Ex Machina

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.25 / 5

User rating: 4.25

Based on 74 votes and 24 reviews


  • User rating: 4.25 66.67%
  • User rating: 4.25 16.67%
  • User rating: 4.25 2.78%
  • User rating: 4.25 2.78%
  • User rating: 4.25 11.11%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 24 of 24

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2016

Excellent film, written and directed superbly. Soundtrack is entrancing. Not for the ADD generation -that requires constant bombardment by Michael Bay explosions or eye melting Abrams lens flares. If your mind is clouded by the misogynistic undertones, you probably lack the depth required to appreciate the film's true meaning.

User review rating: 5 September 09, 2015

A unique and fascinating sci-fi movie with beautiful cinematography and engaging visual effects. The enigmatic behaviour between the four main characters is complimented by an effectively hypnotic soundtrack. The pace of the plot during most of the movie sets up for an impactful and thought-provoking ending. This movie is worthy of repeated viewings, especially on Bluray.

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2015

Awesome Movie! Definitely thought provoking on how humanity will have to look forward to our behaviour and ethics between Artificial Intelligence and existance.

User review rating: 2 July 24, 2015

Though well done it was long and boring

User review rating: 4 June 11, 2015

Very cool...different vibe..not one similar since Will Smith 'i Robot ' but better in my opinion

User review rating: 5 May 31, 2015

I enjoyed this movie. It was intriguing, creepy and thought provoking. Creative and cerebral. Go see it.

User review rating: 4 May 25, 2015

Pretty fun movie. Cool visuals. It was a little slower than I was anticipating but has a great ending that I definitely wasn't expecting.

User review rating: 5 May 22, 2015

Perfect movie. An action movie of the mind. Acting by Oscar Isaac and Alicia Vikander is superb.

User review rating: 4 May 21, 2015

I really enjoyed this movie, despite finding it a creepy glimpse into maybe not so much of a futuristic fiction but cautionary?

User review rating: 5 May 19, 2015

A very poignant reveal of human nature that many people will miss completely. Doing what we do, getting caught up in the minutiae of our petty desires and masking it with pretentious ambition.

User review rating: 1 May 16, 2015

This film explores what a highly intelligent man would do if he could build a female AI. Apparently he would do the same thing most 14 year old boys would do - why, he would build one of every culture, make them look like super models and have sex with them. I believe in freedom of speech and director, Alex Garland has the right to present his story including nudity. However, I found offensive the misogynistic turn of the film worthy of Hustler's 70s cover featuring a woman being thrown into a meat grinder. For Garland, this involved graphic images of ripping women's arms off, among other brutalizing, and stuffing them in closets. His most sickening money shot peered under the skirt of a bea

User review rating: 5 May 16, 2015

A very thoughtful twist on computers and A.I. (in the end they will be better than us)

User review rating: 5 May 15, 2015

Excellent vision and very worth the watch.

User review rating: 5 May 15, 2015

This was the best science fiction movie I've seen in years- keeps you thinking about it long after it's over.

User review rating: 4 May 14, 2015

A visually intriguing, stimulating and emotional ride of a movie...great character driven plot--especially the female android of whom the movie revolves around. If your in the mood for a keen and psychological science-fiction thriller and you want your mind and your eyes dazzled by more than just explicit CGI, then this movie will fill your need. You will be amazed and may just find yourself asking, 'would I do the same in her place?'

User review rating: 5 May 14, 2015

Best movie of 2015.

User review rating: 5 May 13, 2015

The best AI move since Blade Runner. This will probably be the best movie of the summer.

User review rating: 5 May 11, 2015

The trailer is misleading - this not an action movie. It's a slow, intelligent, cerebral exploration of a rapidly approaching future. Superbly acted, flawless visual effects. Definitely not for everyone (4 different people walked out of the screening I was at), but if you like sci-fi and you have a brain that works this is a keeper.

User review rating: 1 May 10, 2015

This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. My friend and I walked out. It was boredom beyond belief! I want to give it NO STARS but it won't let me.

User review rating: 5 May 03, 2015

An excellent thriller. I went with high expectations and I was not disappointing. No action in here, just a great story and some unexpected twists that leave you glued to your seat. The movie is a little bit slow.

User review rating: 0 May 01, 2015

An instant classic.

User review rating: 5 May 01, 2015

A mind blending thriller.

User review rating: 5 May 01, 2015

A Smart Science Fiction Thriller written and directed by Alex Garland.

User review rating: 5 May 01, 2015

Rank #1 In the sci fi thriller genre.

Change Location