Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.30 / 5

User rating: 3.30

Based on 122 votes and 44 reviews


  • User rating: 3.30 43.86%
  • User rating: 3.30 10.53%
  • User rating: 3.30 5.26%
  • User rating: 3.30 12.28%
  • User rating: 3.30 28.07%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 44 of 44

User review rating: 5 September 09, 2015

If you didn't like this movie, stick to the Avengers, or any other idiotic super hero fare that comes out for the brain dead who just want to sit there with their mouths gaping open, saying "Wow. Cool!"

User review rating: 5 September 09, 2015

People who don't like this movie either have low IQs or have no interest in theatre (and why they would go see a movie about a theatre production when they have no interest still denotes a certain stupidity).

User review rating: 1 September 09, 2015

A movie about unlikable, self-absorbed show folk drowning in problems entirely of their own making. A long tedious, pretentious slog. One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Every frame is dripping with smug self-satisfaction.

User review rating: 4 July 17, 2015

Wow. Can't believe some people only gave it one star. It was pretty good. Well done. Good acting. Original story. Amusing. Could be a tad bit slow at times but I wouldn't call it boring.

User review rating: 2 April 02, 2015

Snore... No but seriously..... Snore.

User review rating: 5 March 07, 2015

Quirky dark comedy with some heart wrenching sad scenes and some really hilarious ones as well. I really enjoyed it.

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2015

very well made film. Excellent individual performances.

User review rating: 1 March 03, 2015

This isn't the worst movie I've ever seen but it's certainly a contender. I'd rate it lower but this site won't accept a 0 stars rating. It was bad right from the opening scene.

User review rating: 3 February 28, 2015

Its not my cup of tea, but it's really good. Congrats on best picture.

User review rating: 5 February 25, 2015

Excellent movie, I loved every minute of it and it totally deserved Best Picture Oscar! So different from the regular Hollywood crap. I bought it on bluray yesterday, have to watch it again.

User review rating: 1 February 25, 2015

Definitely not a comedy... Very weird movie. I guess from a hipster point of view it's probably good, some may call it art... But 99% of the general population will find this movie.... Well.... weird. It's just not good at all.

User review rating: 1 February 24, 2015

Birdman is easily one of the worse movie I’ve seen over the last 5 years. There’s very little action or sense of a plot. The movie is shot like a documentary where the cameras follow actors and production staff around behind the scenes of a playhouse. Yeah, like that seems real exciting. The main character Michael Keaton does a horrible Rain Man impersonation,walking around in a daze half the time talking to himself fading in and out of reality. Ed Norton plays the world’s biggest dickhead, while the rest of the cast add completely nothing to make this movie interesting. This movie was so bad that I had to stop watching it twice. It kept getting worse. If you do go to see this movie, don’t f

User review rating: 1 February 23, 2015

119 min of pure garbage. the most disappointing movie of the year. do not waste your time on this movie it only disappoints. did i mention its disappointing garbage?

User review rating: 1 February 22, 2015

One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Have no idea how it is up for an Oscar.

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2015

Oscar worthy NO. One of the worst movies EVER long boring waste of time Keaton oscar worthy NO.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2015

Unexpectedly brilliant. Oscar-worthy performances by Keaton and Norton, and the script is biting, scathing, and original. Go see it!!!

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2015

Incredible movie, I loved every minute of it. I have to see it again, there was so much to enjoy about it. Emma Stone was amazing, as was Michael Keaton. This one should win Best Picture, not boring Boyhood!

User review rating: 2 February 08, 2015

Makes a strong statement about the struggles of performers, directors etc and may be best for that niche audience. Harsh and often boring otherwise.

User review rating: 1 February 04, 2015

This was the most boring movie ever it makes skeleton twins looks Oscar worthy. The acting was horried and I like Edward Norton and Emma Stone but hate Keaton worst movie ever so artistic

User review rating: 1 February 04, 2015

This movie sucked so bad he was very bad shouldn't win a thing

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2015

"What is more real?.. Reality ..or... Imagination (what we Imagine reality to be) .... Wow... This movie is incredible... incredibly good.... but only if you pick up what the movie maker was trying to say.."

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2015

What is more real?.. Reality ..or... Imagination (what we Imagine reality to be) .... Wow... This movie is incredible... incredibly good.... but only if you pick up what the movie maker was trying to say..

User review rating: 1 February 03, 2015

A movie on hard times as a actor. Whaaaaa.... Pretentious doesn't even begin to explain it. Dumb & long. Keaten & Norton were good tho. Bad movie.

User review rating: 2 January 27, 2015

Not my kind of movie although some people might like it. Just actors playing actors. I found it dragging and boring.

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2015

hated this one

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2015

We went because of the reviews - and were glad we did. The movie is surprisingly funny and the acting is top notch, not a bad performance in the mix. Strong story line which calls for brave performances from the actors. Really, really, liked it.

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2015

Excellent tiptoe through the brain, up and down all those unexpected back stairs, and who has not soared above Broadway, while at the same time we all know that everything ends with flowers at the hospital as we look out the open window towards the birdsong.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2014

Utter crap! Total waste of my time, money and the actors! Rotten tomatoes but no stars!

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2014

Amazing film. Oscar nomination coming for Michael Keaton. Fantastic beginning to end. Best film I have seen in a long while.

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2014

This movie is something to see. This is one of those that will be remembered.

User review rating: 1 December 10, 2014

Interesting camera work but story is weak. Not worth the cost of ticket.

User review rating: 5 December 02, 2014

Best movie I've seen in a long time. Mostly because of artistry and acting and the philosophical undertones.

User review rating: 2 December 02, 2014

Wow this should have been called "Drum solo Steadicam" some good acting but boring:-(

User review rating: 5 November 29, 2014

Oscar-worthy performances. Beautifully directed (the dilapidated backstage metaphorically speaks to the inner fragility of the actors - everything is more beautiful in the limelight). Fabulous thought-provoking script with many memorable lines of dialogue. Plot takes a little while to kick in(too much time spent on delivering exposition). It's a sad story that's ultimately about mental illness, so it won't appeal to everyone. You have to be in the right mood for this one.

User review rating: 1 November 29, 2014

You will love or hate this movie apparently. We hated it. Like others said, we too found it incomprehensible. And like one reviewer said they cried at the end. Me too - over my wasted money.

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2014

Keaton gives an Oscar caliber performance!

User review rating: 1 November 27, 2014

SAVE YOUR MONEY THIS WAS ONE OF THE WORST FILMS EVER.

User review rating: 5 November 26, 2014

cont'd ...with a ending that bridges the real with the unreal. interesting. acting also worth the see.

User review rating: 5 November 26, 2014

Unexpected surprise for me. Movie has a surreal realism with impossible illusion of consolidating a continuous flow of a massive single almost seamless take of blending multiple time frames...phantom vampire camera views with no camera nor operator reflections in mirrors even if looking head on into them, with panning shots that span different times of the day. Keeps one attention as to what perspective one will see for every scene, and what scenes are delusions vs what scenes are reality: the whole movie looks as though one lens, one focal length, one camera, one invisible operator, and endless uncut footage throughout. and an interesting story to keep it going...with a ending that bridges

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2014

This movie is a piece of crap! I watched it for about 15 minutes and got a big headache from it. It all seemed incomprehensible, so went to the cash and got my money back. Don't waste your money on it.

User review rating: 4 November 16, 2014

One of the more thoughtful movies of 2014.

User review rating: 3 November 13, 2014

Great acting but this film left me still confused as to what happened at the end.

User review rating: 4 November 01, 2014

IT IS A GREAT MOVIE I CRIED AT THE END

User review rating: 1 October 30, 2014

Very strange sense of humour, a movie that does not impress at all, I will Not recommend to see it at all, I wish knew this before, so I would choose other movie.

Change Location