Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.28 / 5

User rating: 4.28

Based on 58 votes and 24 reviews

  • User rating: 4.28 62.07%
  • User rating: 4.28 13.79%
  • User rating: 4.28 17.24%
  • User rating: 4.28 3.45%
  • User rating: 4.28 3.45%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 24 of 24

User review rating: 3 January 01, 2015

It's okay. Honestly I turned it off about three quarters of the way through. I figured I had given it enough of my time. Special effects were great but not nearly as good as the first one.

User review rating: 4 December 13, 2014

Not quite as good as some of the earlier Planet of the Apes movies, but I'd give it a 4.4 out of 5. Highly recommend, yet it's just not quite a legendary 5 out of 5.

User review rating: 5 August 28, 2014

wow one of the top movies of the decade

User review rating: 5 August 07, 2014

Excellent Film. Watch Rise of the Planet of the Apes first. These two films make up for Mark Wahlburg remake back in 01.

User review rating: 1 August 03, 2014

What a bunch of dreck! It made no sense whatsoever. The people in San Francisco would have got those guns years ago. And the apes could see lights in San Francisco. They would see fires. And know the humans were there. And then moved away. Sigh.

User review rating: 4 July 31, 2014

Well worth seeing,all about survival and betrayal.

User review rating: 5 July 30, 2014

very good movie! worth the watch.

User review rating: 3 July 27, 2014

Too long....... very very disconnected scenes/ story lines. glad when it was finally over.

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2014

a must see movie!

User review rating: 0 July 23, 2014

This movie is awesome. The story line for once is excellent as is the cinematography. This is a must see film. 5 star.

User review rating: 0 July 23, 2014

The story line was great, the cinematography was awesome all in all one of the best movies iv'e seen in a long time. 5 thumbs up

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2014

4 1/2 stars. This is a must see movie. Something for everyone. I'm going to see this again in 3D, just to see if there is any room for improvement. Would have loved to see it at the Imax.

User review rating: 2 July 20, 2014

Without a doubt, the special effects are fantastic. The rest of the movie is way below standard, when compared to the first one. Too much character development and setting up for the next movie... Some really boring parts !!

User review rating: 5 July 20, 2014

Great balance of action with an actual storyline. The CG was spectacular on the apes. I really enjoyed the film.

User review rating: 0 July 19, 2014

Awesome! I'd put this right alongside Battle For the Planet of the Apes!

User review rating: 5 July 18, 2014

This is a terrific movie and continues the story beautifully! The ape CG is flawless. I have been a fan since seeing the original back in '68. It is amazing what they can do these days with special effects and the 3D was awesome. FYI...the 3rd movie - "Escape" ('73?) - occurs well after "Rise" and "Dawn" with respect to the timeline. These movies lead up to the events that occur in the original and the remake with Mark Wahlberg in 2001.

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2014

There already was a third movie, it was called ESCAPE FROM THE PLANET OF THE APES.

User review rating: 3 July 16, 2014

Thought it was kind of ho-hum. Glad we didn't waste extra on 3D, as the movie's scenes didn't warrant it. It was a pretty simple storyline, and the human actors didn't stand out and I just didn't think the film was as successful with apes as the main characters.

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2014

Great movie. Want to see a third already

User review rating: 0 July 12, 2014


User review rating: 5 July 12, 2014

Found this to be a great movie. Interesting to see just how society keeps breaking down terribly after an apocalypse like that. Would hope that in reality we would fare better

User review rating: 5 July 10, 2014

awesome movie! great depth of character for the apes. Interesting theme of the apes loosing their connection to nature and balance to be more human-like through infectious betrayal, hate and greed that lead to war. CG nature of the characters were flawlessly unnoticeable

User review rating: 5 July 05, 2014

I've been a fan of the originals so I'm really curious to see what this movie's take on the story will be. Hopefully it ties into the originals.

User review rating: 5 May 26, 2014

I cannot wait to see this movie!!! Love the first episode though

Change Location