Dear Frankie

Thank you for rating this movie!

Dear Frankie Movie Poster

4.17 / 5

User rating: 4.17

Based on 538 votes and 40 reviews


  • User rating: 4.17 73.60%
  • User rating: 4.17 6.55%
  • User rating: 4.17 1.35%
  • User rating: 4.17 0.39%
  • User rating: 4.17 18.11%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 40

User review rating: 5 December 02, 2014

This movie leaves you with feelings of warmth and hope. Tremendous testament to the acting. Dear Frankie just grabbed my heart.

User review rating: 0 July 09, 2009

Great movie

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2008

A jewel! Truly a rare delight.

User review rating: 0 June 22, 2006

Beautiful story and well acted by all. I hope there`s a Dear Frankie II. I want to see the "stranger" back in their lives.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2006

I loved this movie, it shows how much Lizzie loves Frankie for what she did and why she did it. Emily Mortimer and Gerard Butler play great together they need to do more movies together. I absolutely love this movie! When you watch it make sure you have Kleenex, you`ll need it.

User review rating: 0 February 10, 2006

I loved the movie and sobbed through out it. I love Gerard Butler! I have watched this movie over and over and over. I just wish they had more scenes with Gerry in it!

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2006

I love you Gerard Butler!! Heehee! Dear Frankie is a touching and saaaaad movie. I think i`ll go see it for the twenty sixth time! Yep. I`ve seen it THAT MANY TIMES! ITS A GREAT MOVIE!

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2005

It is too bad that this wonderful movie didn`t get more attention! Lovely story, great acting, and all of the elements of every emotion we have! I want a sequel!!!!

User review rating: 0 December 13, 2005

This was the BEST movie I have ever seen.. very touching

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2005

WONDERFULL!!!SENSITIVE!!!FASCINATION!!!LIKE "BILLY ELIOT"!TOTALLY SCOTISH!!!

User review rating: 0 November 15, 2005

Loved this movie. The entire cast was perfect. Touched my heart from the beginning. Rare and unique experience.

User review rating: 0 September 11, 2005

I loved this movie so much, it was touching on so many levels and so well done. The story was excellent, and the acting so unbelievably real. I was moved by so many of the situations and the scenery. This was probably the best movie I`ve seen in years.

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2005

Dear Frankie was a superb film that possessed a genuine sense of realism and reality that carried through right to the end. Excellent acting and a both intriguing and touching story. By far one of the best films I`ve seen.

User review rating: 0 August 07, 2005

Absolutely brilliant.. one of the best movies in such a long,long time...

User review rating: 0 August 06, 2005

I finally got the chance to see this remarkable movie. WOW. This is the kind of movie that appeals to all ages and I cannot wait to see it again. I`m going to buy the DVD immediately. The beauty of the scenery and the naturalness of the acting just drew you completely into the movie, leaving you with a sense of fulfillment and hope that `he` would return soon, for both their sakes.

User review rating: 0 July 20, 2005

Great and refreshing!

User review rating: 0 July 14, 2005

Wow, now this was a good movie! Beautifully acted and sometimes sad it altimately gives great satisfaction for time and money well spent. I loved it!

User review rating: 0 July 12, 2005

Terrific film, excellent writing and performances. I`m not sure I believe the ending, but it was a surprise and gave me something to think about.

User review rating: 0 July 08, 2005

Beautiful movie! More people need to see this.

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2005

AMAZING film...gerard butler was so great in the role!as were emily mortimer and well everyone else for that matter!the story was stunning and had the qualities of a perfect movie!

User review rating: 0 June 24, 2005

This was a great film. Lots to talk about afterwards. Unlike the comments of other, I love the fact that I wanted to know more at the end. I love that in novels too, when the character development is so superb, that it makes you want to keep knowing them.

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2005

Dear Frankie is a movie for those who like a good story. I`m so sick of the typical Hollywood crap. This movie is all about the characters and not the special effects. It really made you think. I loved it; the acting was terrific. Too bad it was in such limited release; a lot of people missed a great film.

User review rating: 0 May 19, 2005

Its a shame it has come out in such limited release.

User review rating: 0 May 09, 2005

Its an absolutely amazing film..touched the heart and the acting was suberb!!

User review rating: 0 May 03, 2005

Great, really great!

User review rating: 0 May 02, 2005

A very good family movie.I love all the performances of the actors in this movie.

User review rating: 0 April 30, 2005

Dear Frankie was such a sad movie! All the characters fit the role perfectly, and though it won`t happen, I`m hoping for a Dear Frankie 2. If you love a good cry for good reasons - this is your movie. Though the ending was disappointing...it could have given more insight into the character`s futures. I want to know what happens next!

User review rating: 0 April 30, 2005

This is a very good family movie.All the cast are amazing.You will not regret watching this beatiful movie.

User review rating: 0 April 28, 2005

I recently saw Dear Frankie and I thought it was wonderful and touching. Gets to the heart of how far a mother will go to protect her child. The handsome Stranger is well-played by Gerard Butler. His silences in the film speak volumes. Kindness and compassion are definitely brought the fore in this film. Wonderful picture...I`d recommend it to anyone to go see in theaters or own for their collection at home.

User review rating: 0 April 22, 2005

Easily one of the best movies I`ve ever seen. Fabulous!

User review rating: 0 April 21, 2005

VERY GOOD MOVIE

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2005

It was a very realistically played film not only touching on spousal abuse but deafness in children. My self being deaf as a child I can relate I recommend it to all.

User review rating: 0 April 08, 2005

This is a great movie! Simple and about ordinary people, yet so much emotion between the lines. I loved it enough to preorder the DVD. All the actors were excellent, even if not well known.

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2005

What a wonderful movie!! It is so amazing how a story can be conveyed without overblown Hollywood type of storytelling. The slow and quiet unravelling of events helped us to gain such a strong understanding of the characters. It is amazing how far a parent will go to protect their child. Emily Mortimer and Jack McElone were great as Mum and son. Gerry Butler was great as the stranger that did not want to become involved, but did anyway. What great performances by all actors. Thanks!

User review rating: 0 April 03, 2005

This movie needs to be given a full blown release ASAP!!! I have seen it twice now, and cannot wait to take other friends to see it. The writing was superb, the casting was perfect - and each actor had me completely drawn in from each of their first appearances on screen. ! Emily Mortimer (Lizzie) made me feel her anguish and fear for being on the run, Gerard Butler (The Stranger) portrayed this role with such strength and tenderness, that words escape me on how this strong performance moved me , Jack McElhone (Frankie) had me understanding all of his thoughts and emotions without speaking a word , Mary Riggans (grandma Nell) brought incredi

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2005

I live in Baltimore and drove 30 miles to Washington,D.C. to see Dear Frankie. I`m thinking about doing it again! What a terrific film. None of the ridiculous Hollywood bull crap. Just a nice story played out by a group of terrific actors. I went primarily to check out Gerard Bulter, but the story and rest of the cast were also a shear delight. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good story. By the way Gerry was terrific playing a different part than he has over the last few year. swin

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2005

This is one of the best movies I have seen. It is so different from the normal Hollywood movies which have become very predictable, finally someone had the guts to do something "new". This is brilliant, I am sure it will be one of the best movies of the year.

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2005

really good, great in fact, time well spent

User review rating: 0 March 29, 2005

This movie touched my heart in such a way that I had to see it twice. The actors were convincing in the interpretation of their characters. I could feel of all Lizzie`s dilemma and pain as well I could feel falling a little bit in love with the stranger. Jack McElhone tricked me into believing he was deaf. Mary Riggans was at some times funny and yet so prosaic as the grand-mother. I actually went to see this film because I am a huge fan of Gerard Butler and he did not deceive me here in this film. When his voice took over the reading of the letter Frankie`s da is supposed to have written him, I was hypnotised (as I had been during "Pha

User review rating: 0 March 25, 2005

I was lucky enough to see this movie in New York and I`ve been waiting for it to open here so that I can take my mother, my family, my friends. This is a perfect little movie. It`s a delectable treat - not too sweet, not too heavy with a little romance thrown in. The cinematography, the performances and the writing are all beautiful. The Scotish landscape is filmed with love for its muddied, rock-strewn shore and grassy cliffs. Gerard Butler, Jack McElhone and Emily Mortimer play their parts with grace, subtlety and vulnerability. The script is quiet and truthful but packs powerful emotional punches. I hope that it comes to your town so

Change Location