Boys Don't Cry

Thank you for rating this movie!

Boys Don't Cry Movie Poster

4.72 / 5

User rating: 4.72

Based on 831 votes and 47 reviews

  • User rating: 4.72 83.05%
  • User rating: 4.72 11.60%
  • User rating: 4.72 2.09%
  • User rating: 4.72 1.04%
  • User rating: 4.72 2.22%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 47 of 47

User review rating: 0 July 09, 2007

This movie really hit home to me. One of my best friends is going through a sex change right now. And I pray that nothing like this will ever happen to him!

User review rating: 0 July 07, 2007

i tha that this movie was so sad it made me think about how much people would use the word for what some people are i do not think its right to say that word.its like saying stuff about black ,white,and mexican people. H.swank did a great job.this is my favorit movie.and god bless tenna brandon/brandon tenna.

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2006


User review rating: 0 July 29, 2006

I thought Boys Don`t Cry is an amazing movie because it takes you tos how you what girls//guys go through, and you know what if someone is not comfortable in their body then so be it, you dont have to murder them for it! I think that those two guys were screw ups for killing someone who did`t deserve to die at such a young age. i think it would have been way different if Lana didn`t like him//her and wouldn`t leave her alone but that wasn`t the case!

User review rating: 0 July 07, 2006

i think its amazing movie. maybe its not about us but its about honesty, truth and love. and it can be `boom` coz it ever happened in this world. i am really sad for brandon, of course. she is do something wrong, but nabody can kill her for that.

User review rating: 0 June 11, 2006

This movie is very moving and I know, not think, that a lot of people will think hard about it!

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2006

I think it is a very moving movie and that it just shows how judgement people can be of others and the way they want to live their life and how they wnt to be.

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2006

i really love that movie by hilary is one of her best movie i`ve ever was so amazing!!a perfect story for all who knows how to love!!

User review rating: 0 October 05, 2005

its a beautifal movie.i want him home

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2005

This movie can change peoples lives, I think.

User review rating: 0 September 11, 2005

the best filme i have evarr seen chloe seivigny and hilary swank do a fantasik job on the filme and i love it it is grat i am now a big fan of chloes and hilary and i look out for all thar filmes and tape them all my love from tracey

User review rating: 0 August 13, 2005

Boys Dont Cry...excelent movie...I hope people really understand how sick what they think Normal really is. My heart goes out to the family of Teena Brandon. I am a 48 year old black man

User review rating: 0 July 25, 2005

I absolutely loved Boys Don`t Cry! hilary swank is one of my favorite actresses and she was incrediable in this movie, its was depressing and makes you take a second look on everything. It proves what can happen if you judge people and to act before you think.I recomend it to everyone.

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2005

I watched the movie as a college assignment without knowing what the story was. I was amazed at the job H. Swank did. I was saddened by the fact it was a true story. I would recommend this to anyone.

User review rating: 0 July 20, 2005

this film was the best i`ve ever seen! actress and actors were acting very brilliant.i really like this film;)

User review rating: 0 July 07, 2005

One of the best films Ive ever seen,, Hilary Swank very good acting! The story is very good but also sad..It made me cry cuz youre in the person Teena Brandon.. You feel how she feel. Its very good!

User review rating: 0 April 19, 2005

I thought that boys don`t cry was very sad not at first put as it got going it really made me want to cry. I must say very well done to H. Swank. I thought she acted the film very well it is just really sad that it was based on brandon teenas life and what she must have gone through. At the end of the day brandon teena was human and she did have feelings just like the rest of us. It is a real shame that brandon teena is no longer alive today.Rest in peace brandon teena. Lots of love LOUISE From England. UK

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2005

this is a good film. but the thing is it was not published as it should have been. few people know it, so its in hiden cinemas.

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2005

H.Swank U r amazing actress. I can not help grieveing for such a this fate . it really touchs me , such a this movie i ve" never seen ......& shame on her U miss swank

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2005

i thoght it was a very sad movie and (dont tell anyone) i cried.

User review rating: 0 March 26, 2005

absolutly the most fantastic film of the nineties. i think close friends and family need not to be so offended. try not to look at the film as what happened and what didnt and look at the message it is trying to portray. to me this film says that u should try and be who u want to be regarless of what others think. also that we shouldn`t be so ignorant of the narrowmindedness that goes on in the world. be who you are and live your life as you was. we should all learn from this and hope that our world has moved on a little bit.

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2005

I thought it was the best film that hilary swank has done i think that she deserved that award... i give her full credit and all the people that played in that movie i cant say how much it means too all those transgender people out there that need that...

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2005

Incredibly sensitive portrayal by Hilary Swank of a socially alienated and marginalized incomplete transsexual. Sound track a little difficult to follow: great character development; also great performance by Chloe Sevigny.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2005

Honestly it was one of the most heart felt movies i`ve seen. It made me think about how some people have little respect for each other especially those who chose to live differently. We are not here to judge but to help one another. I think Brandon was very brave to live as he felt.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2005

This movie is an interesting and original story,is romantic but at the same time is dramatic with a really sad ending. Is a perfect job. All the characters were amaizing.I have watched it a lot of times and i still like it. Exellent!!!

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2005

This was an awesome move that really portrayed Brandon`s story

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2005

awesome performance by swank

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2005


User review rating: 0 January 16, 2005

loved this movie is very romantic

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2005

this film is amazing, truly

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2004

I think the movie was romantic and sad (ending), it shows what people would do for love and it tells alot of people to not treat anbody different.

User review rating: 0 November 08, 2004

I think a very special film for me,because I`m a lesbian girl and my personality is very similar that the girl to the film.

User review rating: 0 October 20, 2004

yes, a very well poignant,well acted movie.Althougth through its sad ending and my heartfelt tears of pity the film had a cathartic effect on me so it wasnt so depressing after all.One of the most important themes in the movie was the expressions of intolerance for somebodys differences.the fact is, that nobody `deserves` to be hurt and boys dont cry attempts to express that.Did anybody else notice how many crosses and other repeated expressions of religion lana and pretty much all characters had?i thought it was very paradoxical and alittle bit mocking of religion because realigion is there to be a guide on HOW to be toleant and kind... yet

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2004

loved it to death

User review rating: 0 July 11, 2004

Great Talents.. extremely sad ending [horrifies me to think it actually happened!]..beaituful moments, thought provoking...leaves a lasting impression...all in one : brilliant Movie.Soemthing that comes your way once in a good long time....very touchin.

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2003

is realy a sad movie......i hate the is realy a good show..

User review rating: 0 September 14, 2003

Well crafted, beautifully acted movie. Extremely depressing, though. Dont` watch it last thing at night. After we finished it at 11:30pm, we were too depressed and felt we needed somthing a little ligther to pick us up. (So we threw Grease into the VCR). Boys dont` cry is still a must see. Hillary Swank`s acting is mind-blowing, and Chloe Sevigny deservedly got the Best Supporting Actress nomination. Rent it (perhaps along with Shrek)

User review rating: 0 July 21, 2003

Boys Dont Cry is a very moving story about love and learning to accept the differences of others. I have watched it many times and it always makes me cry. This is a fabulous masterpiece with a tragic ending.

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2002

well acted, but very depressing.

User review rating: 0 November 12, 2002


User review rating: 0 November 06, 2002

Hilary Swank is one of my fav actresses and this movie proves why. i loved it.

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2002

An amazing movie that introduces transgenderism to mainstream audience and has a very accurate portrayal of what transgenderism is.

User review rating: 0 July 25, 2002


User review rating: 0 July 05, 2002

Shows what our world has come to and what we have to overcome to be accepted for who we are.

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2002

i liked it!!!but not the end it was sad!!

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2002

Although, terribly sad a tale....indeed, was this movie!It was remarkable, that the actual victim, Teena Branden, could be carried out so lovingly, and thoughtfully!!I as a viewer , can only say Thank You! Thank You! Thank You!.....for having the insight and strength to tell the world , what can happen , in the pit of ignorance!What people need to remember, when they casually judge others, for being "different"!!!.........Again Thank You All!!!A superb Job!

User review rating: 0 October 15, 2001

one of the best movies ever made - Hilary Swank was amazing!!!

Change Location