Birth

Thank you for rating this movie!

Birth Movie Poster

2.85 / 5

User rating: 2.85

Based on 1512 votes and 85 reviews


  • User rating: 2.85 36.97%
  • User rating: 2.85 6.07%
  • User rating: 2.85 5.66%
  • User rating: 2.85 7.52%
  • User rating: 2.85 43.79%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 85

User review rating: 0 August 20, 2006

i loved it... especially cameron bright and nicole kidman... love is really mysterious

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2006

I really liked birth, but it was hard to understand! I hope I see it again! It`s also funny!!!!

User review rating: 0 March 30, 2006

If not for the totally confusing ending, I would have rated this movie 4/5..What`s up with the wedding photo scene? What or who did Anna see to cause her to go over the edge? There should have been some sort of resolve...what was the purpose of the beach scene...help!

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2006

Totally did NOT understand the ending beach scene... Understood the letters / affair etc... but was he faking it all or no? confused ... did she ever find out about the letters ever?? HELP????

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2006

Haunting and wonderful. Enigmatic and thought-provoking.

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2006

ended weird and was plottless

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2006

This movie had a lot going against it, in fact; more than I care to write. Although I thought the camera angles were provoking, and of course Nicole has a fantastic performance. With a meatier plot, and some additional foundationt to the movie, it could have been a great movie.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2006

Worst movie EVER! What else can I say? I`ve never writing a comment for a movie before, but felt I needed to warn people. I had a good laugh reading the rest of the comments.

User review rating: 0 November 03, 2005

horrible and slow would be giving this movie a compliment

User review rating: 0 November 02, 2005

the only reason i gave it a 2 is because the bathtub scene was hot

User review rating: 0 October 31, 2005

Oh, so glad I didn`t pay to see this piece of trash.

User review rating: 0 October 31, 2005

I didn`t think Kidman had to stoop to doing porn movies. Most digusting scene I`ve ever seen in a movie. I felt ashamed for her, but it shows her for what she is, I guess.

User review rating: 0 October 31, 2005

Just awful. Dreadfully long shots of people sitting doing nothing, running, staring into space, walking... it was endless. They could have made it shorter, or developed the characters more. The boy was wooden, and is likely psychologically traumatized by what he had to do with an adult woman. I hope he sues the filmmakers once he reaches majority... and his parents. Shame on them. As for Nicole, she did what basically amounts to porn in a scene which was completely unnecessary. She`s screwing her boyfriend, telling him about Shaun, then the next day, he`s like, "Why didn`t you tell me about him?" And she apologizes for not telling him! So wha

User review rating: 0 October 07, 2005

I can gurantee that after the you will be saying what was this all about? This is definitely a waste of time, waste of money and for sure waste of the idea.

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2005

This could be a good or even great movie, but IMO it`s a bad one. The story isn`t bad, but even with these good actors, this movie has a poor production. I didn`t had any emotion with this movie, it felt tastless. From the beggining until the end, the movie sounds like a one note song, without any thrill to the viewer. The soundtrack also plays a role here, as it sounds like it has nothing to do with the movie, and it doesn`t add any emotion to this weak script.

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2005

I`m not sure why everyone is having such a hard time with this movie -- all the pieces of the puzzle fit perfectly in the end. But only if one takes the time to think about it. Altough at first one feels like the movie is taking the easy way out, actually it does nothing of the kind. **Spolier Warning** Think of Sean`s last words to Anna; Anna`s face at the end of the movie and most importantly - what could not have been in those letters.

User review rating: 0 August 06, 2005

I thought this was horrible. It could have been a wonderful story. Maybe the long "gaps" in the movie could have been used to build the relationship between Nicole and Sean... Not at all what I expected.

User review rating: 0 July 26, 2005

Beatifully filmed, brillantly acted, extremely interesting subject. However, more time should have been taken to develop the plot. Bernard.

User review rating: 0 July 20, 2005

I LOVE NICOLE, HATED THIS MOVIE...STORY, DIRECTION, EDITING....SUCH A GREAT POTENTIAL TO BE A GREAT STORY, THEY JUST DID NOT CAPITOLIZE ON IT AND ACTUALLY RUINED IT..........HORRIBLE! NO CHARACTER BUILDING, HELL HALF THE TIME YOU DONT KNOW WHO IS WHO OR WHY THEY ARE THERE. LONG SCENES OF NOTHING, JUST NOTHING...YOU ACTUALLY ASK YOURSELF WHY AM I WATCHING THIS!

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2005

dealt delicately with a potentially cheesy plot. Kidman is believeable and honest. the boy is eerie but somehow convincing.

User review rating: 0 July 03, 2005

Great movie. Very different from the typical hollywood flare, thought-provoking (although less-intelligent people won`t get it) and well acted and directed.

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2005

This movie was really bad. All you people claiming, "oh my gosh, it was brillant, awesome shots, amazing music, etc." need to get a life. People don`t go to movies to watch interesting film shots or listen to slow paced music. it didn`t have a good plot, the story line was basically conflict and there was absolutely no resolution. i think this should have been one of those movies that doesn`t get put in the theatre and just gets put in the rentals. what a waste. damn all the artsy freaks that give it higher ratings.

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2005

This is one of those movies in which you have to talk with the people you saw the movie with, to try and figure out what happened. There is no clearcut answers, only your interpretation... I like these types of movies. If you are the type who doesn`t want to think about your movies, and want a solid yes/no black/white ending, you will likely hate this movie. Criticism: Yes, there were too many long scenes focused on people`s faces, etc. My interpretation: Sean really was Sean. Sean gives up on pursuing Anna at the end of the movie, realizing how much he is hurting her, or has hurt her in his last lifetime by his actions. He tells he

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2005

I`ve seen some bad movies but this one is by far the worst. I hung with it hoping it would finally make sense. What a mistake that was! As bad as the story line was, the lapses between conversations were maddening. If I were in a conversation with a person that took that long to respond, I would think they didn`t hear me, didn`t understand, spoke a different language, or had an extremely slow thought process.

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2005

Birth was strangely different, not what I expected. Nicole gives a very good performance but the movie lacks something. It was not one of my favorite Nicole movies and I did not care for the ending it seemed unfinished.

User review rating: 0 June 03, 2005

You`ll either love it or hate it. It`s one of those movies that you just have to take the chance on.

User review rating: 0 May 24, 2005

Birth is an exploration of love: what a person feels and how love commands a person`s life. It shows how love leads us to overcome all known limits. The sad side is the fragility and and irreconcilability of reality against one`s feelings. The movie is an excellent manifestation of a very difficult subject. I give it two thumbs up.

User review rating: 0 May 14, 2005

I fully understood the premise of the story but it made me cringe at the sexual undertones between the 10 year old boy and the woman in her thirties. The movie also moved at a very slow pace and tried to hard to be artsy. All in all, I think that this movie was pretentious, uneventful, and not well thought out.

User review rating: 0 May 09, 2005

wierd

User review rating: 0 May 06, 2005

The ending threw me off --- what was up with the beach scene? Did I miss something?

User review rating: 0 May 01, 2005

What could have been a very interesting topic turned out to be extremely boring and non-eventful. The mundane explanation of the child`s knowledge of a `past life` was a let-down, and the extended scenes of close-ups of various character`s faces were pointless and boring, even absurd and laughable. The bathtub scene will thrill only child sexual predators, and the inconclusive storyline leaves questions that no sequel could ever answer, mainly because no-one would ever want to watch the sequel!

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2005

Awesome film.....really makes you think about your own life and the decisions you have made. How could anyone think that its an absurd movie or that it didn`t have much to say.

User review rating: 0 April 27, 2005

Artsy Fartsy... people who say it`s too deep for "average" folks to figure out without providing an explanation of what it is we`re not getting, are not getting it themselves and are just trying to appear intellectually superior. I`m a doctoral student and my Mom`s an artist so I know how to use both sides of my brain-- yet... I still think the movie is plain old artsy fartsy... reminds me of a huge piece of canvas with a red dot that I saw at the Guggenheim Museum- people kept saying it was so artistic and so this and so that, when it was just a plain piece of canvas with a red dot in the center... HA! ARTSY FARTSY. To those of you that

User review rating: 0 April 22, 2005

Birth really didnt have much of a point. I kept searching for symbolisms to make up for all of the slow points in the movie but they never appeared. The shots and framework though slow is fairly more realistic than most films. I wouldnt recomend this film to anyone Unless they enjoy different films that have a stagnant pace.

User review rating: 0 April 21, 2005

This very boring movie. Very slow and sppechless. What is it about reincarnation, or infidelity, or boy loving adult.. what. Writer is confused.

User review rating: 0 April 21, 2005

I think this essay is incomplete; it leaves you completely stunned, and no real conclusion -- no apparent explanation on the reincarnation, no explanation for the amnesia of the lover`s memory, selective deja-vu, etc. To the director: there was only ONE Stanley Kubrick, mister. I bet The blairwitch project was more expensive than this so-called movie.

User review rating: 0 April 09, 2005

reincarnation in any movie is good since it provokes people to think in bigger terms

User review rating: 0 April 09, 2005

Terrible. The movie drags on and on and on unecessarily and tries to compensate for its absolute lack of anything endearing with scenes that border on *porn*. Some of the scenes are so ridiculous and far-fetched the audience could be heard throwing snide remarks and snickering. The ending is dull and senseless as well, like the authors just gave up on a story that wasn`t going anywhere to begin with. Even the one plot twist is weak. And Nicole somehow manages to look ugly and creepy in this movie, not a small feat.

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2005

I am very selective about the films I see, so when I say that this is the WORST film I`ve seen this year (out of approximately 30) it means something. Nicole is a bona fide goddess. She has done some very fine acting in previous outings but this picture is just a nightmare. There is no logic, no plot & nothing to savour after it`s over. It is completely incomprehensible. There are lots of bad performances (though Nicole is fine). The kid, Cameron Bright, is incredibly creepy (& not in a good way, either).

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2005

This is one of the best movie of 2004, it is simply breathtaking. It also features one of Kidman`s best performances if not the BEST and the rest of the cast were also top-notch. Birth is a character study of grief, how it paralyses us and reduces us to shadows of ourselves. It is simply a wonderful movie. With this and Dogville, Kidman once again shows why she is called fearless and have people like Wong Kar Wai agreeing to work with her. Kudos to the cast and crew of this movie :). Seen it 3 times, can`t wait for the DVD :).

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2005

A mediocre compared with Nicole`s other much better movies like `the hours`. But her slim and long legs are still gorgeous, which kept me to my seat right up to the end of the film.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

Confusing but still very good

User review rating: 0 December 11, 2004

With so much potential, it delivers so little. Kidman, as always, does her part; it`s just unfortunate she chose this vehicle. Acting, all around, is superb, but the movie leaves the audience not just wanting more, but needing elucidations.

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2004

hard to follow at times

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2004

The worst movie i had ever seen, and that has nothing to do with her kissing the boy.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2004

i dont understand why no one liked this movie i thought it was good maybe not that good to pay $15 in at the movies but it was good rent it. however, i do think that Nicole Kidman should be charged with molestation since she kissed a ten year old kid that was just wrong lol.

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2004

this movie was very spacey. some parts where drawn out to long and some things were left unexplained. this movie was a dissapointment to me.

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2004

I loved this movie. It reminded me of a Kubrick film. I was engrossed. And the production design, wardrobe, and cinematography was top notch. The music was the best score I have heard in years.

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2004

Disappointed in this movie. It was boring since the beginning, some parts do not make sense. Story moves very slowly. One comment about the kiss though, why are everyone making a big fuss about that scene, it wasnt even much, I was actually expecting to see more, haha. And anyway, stupid ending.

User review rating: 0 November 16, 2004

It was as if the director periodically forgot he was filming and left the camera on one thing for a ridiculous amount of time. It was not very believable that anyone could be quite so dumb as Nicole Kidman`s supposedly intellectual character. The movie was boring and disturbing at the same time.

Change Location