Thank you for rating this movie!

3.52 / 5

User rating: 3.52

Based on 172 votes and 38 reviews

  • User rating: 3.52 36.90%
  • User rating: 3.52 17.86%
  • User rating: 3.52 21.43%
  • User rating: 3.52 8.33%
  • User rating: 3.52 15.48%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 38 of 38

User review rating: 3 October 18, 2012

highly intense and thrilling movie. Great performances!

User review rating: 4 November 19, 2010

I really enjoyed this movie, if gave a real life aspect to our heros of war.

User review rating: 5 September 24, 2010

Intense! Very serious.... my heart was pounding from beginning to end. Amazing performance by Tobey Maguire... after seeing it, I was surprised there was not more "buzz" about his role. I can think of very few movies that I could rate as highly as this one. See it.

User review rating: 2 August 09, 2010

I was hoping for a drama that really explored relationships on a much deeper level, specifically when a soldier comes back from war. Great cast, but there was just not enough depth to this film. It had lots of potential but the director didn't go where he need to go. Another 20 minutes would have done it. It started to get there at the very end when the Toby Maguire character sits with his wife (Portman) to discuss what he had to do to survive in Afghanistan. Then the movie ended...very disappointing.

User review rating: 4 July 06, 2010

Never have I been more moved and affected by a movie. This movie is so intense and powerful and incredible. I don't understand why Jake, Tobey, and Natalie weren't nominated for Oscars for these roles. They were unbelievable!! Had to close my eyes during all the war scenes though

User review rating: 3 June 03, 2010

Very, very good movie. Enjoyed the performances. Very emotional.

User review rating: 3 April 30, 2010

Very serious, intense movie. A real enjoyment to watch telanted actors do great work, with great material. McGuire's character scared me big time!!

User review rating: 3 April 07, 2010

a very intense movie!!!

User review rating: 3 March 28, 2010

wasn't as good as i expected

User review rating: 3 February 20, 2010

Painful at times because it is just so slow. I love the storyline and when it moves, it REALLY moves quickly and it totally sucks you in. When it's slow though...paaaaaainful! Tobey Maguire, much as I don't tend to care for his movies, plays a very convincing soldier on edge. Natalie Portman is beautiful. May not be worth the full $13 but try it for dollar theatre prices.

User review rating: 4 January 24, 2010

good movie, i don't see how people could hate this movie. 4/5

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2010

Excellent movie. Exciting, emotional and believable. Great acting by entire cast. Highly recommend this one. I loved it.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2010

i really liked it. very powerful

User review rating: 4 December 24, 2009

Good movie.

User review rating: 2 December 24, 2009

Slow, storey is all in the trailer, just watch that

User review rating: 1 December 22, 2009

terrible movie, I waste of money

User review rating: 4 December 21, 2009

Good Movie kinda boring at parts but still good Tobey McGuare was amazing in this film defenenetly the hilight of his carrer... and a wonderful cast too

User review rating: 3 December 20, 2009

The movie is Boring...If you want to see the real highlights of the movie and save your money than just watch the trailor...Slow Pace,slow story, slow everything...

User review rating: 5 December 19, 2009

amazing,must see film!!!

User review rating: 5 December 19, 2009

unbelievable,incredible movie...5 stars...must see...Toby is amazing in this film....very true to life,and well-done!!!

User review rating: 1 December 17, 2009

If this movie wins an oscar award, that would be very sad.

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2009

What a powerful, emotional movie. The acting was awesome...Oscar deserving!! Definitely a must see!!!

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2009

Very emotional and touching.

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2009

Sad story, excellent cast...can foresee oscar nominations for best actors and best supporting roles.

User review rating: 1 December 12, 2009

it was total let down. i expected it to be much better. the ending was absolutely terrible. a waste of money.

User review rating: 4 December 11, 2009

Very powerful Drama. Almost borderline depressing. But still an incredible and well told story. A must see.

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2009

Usually, I am very critical about American movies, but this one was one of the best movies I have seen. Definitely in my top 5. It is an original story, not to cliché, that reflect the sad really of soldiers coming back home from wars… Awesome movie !

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2009

This movie was very powerful and had a very interesting story line. I would definitely recommend it. The acting was phenomenal! Toby should get an Oscar for his performance because he really did transform himself.

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2009

WOW !! What a great movie. A emotional rollercoaster that both sexes will love.The whole cast deserves an oscar for this. Don't listen to any of the negative comments on here, its an incredible movie.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2009

I loved it, totally realistic and full of great dialogue and chemistry between the actors. I just saw E! Channel said “It’s really strong. The casting was brilliant – especially Tobey and Jake as brothers. At first I thought I knew where it was going, and then it took some unexpected turns. I was really impressed.”

User review rating: 3 December 09, 2009

The acting was good, but it is definitely not a love story. I went into the theatre expecting a Pearl Harbour story line. It deals more with PTSD than the relationship.

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2009

Worst acting? u sure u know how acting should be like? I heard Tobey is gonna get an Oscar nominee for this film!

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2009

Brothers was fantastic! I don't know how this movie relates to TV shoes on "mtv or much music and shows like oc or the hills" as someone commented earlier. This movie is about the trial and tribulations a soldier faces in life who has been negatively effected by the war in Afghanistan, as well as focusing on how this has played a role in the lives of his family. No relation to shows on MTV! Brothers was an entertaining movie that got your heart pumping at times while also making you cry at others. I truly enjoyed this movie and I would definitely watch it again!

User review rating: 1 December 08, 2009

this is a REALLY BAD movie. Probably the worst i've seen in a long time. It is fine if your favorite tv shows are on mtv or much music and you enjoy shows like oc or the hills and you are a highschool teen with an incomplete view of life. I would not recomomend this movie, it has the worst storyline and acting.

User review rating: 4 December 07, 2009

i really liked this movie!!!!!

User review rating: 5 December 07, 2009

I thought this was a really good movie. This movie is actually about everyday people living everyday life and how events in life can change people surprisingly for the better or for the worse. And it heart-breakingly shows how humanity can be pushed to the ultimate limit and come so close to breaking down on itself. But this movie ultimately offers some hope at the end. It is such a wonderful and emotional story that I would recommend as a MUST SEE.

User review rating: 4 December 05, 2009

what a freakin AWESOME movie, definite o=Oscar nods coming its way

User review rating: 4 December 05, 2009

Brothers was a very good movie. acting was phenomenal. the little girl in it was amazing for her age. was not quite what the previews made it out as. but it was a very good story, giving the viewer a glimpse into the life of the soldiers in the war, and the things they must deal with upon returning home.

Change Location