Darkness

Thank you for rating this movie!

Darkness Movie Poster

3.87 / 5

User rating: 3.87

Based on 7714 votes and 82 reviews


  • User rating: 3.87 70.39%
  • User rating: 3.87 0.78%
  • User rating: 3.87 0.86%
  • User rating: 3.87 1.25%
  • User rating: 3.87 26.73%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 82

User review rating: 0 August 17, 2006

it was alright, the previews made it look scarier

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2006

It was a great movie. Very spooky and frightening. The only problem was that Anna P. spoke very quietly and you couln`t hear her very well over the movie`s soundtrack. The grandfather`s accent made it difficult to understand what he said as well.

User review rating: 0 May 06, 2006

This movie had potential but it was ultimately ruined by bad editing. However, it`s a good rental for an uneventful Friday evening.

User review rating: 0 April 15, 2006

This movie was just an excuse to see Anna Paquin in a vacini

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2006

Great DVD on a dark winter night for those who truely understand how the spirit world works. It is a true clear depiction of the underworld as it is now and forever. So, look deep in your souls to feel the greatness of this stupid piece of film.

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2006

This movie had so much potential but it is ruined by poor American editing. It was good to see Anna Paquin in a bacini and in the bathtub however.

User review rating: 0 September 09, 2005

This haunted house flick is suspenseful, psycological and has a few jumps here and there. It has famous Spanish actors like Ian Glen who plays the father, Lena Olin who plays the mother and Giovanni Cardellini as the grandfather. Lena Olin plays a scientist who works for Giovanni Cardellini and that is how she met Ian Glen. Giovanni is currently working in Spain and Lena decides to move to Spain so that the family can be together and she can work on the Spain project. But Ian starts to have strange seizures, Lena discovers a picture of three hagish women, Anna Paquin keeps on seeing a shadowy figure walking at night and the little boy draws p

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2005

This is the Spanish Director`s film debut and it is a great haunted house horror flick.

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2005

The international version is the best horror movie I`ve ever seen. I`ve heard the american version is less than wonderful, so if that is what you`ve seen, you`ve missed something good.

User review rating: 0 May 23, 2005

I`m sorry this was the WORST movie I have seen...Wasted 10 bucks when I could have spent it on something worth while.

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2005

I`ve seen that movie as a sneak preview, so I didn`t know what to expect. It is right, Darkness is NOT a classical horror movie. If you are looking for that, don`t go see it. It`s much more of a thriller, and for that case, a good one. It doesn`t contain any slaughter although it doesn`t lack suspense. When you accept the assumptions made, the plot makes sense unlike in most horrormovies. It leads to an probably unforeseen end, which makes up the real thrill of this movie, as I think. It`s not part of the standard hollywood bs, although the initial idea is pretty much worn out.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2005

I give this great movie 4 stars for not exaggerating. The film is quite marvellous. A horror movie deserve respect for the idea, achieving, playing and dimensions. The main point is that it didn`t contain any silly monster animals or disgusting shots. I like very much the high quality of Horror movie which deal with spirits and minds.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2005

VERY KREEPY!! YOU MUST RENT THIS!

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2005

I thought Darkness was a really awesome movie although the ending had me kind of confused. Who knows? Maybe Darkness 2 in the future?

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2005

Made no sense. At the preview screening I went to everyone heckled. One person even yelled out `does anyone understand what`s going on?` All in all an entertaining experience if you enjoy truly horrible movies.

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2005

Some parts were creepy but overall it was a waste of time. I wouldn`t even recommend it as a rental!

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2005

was there a meaning to this movie? what a bad movie...boring, slow, and bad acting

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2005

it want all that good

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2005

This is the only movie i´ve been real afraid of!

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2005

Thsi movie was a waste of my $9 and $15 in popcorn and drinks....I could shot myself cuz I went to see this movie.....

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2005

it was a pretty good film. I think those who didnt like it, didnt quite understand it. the only thing is that it finished in a "ready for part 2" way. No real ending for the first part...

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2005

The Worst Movie I`ve ever seen in years....two thumbs up for being that BAD!!

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2005

it wuz an okay movie. it wasn`t horrible, it wasn`t as scary as they made it out to be though.

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2005

BOOOOOOOOO...No ending... It made absolutely no sense!

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2005

THE WORST MOVIE I"VE EVER SEEN apart fron the village. Please wait 4 this to come on DVD ... pathetic it is!!!! The dialogue!!!! man do not go see this...!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2005

This may just be the worst movie I ever saw in my life. The directors must be very happy that most of us fell asleep and woke up after half the movie was over and we couldn`t get our money back. I don`t even feel right joking that this movie was worth seeing.

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2005

Being a horror film fan I approached this film with high hopes. This film is shocking alright. Shockingly boring. No worth your $10.

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2005

Mad movie , recommend everyone to watch it . Thriller and suspend all in one . Story line was tops . YOU GOTTA LOVE THE ENDING. Real twister this movie is. LOL. Kiding , Im being sarcastic. Hey movie maker ! You should look up in the sky at night because your only get to see 1 star :) . Shocking i tells yah. Paint do look scarier when it drys :P

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2005

This is a BlockBuster Rental... dont waste your money on this one. It was a pretty lame story, and the ending is even worse.

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2005

worst movie Ever!!!!!!! What where they thinking What a wast of $$$$$ 0000 stars watching paint dry is more scarry

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2005

worst movie I`ve seen in quite a while. Director builds suspence by giving the audiance a headache with wild shakes of the camera during danger, blured focus, near-subliminal flashes of violence, silhouettes of strangers in dark rooms, forms of people quickly walking in front of the camera, and characters who are scared of the dark not "bright" enough to turn on a lightswitch. And the "ending" wasn`t one. Imagine "Star Wars: Empire Strikes Back" ending right when Luke gets his hand cut off and falls down the giant air shaft, and suddenly the final credits roll. You`d think: "Huh?"

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

The worst movie in this century and the next one

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

this makes THE GRUDGE`s ending look good!!!

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

this was the best horroe movie i`v ever seen

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

I will have to agree with the others with this movie, interesting concept to start with and then really went no where. The twists and turns just didn`t make any sense and the ending don`t even get me started on that. It was like they ran out of money and this is what they came up with. Wait for the video if you have to see it at all. CR

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

Really Disappointing Ending...Don`t Waste your time going watch it

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

IT WAS HORRIBLE! DO NOT GO SEE THIS MOVIE! IT MADE NO SENSE AND WAS STUPID! IT WAS A WASTE OF MONEY AND TIME!

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

Darkness is the scariest movie since the grudge i screamed almost everytime somethig happened...NOT! It was absolutely horrible if you wanna see something scary rent The grudge when it comes out on february 1st. I haven`t laughed at something so pointless in my life.it took ideas from a whole bunch of scary ,movies and crammed them into 1. Absolutely Dreadful. 1 star.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

i dint think this movie was gana be so bad, so i still when! and i regret it!! the story is ok, but the way they did it just dint work out so well. i dont reconmend anyone to go see it in the movies. the end is realy!!! and i mean realy disapointing.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

Don`t even rent it

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2005

Who did you bribe to vote this movie 5 stars? Seriously.. this was 1 hour and 40 minutes of my life I will never get back. Total waste of time and money..

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2005

I can`t beleive this movie is sitting at 4.1 stars. It had a great idea to start off, however, the ending killed it. I DO NOT reccommend seeing this movie in theatres. IT is definitely a renter...perhaps even waiting until it comes as a TV movie would be a good idea...

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2005

This movie got 4.2 Stars rating?? Are you serious? Go see this movie only if you have too much time kill and money to waist. worst movie Ive ever seen.

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2005

I thought this was the hokiest, boring horror movie I have seen in a very long time. It was slow moving and just plain horrible. I would not recommend spending money to see it at the theatre or to rent it.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2005

Grossly dissapointing movie. You`re left with unanswered questions, and a sense of being cheated out of your money.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

Terrible movie...the previews were awesome...the movie was good in the beginning. good storyline. keeping viewers guessing. a little scary. and then it dragged on. until it made no sense. the took off on two plot ideas and they never finished either one of them. it went on. and on. and then had the dumbest ending. everybody in the theatre was like, "What, it`s over?". It left you wondering but not in a good way. The storyline was never finished so it left me completely confused....Don`t waste your money or time!

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

I`m in love with the children in this movie they were so cute...It`s definitely a movie to see with the fam! :) food was expensive bring your own.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

wow this movie was terrible!!!

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

This was a really awful movie. The actors and the production quality should have made it better, but it was really awful. Maybe worthy of the cheapest rental at the video store.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

I thought this was the worst movie I`ve ever seen! Where`s the ending? Driving into a dark tunnel with a monster is not an ending!

Change Location