Dear John

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.62 / 5

User rating: 3.62

Based on 271 votes and 59 reviews


  • User rating: 3.62 52.99%
  • User rating: 3.62 9.70%
  • User rating: 3.62 7.46%
  • User rating: 3.62 5.97%
  • User rating: 3.62 23.88%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 59

User review rating: 5 July 27, 2012

can't stop my tears from falling! i can relate to this movie. great great great!

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2012

i loved this show as a kid and have been a judd hirsch fan ever since.

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2011

There were so many goofs in this! In the scene where John meets Savannah's parents, they're going up the stairs to the house and she's wearing a minidress and in all the other shots, she has bare legs but in this one, she's obviously wearing black pants underneath. It looks really strange. I guess it must have been cold on the day they shot it. I saw a ton of other continuity errors too, where someone would pick up a drink, then in the next shot, they would pick it up again even though they never put it down.

User review rating: 5 September 16, 2010

The best!!

User review rating: 4 July 20, 2010

I thought this movie was very good but the second half was really wierd and i felt that it was really creepy why would she have married that guy!

User review rating: 3 July 06, 2010

The first half of the movie was really sweet and enjoyable to watch. But the second half took a weird turn and I found the storyline unrealistic and reaching. But it's still enjoyable to watch I guess

User review rating: 5 July 02, 2010

Love Love Loved Channing and Amanda in this movie. i much preferred the movie to the book. They portrayed the love story exceptionally and showed what talented actors they both are. They brought out the perfect emotions. I found that except for a few deviations, the movie stayed very true to the book.

User review rating: 1 June 24, 2010

very bad movie. horrible ending.

User review rating: 2 May 31, 2010

The main purpose of the story in the book is missed in the movie. The ending in the book is gut wrenching but bland and "movie" predictable in the movie.

User review rating: 3 April 20, 2010

I expected this movie to be amazing like the notebook, & it wasn't. The girl just pissed me off, especially because it gives the misconception that people fall in love in a week..

User review rating: 4 March 29, 2010

I was with the movie about 2/3 of it. Until the end, its where the ending wasn't really convincing for me at all, on which why the girl broke up with John. Overall, it is still a decent movie, enjoyable and the story would touch many hearts of soldiers who been through similar events before.

User review rating: 5 March 20, 2010

I loved this movie. It was really a good fun movie.

User review rating: 5 March 19, 2010

AMAZING!!!! :O)

User review rating: 2 March 14, 2010

I decided to sit through this movie hoping that it would be as romantic as the notebook. It wasn’t. I found the movie quite boring. I found the story to be less than interesting and there wasn’t much happening in terms of their relationship. It was tragic and it portrayed a very insightful view of how difficult relationship can be between lovers and families when soldier’s go off to war. It portrayed great sacrifice for ones country and determination which I can appreciate. However I found the love story to be bland and under developed. I rate this movie 2 stars out of 5 and would recommend waiting for the rental if you are interested. E.D

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2010

It was like seeing my personal life ... in a movie ... beautiful

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2010

I love this movie. It is soooo moving. I can completely relate.

User review rating: 5 March 07, 2010

It was absolutely amazing!

User review rating: 4 March 07, 2010

Very romantic, wonderful scenery also

User review rating: 5 March 03, 2010

This movie was so sad :( And John was so sexy :)But it was also really, good... kinda predictable. But good

User review rating: 1 March 02, 2010

terrible. i went in there expecting to cry and i did only it wasn't because of their epic love story (which wasn't all that epic). This movie was soooo rentable!

User review rating: 2 February 25, 2010

I walked into the theatre thinking it would be somewhat like the notebook, but it was pretty disappointing. the movie wasn't convincing enough and i was bored half way through. good thing i had a movie pass 'coz i would've been pissed if i had to pay for it

User review rating: 5 February 24, 2010

Beautiful, showing true family values and dedication to each other :) Good romantic story!

User review rating: 5 February 21, 2010

This was an excellent movie and well worth seeing.

User review rating: 1 February 21, 2010

Terrible movie- it looked way better in the previews!

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2010

i loved this movie

User review rating: 1 February 15, 2010

What a major waste of time- they added too many montages & lost the love story- actors were pretty bad & failed to create an emotional connection with audience- I should 've walked out

User review rating: 2 February 14, 2010

I honestly think the ppl who gave good reviews for this movie were paid to do it. The two stars I'm giving is solely based on Tatum's hotness. I cried once during the movie and it had nothing to do with their (unconvincing) love/relationship. Booooo! So disappointed. Seyfried sucks, they NEVER pair Tatum with a girl that matches his hotness.

User review rating: 3 February 14, 2010

It was OK. I was a bit disappointed. amanda is a great actress but I think Channing spends more time worrying about showing his top teeth than about what he is saying. It makes him look brooding all the time. Channing if i had your money i'd get m y teeth fixed because the rest of the package is pretty darn nice. The best thing about Channing is his face and body. He would make a better model, I fear, than actor.

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2010

Movie was awful

User review rating: 1 February 13, 2010

I usually don't write reviews, but this movie made me rage a bit. Its not a love story, its a story of really stupid decisions. In hindsight, I wish I didn't pay to see it in the theatres. It is BARELY even a (weekly) rental. Ugh.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2010

Dear John was a beautiful love story it was sad at parts but beautiful at others lots of people rated it bad but they're probably jealos the can't find love that easy.Please watch it you will fall in love

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2010

Absolutely loved this movie! Although I didn't read the book, I think I will buy the book!

User review rating: 2 February 13, 2010

Terrible compared to the book!! They fall in love in a matter of 10 minutes!! Parts of the movie was ok, but I was really disappointed. Dear John, the book, compares to the Notebook really well. Dear John, the movie, does not.

User review rating: 3 February 12, 2010

It was an ok movie but it could have been way better. I was a bit disapointed.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2010

Very touching movie! Brought back memories of first love. Great acting by both especially Tatum.

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2010

Havnt read the book, but i went with my girlfriend to watch it and i absolutely loved it. SO much in fact that i cant wait to buy it when it comes out. And believe me im not a romancy kinda guy, but honestly you owe it to yourself to watch this movie. Great job by both of them. Amazing.

User review rating: 3 February 09, 2010

OMG IM SO MAD they changed stuff from the book i really wanted to see him when he was still a bad guy in highschool, the boook is waaaaay better i must say

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2010

This movie was very good. The book, written by Nicolas Sparks, is a phenomenal story and I am truly happy they brought it to the big screen. I wish they focused more on the development of Savannah and John's relationship at the beginning like the book but besides that I thoroughly enjoyed it. I hope they continue to make more of Nicolas Sparks' books into movies!!!!

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2010

LOVE!!

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2010

i love this movie me and my gilfreind loved it you should go and wacth this movie the best romance movie ever

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2010

awesome, nicholas sparks

User review rating: 1 February 09, 2010

This movie was terrible and I loved The Notebook! These two were together in the movie for a whole 20min the entire time it was so bad!

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2010

The book was better!!!

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2010

awesome movie, so much passion

User review rating: 4 February 08, 2010

Okay well let`s just say, it was a great movie, a fav of mine. I cried throughout the whole thing, had to go to the washroom, and missed the best part. OMG please stay in the movie k? but what i say was freakin' amazin :P go see it.

User review rating: 3 February 08, 2010

Bad storyline. Horrid acting. Very choppy. Very ill developed. Renter for sure.

User review rating: 3 February 08, 2010

The movie was really good... up until the end! The end sucks, therefore I dismiss the entire movie!

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2010

Awesome movie, did not like the ending but what can u expect

User review rating: 4 February 07, 2010

"Very predictable/simple, but "nice."

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2010

This was a truely amazing film. I was blown away. The acting by the two leads, the storyline, everything was just brilliant. This movie has so much heart. See it! Now!

Change Location