Cloud Atlas

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.58 / 5

User rating: 3.58

Based on 196 votes and 76 reviews


  • User rating: 3.58 52.58%
  • User rating: 3.58 10.31%
  • User rating: 3.58 4.12%
  • User rating: 3.58 8.25%
  • User rating: 3.58 24.74%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 76

User review rating: 1 September 13, 2013

thank god i saw this on rogers on demand, though by the trailer it was going to be one of the best movies of the year it just wind up being the best cup coaster of all time, watching minute by minute i felt less interested in it, and left me feeling empty inside and that to bad

User review rating: 5 September 12, 2013

Excellent drama !

User review rating: 5 July 04, 2013

I've waited SO long for a movie with an actual storyline. SO tired of the prequels/remakes/sequel and comic book turned movie stories. From the start you are thrown into a storyline, then it jumps into another one and yet another one. It has 6 interconnected storylines, that require your full attention. It kept me glued to the TV and was just a great movie!!

User review rating: 5 July 03, 2013

Honestly one of the best films I've seen in such a long time. Amazing acting and such a thick plot too keep you engrossed with many twists and entertainment along the way.

User review rating: 5 June 10, 2013

I'd have to say that if you didn't like this movie, you're the type of person where A+B=C and that's the way it'll always be. You're a linear, in the box, thinker. You wont like or get a movie like this and that's ok. There are plenty of prequels and sequels and remakes that you probably think are the greatest films ever..Cloud Atlas, is a great movie!

User review rating: 5 June 10, 2013

Non linear. Totally unpredictable and absolutely thought provoking. One of my favorites!!

User review rating: 5 May 29, 2013

Phenomenal movie. If there are parts you didn't really understand, watch it the second time and you'll be thinking "Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I get it now!" haha I love long movies that can keep the viewer interested the entire screening. Fantastic movie, fantastic acting, really unique make-up and a great great storyline. Do yourself a favour and watch this one. Enjoy!

User review rating: 0 May 26, 2013

Cloud Atlas This movie tells the idea that we are all born, and then reincarnated over and over ,with a group of the same people that weave their way threw out each of our life times. Each persons "Soul" remains the same but they can be different genders, races, friends or enemies to the group through out the ages. Each may look a little like their previous selfs, or totally different. The birthmark of a " Comet", on One individual help us track that  "Souls" life and the group that reincarnates with that Soul threw out the ages. The stories are the lessons learned and carried from  each individuals  reincarnated life to the next life, and helps us become, if we are lucky the force of g

User review rating: 1 May 20, 2013

I say to just watch the trailer for this movie instead. The trailer is easy to watch & easy to understand. I have this movie for rental in my video store & it's safe to say that i bought too many copies. Majority of customers were not not impressed with this movie.

User review rating: 2 May 16, 2013

I had great hopes for this movie, I thought it would be a movie of re-incarnation and the lives would eventually touch each other but no just a big disappointment, I was glad when it was over, I kept looking at the time, not satisfying at all.

User review rating: 4 May 04, 2013

Very good movie. Not so good ending. Overall very watchable.

User review rating: 1 December 28, 2012

Horrible makeup, bad story telling, amateur acting, lots of cliche, lack of coherence... In short, this movie is a total waste of time and money.

User review rating: 5 December 01, 2012

a very good movie, a little long, but very well done

User review rating: 5 November 29, 2012

A good un. Really well crafted. A lot of films claim to be a rollar coaster ride. For me this one was, in a good way.

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2012

a very good movie, the film is lon g, but the stroy so interesting, you don't notice the time. The makeup for the actors is amazing, ell worth seeing.

User review rating: 5 November 24, 2012

Cloud Atlas' reviews are a classic example of 6 people having witnessed the same event but each having seen 6 different things. The film is a hidden gem; it explores 6, intertwined stories, each through a different story-telling style. The directing is excellent and the cinematography is superb – the complexity of the story may prove overwhelming for some, but the Wachowskis convey it top form; ensure to pay full attention from the very start. I highly recommend this film and look forward to owning it on BluRay the moment it is released.

User review rating: 5 November 22, 2012

The closing credits were indeed awesome!

User review rating: 1 November 21, 2012

NEVER SO GLAD TO SEE CLOSING CREDITS IN MY LIFE

User review rating: 1 November 21, 2012

That's 3 hours of my life that I will never get back. This movie sucked. Way to many story lines and hard to understand all the different accents in the movie.

User review rating: 1 November 18, 2012

I got out of the theater thinking (what in the world that i just watch!!!) it was so strange and for those who think that's the best movie they ever seeing...well i wont say more...deception...but it probably will go to the Oscars they like weird stuff.

User review rating: 5 November 17, 2012

When I first heard that the book was to be made into a movie, I couldn't imagine how it would be done. The book was a powerful read, brilliantly concieved and stunningly written. The movie could only pale in comparison. It didn't. Gripping. All the way through. Each storyline. Amazing viewing.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2012

One of the best, if not the best, movie I have ever seen. Great sets makeup and acting so I there'll be an Oscar or two at least. Don't go if you want simplistic drivel. Go if you want to be awed and have a thought provoking experience. I will think about this movie for a long time..

User review rating: 3 November 14, 2012

Well.....a decent flick. It was good but I Can't deny what some people have said, calling it a 'three hour long commercial'. It sorta does feel like that. It tries to tug at your heartstrings, but I don't think movies have been doing a good job of that recently, to be quite honest. I'm glad I saw it, especially in theatres. Good stuff Wachowskis, but you better up your game next time! The Matrix Trilogy is the greatest damn thing of all time! P.S. The cast was quite good, but Hanks was really good, especially as the character he played in the 'modern' day who SPOILERS kills the man by throwing him off the roof. That one scene was Hanks' best performance ever!

User review rating: 1 November 13, 2012

Another crap movie like Tree of Life! What a waste of star talent.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2012

anyone who did not like this movie is just dim witted.great movie!

User review rating: 4 November 11, 2012

After reading the reviews, wife and I still decided to go see this movie and most of the bad reviews are way off base, this was a great movie

User review rating: 5 November 10, 2012

I don't know what all the bad reviews are about, this film was not only gorgeous, but beautifully written and acted as well. If you have intellect above the level of a 6 year old, you will enjoy this movie. My husband and I both found the storylines easy to follow and interesting, and contrary to what one person below wrote, not a single person left the theater early. If you like intelligent movies, you will not want to miss this gem!

User review rating: 1 November 09, 2012

I Agree with this: "thus perpetuate, slavery, servitude, barbarity, even in dystopian future a la 'Soylent Green/Matrix'. net effect: 3-stars. too many stories; a youtubian mish-mash watched parallel, and too long (weary from monotony of repetitive storyline hopping"...toooo Much storyline here and there!

User review rating: 2 November 09, 2012

"Stunning movie....yep....stunningly bad!!" This is the best depiction of this movie. So it was Three Hour long. What a waste of my Life. WOW! Two stars for the work you put into it and the the past/present scenario.

User review rating: 2 November 09, 2012

"I understand why half the people left the theatre before the end and why a half of the remaining folks didn't like it at all". Need I say more. RARELY do I want to sleep toward the end of the movie, but I almost fell asleep. Way too violent. Not enough Substance to it! I understood you wanted to show people in the past that are about the same in the future. BUT there was no GOOD Story to it Except for that; hardly anything at all!! I usually have high expectations when I see a movie, but this did this did Not even meet the least, of my expections! I was going to give you a one star, but I think with all the work you put into it, and the timeline; it was worth two stars.

User review rating: 5 November 07, 2012

Perhaps a little too long, but then again they had 6 stories going all the time. Amazing acting/characters! Movie itself was quite thought provoking!!

User review rating: 0 November 07, 2012

Ok, if you had issues understanding the movie, don't even bother with the book. It is above your reading level :) I find it interesting how people will either find it to be the best or worst movie they have ever seen, never in between.

User review rating: 1 November 06, 2012

Too forced and the gender bending agenda is obviously being pushed in your face. I went looking for entertainment not indoctrination.

User review rating: 5 November 06, 2012

Bloody amazing.Visually,erotically,emotionally. Talk about your true 3D. Yes I can see it as an all time favoutite!

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2012

Wow, best movie of the year, in all categories: Story, actors/actresses, make-up.. Did not expect to watch such a good movie. I would watch again, definitely.

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2012

now one of my favourite movies of all-time!

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2012

I understand why half the people left the theatre before the end and why a half of the remaining folks didn't like it at all. This film requires a certain level of maturity coming in before you can truly appreciate the meaning behind the story. Furthermore, most folks want to have a easy-going non-thought provoking viewing. Cloud atlas was one of the most beautiful films I've seen in a long time. Touching. In my opinion, the main message (among many) is that you have a choice - to make a difference in this world. Take it at your peril, but you can change the course of history for the good. We have many such hero's even today, fighting for human rights (etc.) and putting themselves in danger.

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2012

A brilliant cinematic experience unlike anything i've ever seen, drawing a profound spiritual experience unlike one i've felt through film for a long time. It brought new meaning to its powerful novel foundation. Well done Wachowskis and team for such an incredible triumph in bringing to life what many thought would be impossible! Once again redefining what film/story can do. Even if the philosophies presented don't resonate, highly recommend the experience just for the sheer magnitude and cast versatility.

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2012

i see an oscar in tom hanks future, amazing, just amazing, runt o this one!!!

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2012

Great Movie!

User review rating: 1 November 03, 2012

There's 3 hours I'll never get back.

User review rating: 1 November 02, 2012

Can't believe I wasted 3 hours of my night to watch this movie!!!!

User review rating: 1 November 02, 2012

Stunning movie....yep....stunningly bad!!

User review rating: 1 November 02, 2012

This movie was horrible. Really boring and stupid. Zero stars don't waste your time and money. I can't believe that someone said they went twice to this movie why? Why? Why? Don't bother with this movie you will leave confused and robbed of almost three hrs of your life

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2012

Bad, bad, bad !

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2012

Stunning.

User review rating: 3 October 31, 2012

I initially 1-starred it for its 'yellow-face' (ugly mongoloidization of white characters). For visuals it was breathtaking 5-star worthy. BUT the story's premise of recurring 'familiar' lives crossing paths (reincarnation) can only give people a false devaluation of one's 'current life' as well as the lives of 'all others', thus perpetuate, slavery, servitude, barbarity, even in dystopian future a la 'Soylent Green/Matrix'. net effect: 3-stars. too many stories; a youtubian mish-mash watched parallel, and too long (weary from monotony of repetitive storyline hopping)

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2012

How could someone give this a poor review? this was one of the best movies I've ever seen... the rich intermingling of the stories, great acting, intriguing story line... must see movie.

User review rating: 1 October 30, 2012

Blah........

User review rating: 1 October 30, 2012

Too bad there is not a negative rating for this confusing dribble. Best part was the credits: to see all the different faces worn by the actors......for that, I give this one star.

Change Location