Captain Phillips

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.66 / 5

User rating: 4.66

Based on 664 votes and 217 reviews


  • User rating: 4.66 74.28%
  • User rating: 4.66 20.58%
  • User rating: 4.66 3.22%
  • User rating: 4.66 0.96%
  • User rating: 4.66 0.96%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 217

User review rating: 4 June 02, 2014

excellent movie - Hanks is THE MAN

User review rating: 4 March 31, 2014

Hanks and Abdi are great in this thrill-a minute movie.

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2014

This is one of the best and most believable movies I have seen in a long time. Based on a true story, this movie does a superb job of capturing not only the emotions felt by survivors of the ship but, also the realism of a terrifying and desparate event.

User review rating: 4 February 19, 2014

Very well done movie with excellent performances and outstanding direction!!

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2014

great awesome movie from beginning to end. highly recommended. this is my very first review here at tribute because this movie is very very good. damn all the pirates!

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2014

AWARD WINNING cast. Heart pounding throughout. Hanks will have a hard time beating this performance. MAGNIFICENT!!

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2013

Great movie, great cast! Loved it! I loved it because it hit close to home! My brother was kidnapped by pirates in 2011! I felt an adrenaline rush for the entire movie!

User review rating: 3 December 18, 2013

worth your time

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2013

Edge of your seat, Tom Hanks was fantastic. No hesitation to say go see this!!

User review rating: 1 December 03, 2013

Tom Hanks, soooo overrated, clearly best days over, like his weight, getting Fat, also clear, do not go this movie is the .... Guess everyone knows what happened already!!! Lol shut the pirates! Obama's orders ....Sad B.O.

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2013

Awesome movie, well worth your money!

User review rating: 5 November 24, 2013

Great movie...love it

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

This should definately be the movie of the year.Tom Hanks and the supporting cast did an unbelieveable job in making an extremely a movie that says so many things to the public. About the poor conditions that people in our world today have to live under and the things that they feel they must do to stay alive.This movie said it all. Wonderful job. A movie that should be seen two or three times to understand what is happening in our world.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

Tom Hanks did a great job at protraying Captain Philips and the supporting cast did not let him down. It felt like it was just happening now and you were involved. At times it made you sad on how some people in our world today are forced to live and what they feel they have to do to continue to live. a Great movie and one to learn from.

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2013

This was a great movie kept me captivated from beginning to end.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

Excellent acting and story line. Ran you through a range of emotions.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

Just like it really is in that neck of the words got it down to a tee! Great movie

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

This will be one of the years best movies. A true story take Tom Hanks did an excellent job in bringing to us. Super supporting cast and that made it all happen to a point where you thought you were there. A must see movie.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

Great movie! Tom Hanks is a winner!

User review rating: 4 November 17, 2013

Hanks was solid.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2013

A powerful, gripping movie. I was literally on the edge of my seat pretty much throughout the entire film. Tom Hanks was outstanding as Captain Phillips. This is a film that shows us both points of view and really made me think about it, for days after. I loved this movie and will be returning to see it again!

User review rating: 4 November 16, 2013

Good story.

User review rating: 4 November 16, 2013

Watched it again. Enjoyed this movie.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2013

Great movie and Oscar worthy performance from Tom Hanks.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2013

Tom Hanks is amazing in this movie, I would say an Oscar worthy performance! Action and drama will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout this whole movie!!!

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2013

Though much was shot in studio you will believe you are afloat with the Captain and the crew.Hanks gives a captivating captive performance to a captive audience. A must see for all ship lovers.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2013

This has to be one of the years best movies. It was completely and totally entrainting from the beginning to the very end. Tom Hanks did a treffic job but I think the supporting cast brought it all together.

User review rating: 0 November 15, 2013

Tom Hanks is supported quite nicely by the unknown 'actors' who attended open casting calls to win the roles. The film helped answer questions I had when I first heard about the piracy incidents in the news. Very, very well done. Had me engaged throughout even though I knew the outcome. Go see it!

User review rating: 4 November 15, 2013

very good.

User review rating: 4 November 15, 2013

Captain Phillips keeps you on the edge of your seet through all the movie. I even went to see it on wednesday baby day and I was into the story all the way. Tom Hanks does it again as he delivers a performance out of the ordinary, especially at the end of the movie where he makes all emmotions come crashing into you.

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

Great movie! Tom Hanks is such an incredible actor and the supporting actors were good as well. Edge of your seat type of movie!

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

Two words: TOM, HANKS. Amazing performance yet again by Tom Hanks and a truly intriguing, brilliant and frightening story. All actors performed very well. I felt genuine emotion toward each individual character. Absolutely great film.

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

Exciting & moving! Although I only recognise Tom Hanks, other actors are doing well, too. It's a perfect movie that I can hardly find in recent years.

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

FOR ME HIS THE BEST FILM I SAW

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2013

An amazing true story of a mans will to survive

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2013

tom hanks does a good job as usual in this fact based movie.

User review rating: 4 November 14, 2013

I thought this was a great movie. Tom Hanks, as usual, was excellent. I thought it was just a little slower than I expected -- somehow I thought there would be much more action. Still, well produced, well-acted, and good story (even better that it's based on a true story). Certainly worth seeing.

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2013

Tom Hanks is Golden Globe worthy in his role as the beleaguered Captain Phillips!! I was on the edge of my seat for most of the movie. I also enjoyed the efforts by the writer and director to show the economic struggles of the Somalian protagonists. A keen insight into the struggles of transporting product for shipping companies. Phillips was a brave, courageous and great captain! Hanks did an amazing job recreating Phillips ordeal!!

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2013

Tom Hanks did a super job in the main role. The supporting cast made the movie come together. It kept you on the edge of your seat right to the very end. What a greatmovie. One of the best of the year.

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2013

FOR IS THE BEST FILM I SAW

User review rating: 3 November 13, 2013

One of those movies you are expecting more from but it drags on.

User review rating: 4 November 13, 2013

touching

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2013

Great movie with good suspense and good overall story. Tom Hanks was brilliant in his role as Captain Phillips. Barkhad Abdi was great in his first acting role. He took the role of Muse to a whole new level. Good ensemble acting.

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2013

TOM HANKS BEST MOVIE YET,FILLED WITH ACTION AND DRAMA IN AN UNPREDICTABLE PLOT,THAT WILL KEEP YOU GUESSING.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2013

Great movie/cast and story line.A movie to watch more than once.

User review rating: 4 November 11, 2013

Classic! Tom Hanks is utterly believable as the ship's captain. A real tribute to the real Captain Philips. The camera keeps moving and as difficult as it is, you get the real sensory experience of Captatin Philips' claustrophobic days in the rescue vessle.

User review rating: 4 November 11, 2013

This movie surpassed my expectations. After watching the preview I thought it was just another "American Hero" movie. However, it was really well done with a great cast. I especially liked how it showed multiple perspectives of the situation and the different circumstances that the characters faced. I was sitting on the edge of my seat the entire movie in anticipation of what would happen next.

User review rating: 4 November 11, 2013

Mostly believable.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2013

Excellent movie with great acting and lots of dramam to keep you on the edge of your seat. Increible performance by Tom Hanks, work seeing twice.

User review rating: 4 November 11, 2013

A hold onto your seat kind of ride!!

Change Location