York. The direction is fabulous, the cinematography is wonderful and Daniel Day-Lewis`s performance was awe-inspiring. The film had a tremendous supporting cast of people like Leo Di Caprio, Cameron Diaz, Jim Broadbent, Brendan Gleeson, Henry Thomas, John C. Reilly and Liam Neeson to go with it. And this is in no way as grotesque as the critics were saying, believe you me, this is coming from a 15-year-old kid, it just depicts what

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2003

AWESOME! Those who thought it was bad: are you 7 years old? can you not sit through a good movie?

User review rating: 0 January 29, 2003

the movie was very long and could of been done in a shorter time. I really liked the music, it really went with what was going on. I will buy the soundtrack but not the movie!

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2003

It should have been about 45 mins shorter. It just drug on too long.

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2003

good movie

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2003

i can`t believe that this is a martin scorsese film. i gave it 2 stars ONLY because of daniel day lewis` outstanding performance. otherwise it wouldn`t even be worthy is 1/2 a star.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2003

I find the movie very real and actual. Although it takes place in 19th century New York live then as it is now continues in its essence fighting over the same issues "going to war in the name of God", the story of mankind. It is a strong movie with crude scenes and a strong message. The final shot of the cemetery were the tombs of The Butcher and The Priest are shown in the foreground with the Twin Towers standing in the background sums up the message of the movie. It is a movie that should make you think and gives you a better perspective for how the world is unraviling at this time.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2003

Another excuse for American film makers to surpass themselves in gruesomeness and grotesquery. As if we need that to get the picture... On the other hand, a great performance playing the vilain; it takes talent to trigger hate and understanding simultaneoulsy!

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2003

The fight at the beggining of the movie was coll but then it slowly became a long boring movie with a poorly thought out plot and bad ending

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2003

This was a long and boring moive, with good violence but over all sucked beyond all high heaven!

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2003

i think it was a really great movie

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2003

the movie was great... i personally liked it... though very graphic @ moments but still good...

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2003

great movie for the first 3/4! not so good for the last 1/4!

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2003

it is a good movie

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2003

I thought that Gangs of New York was an excellent movie. The storyline was intriguing and the acting was great, one of the best movies I`ve seen in a long time.

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2003

some people liked it, some people didn`t; just one thing, what in the he** was the point of this movie?

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2003

Daniel Day Lewis....made that movie amazing. I beleive DiCaprio really has grown in his acting and Dias proved that she can perform. The movie was visually stunning....

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2003

A cheap attempt of duplicating the success of the movie Braveheart, which is the greatest movie of all time. Gangs had a great beginning, slow and boring two hours in the middle, and a lacklustre ending.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2003

Today was my second visit to the theatre to see the movie. I loved it. Daniel Day-Lewis was amazing. The movie was larger than life, much like the old movies. It filled the screen - loved the music. Definitely a 5-star!

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2003

Titanic without the boat: long, drawn out, acting that would make soap stars cringe! What happened to 2 hour long movies??

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2003

The movie over all wasnt somthing i would want to see again. but it did have its moments where i was amused. the fighting scenes were pretty cool and i think Bill the butcher was really amusing and pretty much made the movie tolerable. Also the guy who played Mc nally (the guy with the club) he was funny through out the movie. Im sure if i had to pay for this movie i would have been disapointed but since it was free i found the movie alright.

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2003

Spectacular. Leo was heart-wrenching, Day-Lewis gave the best performance of his life and Diaz finally proved she can act. There`s a reason this movie is up for 5 golden globe awards. It was amazing!

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2003

Worst Movie EVER! I kept waiting for something to happen, anything. 3 hours later I was still waiting. I would have rather sat in a doctor`s waiting room for 3 hours reading women`s magazines.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2003

It was a pretty good movie. Daniel Day-Lewis was incredible.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2003

bill was like a cartoon, the film was slow and porrly written. The acting was weak and lacked any real emotion, and the plot was hidden beneath of the two towers.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2003

terrible. That prety much sums it up, Dicaprio`s performance was weak as was the "plot". Even Daniel Day Lewis was horrible with his highly exaggerated "american" accent. And leonardo`s accent wass just nonsense. As for cameron Diaz i haven`t seen a worse performance by an actress in years and i was shocked to hear of the golden globe nominations!! Wonder who Scorses made pay off to this year. My vote would be Daniel Day go back into retirement because whatever talent you had is obviously still waiting for you there.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2003

I hate Leo Die-crapio, but this film is on the top of my movies to see list.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2003

Leonardo Dicaprio did great in this movie....he also looks great;)

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2003

If you can believe Leo you can believe anything.

Change Location