Eastern Promises

Thank you for rating this movie!

Eastern Promises Movie Poster

3.68 / 5

User rating: 3.68

Based on 2256 votes and 53 reviews


  • User rating: 3.68 37.44%
  • User rating: 3.68 28.44%
  • User rating: 3.68 13.27%
  • User rating: 3.68 6.64%
  • User rating: 3.68 14.22%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 53

User review rating: 4 December 09, 2009

Viggo Mortensen is very believable as a Russian and an exceptionally talented actor overall. Didn't care for the graphic violence but the story and actors were awesome.

User review rating: 0 June 10, 2009

fabulous movie

User review rating: 0 July 23, 2008

I especially enjoyed the naked scene in the bath house. Viggo is hot!

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2008

horrible

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2008

The movie overall was very well done. I was impressed with the corregraphy of the fight scene along with a believable story line. Viggo deserves an award for his role. In my opinion all of the actors portrayed their characters in a manner where no one seemed inappropriate for their role. Well done!

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2008

A little predictable in places but a solid film about an interesting subject. Vigo was exceptional.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2008

Excellent performance by Viggo Mortensen. I am Russian and its nice to hear an understandable version of Russian languge without reading the subtitles.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2008

Excellent film. Different and a nice change up. Viggo does an outstanding job in his role.

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2007

Excellent!!!

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2007

One of the best films of 2007. Very engaging from start to finish, brilliant performances all around, it will definitly not be overlooked for an oscar.

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2007

Was a little slow at times. Great story, loved the characters. Viloence was over the top crazy. Thanks Cronenberg! Would recomend it.

User review rating: 0 December 18, 2007

5 Stars. Should get a few Oscar noms.

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2007

This movies was not what i expected (guns, gang fights and usual mafia scenes). It was chick flick meets the good sheppard. Overall it would be a good movie to rent if you like those kinds, but i wish i didnt have to pay to see it. Viggo is hot for an older guy, but if i was a man, and that small, I prob wouldn't be showing my goods on the "big" screen.

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2007

GREAT MOVIE!

User review rating: 0 October 27, 2007

I cnat believe peolpe like Vigor. He is nude in noe scenes and I was like Blood! Vigor I know you're acting skills vert much but I would like to get to no you. alWAYS, mugle.

User review rating: 0 October 27, 2007

I really interested in Vigor movie. Violence was more crazy it wsa awesome. I recommened this incredilbe flick.

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2007

I enjoyed this movie more than I thought I would. It's cold, moody and slow but you can literally feel the tension oozing from the screen. Viggo is the man for these type of characters. And Naomi Watts...sigh...what a beautiful woman!

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2007

VERY GOOD MOVIE. Well acted, especially Viggo, well directed and highly entertaining. While the violence is a little over teh top, it does mesh with the story and the ahrsh reality of the life certain characters in teh movie are in.

User review rating: 0 October 16, 2007

Entertaining but quite violent.Vigo is quite good and the film slows down in sections but overall woth seeing.

User review rating: 0 October 16, 2007

Interesting story but the violence was too graphic - The idea that ones fingers are being cut off is enough to gross me out; I don't need to actually see it. The father was excellent (his name escapes me) and Viggo, ahhhh, Viggo... One Woman's Opinion

User review rating: 0 October 16, 2007

Very long, slow and boring. The russian dialogs (or what's suppose to be dialogs) are hilarious! I laughed my heart out. They should fire the consultant before he started. Perhaps this is how people see russians - all they do is swear, drink vodka and f*ck. Any asp - java - c++ people around?

User review rating: 0 October 14, 2007

Amazing!

User review rating: 0 October 12, 2007

Best movie of the year. Brutal violence and an unseen twist.

User review rating: 0 October 10, 2007

Fantastic movie. Viggo, go get your Oscar.

User review rating: 0 October 09, 2007

This is Cronenberg's best movie. Viggo Mortensen was fantastic. "The" fight scene was....um....graphic.

User review rating: 0 October 08, 2007

A movie worth seeing. good twists, excellent writing

User review rating: 0 October 08, 2007

Intelligent and original, as always Cronenbrg is excellent in his creativity and choice of cast.

User review rating: 0 October 05, 2007

Great plot, but who likes to watch a naked man knife fight in a bath house - if you do, you will love this movie, however, if you are a heterosexual man, you may not - this is like Borat with more action and less funny, more blood and less Pamela Anderson, in fact none

User review rating: 0 October 04, 2007

Very disappointed. Was hollow and horribly boring.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2007

A long and slow movie that has no meaning to it, but trying to portrait a meaningful movie. Do not waste your time and money.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2007

excellent acting, realistic story with excellent action and very moving. simply great

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2007

Seemingly predictable, great story just a little two easy to figure out!

User review rating: 0 September 30, 2007

It kept me glued from beginning to end. Viggo Mortensen was outstanding! Worth going to see again!

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2007

excellent

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2007

This is a fantastic movie. The acting is superb, the plot is enticing and very down to earth. The reason i don't give this film a 5of5 is because by the end of the movie i truly wanted more.. i left feeling sort of cheated out of what could have been one of the most epic intelligent and mature gangster films. All in all an excellent watch, i would definately love to see david cronenburg do another.

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2007

Viggo was totally believable, never out of character and the storyline swept you along. Awesome Movie!

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2007

horrible movie, do not see this one!

User review rating: 0 September 26, 2007

I can bet they had Russian consultants hired :). Been Russian myself it was fun watching this movie but I have to admit that some of the things are very close to reality. Strong 4.5 - definitely worth watching.

User review rating: 0 September 26, 2007

This is one of the worst movie I've watch this year, or in many years. It was quite boring to the point that most people left the room before the film ends. I was patient and waited for the climax, but it never came. It earns a solid 1 star, if only I can give it a negative.

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2007

An awesome movie! Great actors and fantastic acting jobs by ALL! This movie is definitely a must see, but be prepared for some 'extreme' violence scenes.

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2007

One of the most thought-provoking films I've seen in a long time. Haunting imagery, atypical characters and very controlled acting. Definitely worth seeing. (Not for the squeamish.)

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2007

AMAZING

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2007

Good acting by Viggo, but I didn't like the storyline and it was very graphic. More of a movie for the guys.

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2007

excellent story, twist and acting. It is a mature film with a realistic non-Hollywood story. Deserves and oscar

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2007

Very well done! One of Cronenberg's best films. You must have no problem with violence and Russian accents to watch this film and enjoy it.

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2007

This was the worst movie I have seen in a long time - Extremely graphic, and an awful storyline!

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2007

Wow.

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2007

Very slow moving story. "Most memorable fight scene" quoted from a film critic...but it's not memorable in a good way...

User review rating: 0 September 22, 2007

Great movie. The Godfather of the year 2007.

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2007

Definately one of Cronenberg's best. Personally thought History of Violence was better. But this was definately worth seeing, very powerful. popou :D

Change Location