Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Thank you for rating this movie!

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Movie Poster

3.14 / 5

User rating: 3.14

Based on 40804 votes and 259 reviews


  • User rating: 3.14 52.69%
  • User rating: 3.14 0.66%
  • User rating: 3.14 0.52%
  • User rating: 3.14 0.59%
  • User rating: 3.14 45.54%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 259

User review rating: 1 May 26, 2016

This version was very weird.

User review rating: 5 June 01, 2014

A lot more faithful to the book and as sweet as a chocolate treat! Roald Dahl would have been proud of this film!

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2010

Really enjoyed this movie, interesting to compare it to the 70's version, both are great in their own right. Entertaining for both kids and adults.

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2009

an amazing movie.i think that it should get a five star.it is the funniest movie that i have ever seen.even though the rating is a three star dont make that change your mind about watching it because it is a great movie.so go ahead and see the movie.

User review rating: 0 June 14, 2008

BEST MOVIE EVER!!!

User review rating: 0 December 17, 2007

Johnny depp look so freaky in this movie I hate this movie worst johnny depp movie ever.

User review rating: 0 July 07, 2007

CREEPY!

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2007

this movie was amazazazing

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2006

I was very hesitant about watching this remake, but Tim Burton and Johnny Depp really kept this one interesting. I liked the colourful sets and the music. Plus no one can deny that Johnny Depp was funny.

User review rating: 0 September 27, 2006

Loved the movie. Only complaint is I wish Burton would get someone else to do the music on his movies. Danny Elfman is great but all the music is starting to sound the same. The music from this movie sounded too much like Edward Scissorhands. Loved the waterfall room.

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2006

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is a real feel good movie. If you are feeling down you won`t be after watching. Johnny Depp is the best. "you`re really weird" Don`t watch it to many times or you WILL start quoting the movie AND singing the songs.

User review rating: 0 September 01, 2006

This one was much better then the orignal! Frist of all, the orignal movie "Willy Wonka and the Choclate Factory" was a long peace of crap avertisement for a bad tasting cholate bar called "Wonka Bar". However, this new remake "Charile and the Choclate Factory" was made just for the enjoyment of the addincde. Sconed, the orignal was cruel to children, this remake was NOT. Look at these 2 storys and descide witch movie you would rather show your kids: CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY Acclaimed director Tim Burton brings his vividly imaginative style to the beloved Roald Dahl classic Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, about eccentric c

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2006

This movie was awful. They should not have created a remake of a classic and it makes me really angry when they do stuff like that. Although Johnny Depp played the part well, he was no Gene Wilder. 1.5 stars

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2006

Johnny Depp is a great actor but I wasn`t in the movie. I thought the effects were great but I was kinda bored.

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2006

johnny was funny looking and the ompa lompas were creepy

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2006

I think this movie was totally COOL!! This movie ROX. I love it.

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2006

Johnny Depp is sexy. And that`s the end of that. He did a fantastic job in the movie =D I loved it. I have the TV room goggles! Yayyy!

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2006

This Movie was great! How could you hate it, the story was a little different but in a good way! AND O MY JOHNNY DEPP DID A FABULOUS JOB! He got into this character so well and changed his whole look and voice!!!!! He did great and so the rest of the cast.

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2005

If you try to compare this new movie with the old one, you will fail. They are totally different, and they have obviously decided different parts of the book importent. Frankly the old movies oumpa-loumpas were more like Id imagened them, even if I appreciated the shows... but seriously, who can resist a movie with johnny depp in it? :P

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2005

THIS MOVIE WAS ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. IF YOU ARE READING THESE OPINIONS TO SEE IF U SHOULD WATCH THE MOVIE OR NOT HERE IS YOUR ANSWER...DONT WATCH IT!!!!!IT IS NOT FUNNY AT ALL!I`D GIVE IT HALF OF A POINT OF A STAR!

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2005

charlie and the chocolate facotry wuz bestest movie ever i getting it for x-mas

User review rating: 0 December 12, 2005

i think it was excellent and exciting! it was better then the old one. it was quite funny too!!!

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2005

I used to not like Johnny Depp but in this movie he was the best. I have to amit that the man who did the oompa loompas was very creepy. This is so much better than the original. I got the 2 disk deluxe edition, Ive watched it every day since! Gotta go Im going to go watch it for my 1 millionth time!never do get tired of it. I give it 1000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000!! Everyone needs to see this movie no mater what!

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2005

charlie and the chocolate factory was entertaining and bazaar. I thought it was a good movie to watch and i would give it 100/100

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2005

Very disapointed. Original film is way better. It was very odd.. and wierd to say the least. I`m disapointed I wasted 3 dollars on it at Blockbuster. Don`t make the same mistake I did. 1 star, sorry Johnny Depp!

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2005

i love charlie

User review rating: 0 November 26, 2005

the movie was pretty good. Johnny Depp was funny, but he looked pretty funny, but I guess they hadda make him look like that ta fit the character. I think they COUL`VE made him look not as weird. But i love Johnny Depp.. soo.. it was good

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2005

I haven`t even seen the movie but it looks ok. I don`t even know if i am going to see it because it looks kinda dumb. That is all i have to say.

User review rating: 0 November 16, 2005

i love chralie and the choclate factorie the uumpa loompas they are soooooo funny!!!! willy wonka is the ultimate movie like i am in love with augustus gloop i even memorized the oompa loompa dances they are unbeilievable !!!! willy wonka is the best movie i have ever seen!

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2005

I love Johnny Depp and probably one of the reasons why I watched it. He played a great part as Willy Wonka and the other children were good, too. I wouldn`t say it was the funniest movie this summer but it was really good and funny!!! Defintely worth a 4/5!!!

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2005

It looked really stupid in advertisements but was atually pretty funny. Unexpectedly too. I liked it, but then again, im a weird person, and it might be a bit strange to other people.

User review rating: 0 November 12, 2005

JOHNNY DEPP IS THE HOTTEST MAN ALIVE EVEN AS WILLY WONKA

User review rating: 0 November 11, 2005

it`s just AMAZING!! I love it! Willy Wonka is my favourite character, he`s the best!

User review rating: 0 November 04, 2005

Everything was cool, except the umpa loompas...that was just too wierd.

User review rating: 0 November 03, 2005

it was the best movie of te year. Johnny Depp did an awsome job with the exantricity of Willy Wonka. And the little twist at the end of the movie is fabulous, it was not expected like in the first adaptation of the book: Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Even if the Oompa Loompas don`t sing the original song, they still do sing and the mordernization of the golden ticket winners is amazing. I suggest to all this fabulous movie, it`s not just for children.

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2005

Certainly this movie truer to the spirit of the book than "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory", which was essentially a long commercial funded by Quaker to sell chocolate bars. Loved the factory welcome scene with the puppets - hysterical!

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2005

For the most part is was a great movie. Tim Burton did a great job making it as usual but the the part about Willy Wonka`s Dad was random and stupid. I don`t even think that was originally in the book.

User review rating: 0 October 07, 2005

Terrible movie... what was johnny depp thinking ??? I hear he based the character off Marilyn Manson... It shows... don`t waste your money

User review rating: 0 October 04, 2005

one word.......YEAH!!!!

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2005

I loved Charlie and the Chocolate Factory as much as I loved the book!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2005

HORIBLE!!!! The oompaloompa`s, oh wait should I say the oompaloompa, gave a terable performance! It was the worst movie I have seen all year. Jonny Depp was creepy and I am a big fan. A TOTAL WAST OF TIME AND MONEY!!

User review rating: 0 September 30, 2005

This is by far one of the best movies out this year. Johnny Depp proved to be one of the closest works to the character of Willy Wonka from the books - that creepy edge that Gene Wilder missed in the original. Don`t get me wrong, Wilder was creepy, but didn`t quite get the dysfunction that the character needed. The only thing that could have used work is Charlie`s character... who was much mroe bloand than was in the original. I also like the orginal Ford Prefect from the BBC HHGTTG series cast as Charlie`s father. Very entertaining, but not really for children under the age of 9 or 10. Still, a 5 star in my book.

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2005

Charlie and the chocolate factory was the best movie in the universe!! Johnny Depp tottaly stole the show . Willy Wonka was so hiarious!! Ive already seen it 3 times and as soon as it comes out on dvd (nov 8) I tottaly buying it. the deluxe edition lookes like it has some awesome features too. so my advice, IF U HAVENT SEEN CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY JUMP IN THE CAR RIGHT NOW AND SEE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2005

brilliant movie ive already seen it twice i thought it was awesome although the first one was better this one isnt that far behind

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2005

Very awesome movie. Johnny Depp was brilliant as usual. A definite must see.

User review rating: 0 September 17, 2005

bad bad bad . would of left if i didn,t have my kid with me .

User review rating: 0 September 11, 2005

Cool movie. The funniest character is Willy Wonka `cause the stuff he says is extreme funny.

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2005

i loved it

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2005

Funniest Movie ever. Johnny Depp play such a good role you couldnt possiably get someone better. This is the best movie ever I have seen it 2 and going for a 3 I just love it. I say go and see it it will make you laugh I am sure of it IT IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER total 5 movie! :D

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2005

it was horrible

Change Location