Captain America: The First Avenger

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.16 / 5

User rating: 4.16

Based on 814 votes and 206 reviews


  • User rating: 4.16 40.77%
  • User rating: 4.16 41.43%
  • User rating: 4.16 11.95%
  • User rating: 4.16 4.25%
  • User rating: 4.16 1.59%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 206

User review rating: 5 September 14, 2016

This 1990 all-star blockbuster sparked a resurgence in the Captain America legend, returning the comic strip character to social prominence and launching a movie franchise that shows no signs of box-office fatigue. Stylishly directed by Albert Pyun, the film is a triumph of eye-popping visuals and unabashed patriotism, and Matt Sallinger's earnest and dynamic performance remains the definitive screen portrayal of the Marvel Comics icon. Beware full-frame video transfers! 5/5

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2014

Really LIKED this movie! I loved the setting and how it took place during World War ll. Very historical and not interesting if you are a history fan. Captain America is so cool and Steve Rogers seems like such a sweet guy. Gosh and Chris Evans is HANDSOME!

User review rating: 1 January 08, 2012

terrible movie. My friend and i started laughing halfway thru the movie.

User review rating: 2 December 22, 2011

a bit boring and cheesy

User review rating: 2 November 22, 2011

A bit cheesy and over-the-top. Chris Evans was good as Captain America, but I felt the movie was a bit boring.

User review rating: 2 October 30, 2011

Yawn.

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2011

Good movie , shows size does not matter if you have enough determination to suceed.

User review rating: 4 October 27, 2011

prequel to the avengers movie. good but not great.

User review rating: 5 October 25, 2011

Great comic book movie, one of the best id say.

User review rating: 4 October 24, 2011

Lots of action

User review rating: 4 October 24, 2011

This was great, comic book brought to life. Great tongue and cheek dialogue witjout being comic book corny.

User review rating: 3 October 24, 2011

I think Captain America translates from a comic book to the big screen very well.

User review rating: 5 October 24, 2011

good story and true to origin.

User review rating: 4 October 24, 2011

Captain America is a great comic book adaptation made into a fantastic movie with great visual effects and a captivating story. Any fan of the book will be sure to enjoy!

User review rating: 4 October 24, 2011

I really liked this one. Lots of adventure and a few twists and turns. More than I expected. Not thrilled with the ending, however look forward to see what happens next.

User review rating: 3 October 24, 2011

I thought the movie was just ok. I expected it to be better than it was. I expected more action.

User review rating: 4 October 24, 2011

i really enjoy this movie, go see it

User review rating: 4 October 24, 2011

The special effects were very impressive and the plot overall was good.

User review rating: 4 October 24, 2011

Chris Evans was great in this movie. Loved the visual and sound effects--brought my son to see this movie in which a comic book character comes to life; hope there are more movies like this.

User review rating: 3 October 24, 2011

the movie is OK, but I wouldn't say it's spectacular or great action movie

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2011

Awesome movie, good story, good action can't wait for number 2!!!

User review rating: 5 October 23, 2011

A great retelling of the Captain America origin that will make Comic Book purists and Movie first timers both happy. Sets up the whole story and leads very nicely into The Avengers movie!!!

User review rating: 4 October 23, 2011

A great movie. Can't wait to see the movie Avengers!

User review rating: 4 October 23, 2011

Even with computer generated scene. The story itself is what worth to watch. Looking forward for the sequel.

User review rating: 4 October 23, 2011

Great movie

User review rating: 3 October 23, 2011

not great. could have done the captain better

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2011

Lots of fun to watch

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2011

Entertaining movie, looking forward to the Avengers!

User review rating: 3 October 22, 2011

story line didnt flow all that well, fell asleep half way through

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2011

Great action and acting from the cast. Captain America is truly a great character and the actor portrayed him well. One of the better superhero movies.

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2011

An all around good movie. Not as epic as you expect Captain America to be but still decent.

User review rating: 5 October 22, 2011

fantastic movie!

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2011

Well done movie, great actors !

User review rating: 5 October 22, 2011

Splendid, mind-blowing action with taste of bravery that we desire to see in modern era!

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2011

Solid movie throughout, great plot and acting. Well done.

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2011

I anticipated to see this movie and it did not disappoint! It was fantastic! Great storyline, great effects, good characters and well chosen cast! Can't wait for the second one! Go see it!

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2011

GOOD MOVIE

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2011

EXCELLENT MOVIE. I WILL BE OWNING THIS ONE TO WATCH OVER AND OVER AGAIN.

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2011

good movie

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2011

I enjoyed the movie--lots of action

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2011

Great fun and makes me want to see the Avengers even more!

User review rating: 3 October 21, 2011

A good action movie but a little predictable.

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2011

Excellent movie.

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2011

Excellent movie.

User review rating: 3 October 21, 2011

Had so much potential, but kind of a let down. No fault of Chris Evans, he did well, but the other actors not so much.

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2011

Good movie. Cinematography was excellent!

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2011

Better than expected considering Captain America may be the corniest comic book character out there.

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2011

movie was alright. Could have had more action in it.

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2011

Great movie depicts the original comic series quite well.

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2011

Great movie!

Change Location