Beyond the Sea

Thank you for rating this movie!

Beyond the Sea Movie Poster

4.23 / 5

User rating: 4.23

Based on 714 votes and 18 reviews


  • User rating: 4.23 77.67%
  • User rating: 4.23 3.37%
  • User rating: 4.23 0.70%
  • User rating: 4.23 0.84%
  • User rating: 4.23 17.42%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 18 of 18

User review rating: 5 November 22, 2015

Terrific!

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2006

WOW! AND THANK YOU FOR DOING IT AT A LEVEL THAT I FIND NO WORDS TO ACCURATLY DESCRIBE. WHAT A DISPLAY OF TALENT.

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2005

Terrific film!!! Wonderful script,musical numbers in a well told bio.

User review rating: 0 August 01, 2005

The best movie I`ve seen in years! Real drama, real talent, real music. I can`t wait for the Broadway production.

User review rating: 0 July 02, 2005

I really liked the movie. I`ve always liked Kevin but now I have much greater respect for his talents. He wrote, produced and directed the movie AND did all his own singing/dancing. I felt it was a genuine tribute to Darin, unlike "Ray" where the entire movie focused on his drug addiction. The only thing I wasn`t fond of is the way Kevin presented the movie, in that dreamlike state with the young boy, I thought it took away from the story. Otherwise, nice job.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2005

First, let me say that I`m a hardcore Spacey fan. I love the guy. I think it`s tragic he didn`t get to make this film when he was young enough to pull it off. That said, the age difference between Spacey and Bosworth made Bobby Darin`s seduction of Sandra Dee alternatingly humorous and horrifying. Towards the end of the film, in "The Curtain Falls", when Spacey belts out the line "And just think I get paid for this...", my inner dialogue was "And just think *I* paid for this..."! Sure, this film is a Spacey vanity piece, but, more interestingly, its subtext is Kevin Spacey coming out: this is as close as the secretive and enigmatic Space

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2005

The worst movie I have ever seen. Spacey too old for the part. Storyline dumb (talking, dancing, and singing with yourself as a child), everybody cussing like a sailor which was not accepted back then, not even in unchurched people. It was a disservice to Bobby Darin and Sandra Dee. I would like to know what Dodd Darin thinks of this pathetic portrayal of his parents.

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2005

I truly loved the experience of watching the movie. I was transported back to my mom and dad jitterbugging to Mack the Knife with a little 45 rpm in our living room. I was taken back to going in my cousin`s car to see Come September and watching the young couple on screen grab our undivided attention. And, finally, in our dormitory on campus, we watched Bobby sing the Freedom song on his varitety show. For many of us, the movie brought back an era and man that we miss so much.

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2005

Horrible, Spacey is a one-man show, doing everything, killed the movie.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2005

Kevin Spacey does an admirable job, but let`s face it, he`s no Bobby Darin. Darin was a very handsome man, and it`s asking a lot of an audience to believe that craggy-faced, middle-aged Spacey could ever convincingly portray the late singer. It`s like having Laurence Fishburn play Elvis--it just ain`t gonna work.....

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2005

I love this movie! But then, I love Bobby Darin!! Keven Spacey did a fantastic job portraying the #1 entertainer. This movie has left me craving the profound talent we had in Bobby Darin. I do miss him ...! An interesting thing happended in the movie theater when I saw this movie. Only 3 people left the theater after the movie ended, the rest stayed until every credit was complete. No one moved. It sounded like everyone applauded at the end also. I guess we all miss him very much. Thank you, Keven Spacey, for bringing Bobby Darin back into our lives.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2005

This was a marvelous movie..so entertaining..one needs to turn off some of the critics` negative cerebral analyses of the film and just sit back and enjoy Spacey`s miraculous artistry.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2005

A fantastic movie! It`s on Kevin Spacey`s top 3!

User review rating: 0 January 29, 2005

Very creative and innovative way to tell Bobby Darin`s story. Kevin Spacey if truly a magical man, like Darin he can act and sing with equal grace, enthusiasm and skill. The music was wonderful.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2005

Not a very good film.

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2005

Kevin Spacey did an unbelievable job, I loved the music and the choreography. Great movie. I put a Bobby Darin CD on when I got home and he sounded just like Kevin Spacey.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2005

i really found it refreshing to see such great musical numbers on the big screen. kevin spaceys voice is amazing. i have to admit its not for everyone but if you`re a music fan check it out.

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2005

sooooooooooooooooo good!

Change Location