Free State of Jones

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.00 / 5

User rating: 4

Based on 56 votes and 27 reviews


  • User rating: 4 51.85%
  • User rating: 4 25.93%
  • User rating: 4 3.70%
  • User rating: 4 7.41%
  • User rating: 4 11.11%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 27 of 27

User review rating: 2 July 13, 2016

The story line was good & the acting was very good, but it dragged on way too long.

User review rating: 0 July 13, 2016

WTF!?? Why in the hell is this movie not playing in Fredericton??

User review rating: 5 July 12, 2016

Realism & accuracy of research

User review rating: 5 July 10, 2016

Awesome! Great and believable acting and plot. This true story/movie should be used to further teach society about the hardships and sad reality of slavery and its effects on mankind, regardless of race. Very, very well done!

User review rating: 5 July 10, 2016

MM knocked it out of the park. Incredible movie.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2016

GREAT MOVIE!! Acting is excellent!! A story I had not heard before very moving.

User review rating: 4 July 05, 2016

It was a good movie...it let me Jonesing for a whiskey

User review rating: 0 July 04, 2016

Not what I expected, but a very interesting part of USA history. Being a history buff, I enjoyed it, always liking to learn things I never knew. It is a movie about the good and the bad of USA history.

User review rating: 4 July 04, 2016

Seems to be two stories in one & perhaps would have been better if the civil war story and Knight's decedent's personal stories were separated and developed more. I preferred the civil war refresher.

User review rating: 1 July 04, 2016

Too long too bloody bad acting

User review rating: 3 July 03, 2016

"I loved how they included god in the plot."Some people are so absorbed in this religion fairytale that they see it everywhere. GIVE IT UP! The movie itself was good.

User review rating: 5 July 01, 2016

Great movie and great acting!!

User review rating: 4 June 30, 2016

Great acting as well as action,a keeper

User review rating: 1 June 28, 2016

Horrible. Was hoping for much more. Dragged on and on. Bring a pillow as you will fall asleep.

User review rating: 0 June 27, 2016

Great movie..very well done - Mathew is excellent- Oscar performance

User review rating: 5 June 27, 2016

Intelligent, beautiful movie, deep and thought provoking. Superb acting all around, certainly will be a classic, seems to be historically accurate. If you are an intelligent moviegoer, enjoy, substance, good acting, and yet entertaining, this is the movie for you!

User review rating: 0 June 27, 2016

A terrible, slow moving and boring movie. Don't waste your money going to see it.

User review rating: 5 June 26, 2016

Well done, informative and well acted film We loved it!.It was a little long, but never boring. Many stories in a very important time in American history. I recommend it.

User review rating: 4 June 26, 2016

Very well done movie but just too long.

User review rating: 1 June 26, 2016

I did not like this movie it was boring don't waste your money on it

User review rating: 5 June 25, 2016

I was enthralled all the way through this movie. Read all the history books you want, but until you actually see something, you don't really understand things. We all know that there is literary license taken, but boy, this just kept you riveted. Even the song I'm Crying at the end brought some tears. Please don't ever allow us to go back to such a state of affairs.

User review rating: 5 June 25, 2016

Good movie.

User review rating: 5 June 24, 2016

Riveting movie from beginning to end. I loved how they included God in the plot. Awesome.

User review rating: 5 June 24, 2016

Yet another example of extraordinary bravery to promote equality in times of slavery

User review rating: 5 June 23, 2016

Loved it. We all need to be reminded once in a while about the horrible atrocities that people did to people for the sake of color.

User review rating: 5 June 23, 2016

Awesome movie!

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2016

UNBELIEVABLE!!!!

Change Location