Beowulf & Grendel

Thank you for rating this movie!

Beowulf & Grendel Movie Poster

4.21 / 5

User rating: 4.21

Based on 365 votes and 47 reviews


  • User rating: 4.21 61.13%
  • User rating: 4.21 18.50%
  • User rating: 4.21 8.15%
  • User rating: 4.21 4.39%
  • User rating: 4.21 7.84%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 47 of 47

User review rating: 0 October 04, 2006

A perfect blend of action and comedy...thoughtful re-telling of the ancient epic, making it more `human` in scope and understanding. Breathtaking scenery added to the authentic `feel`; the musical score was beautiful and the acting was top-notch.

User review rating: 0 August 01, 2006

Beautifully filmed. I failed to find all the profanity that I read about previous to seeing the film. Well acted and does make you think.

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2006

Suneagle`s Review:****1/2 Stars WOW This movie could of been 5 stars if they had better sword play and more of it That said this movie was AMAZING!Gerald Butler WOW he looks and acts Really Good!They should for the Future Pick him for a Jesus Role,Gerald over all is good in every thing he does.The locations are real no blue screen here and the Speach and Clothes too very Realistic.It was great to see the old style filming back in action.Just keep watching the movie you might find it hard to get used to in the beggening cuz it`s not clean and flashy like Troy or Gladiator athough those movies were Amazing but this brings a Great Real Feel to i

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2006

Wonderful Movie, good action!

User review rating: 0 May 31, 2006

love the story

User review rating: 0 April 18, 2006

Although some people might have found it boring, I didn`t think so. I saw it over 9 times and this is an unusual thing for me, even for a Gerard Butler`s movie. I thought the landscapes were breathtaking, the actors did a superb job, especially Gerard Butler who always try to give 200% instead of just 100%, his Beowulf is a very compassionate, courageous warrior who senses almost from the start that there is more than meets the eye here where Grendel is concerned. Ingvar Sigurdsson as Grendel gives an incredible performance with his facial expressions and grunts, not an easy task for any actors. Stellan Skarsgard just confirmed to me what

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2006

While Gerard Butler and Sarah Polley put a tremendous effort in for acting, I think the movie really fell apart. I am a huge fan of history and legends, and out of all that I have seen I have to say this is not very good. I think the Director tried to go in several directions, but not enough steam to reach the destination. I`d say wait for it to be shown on TV, it`ll be free and worth the money at that point.

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2006

beautifully done ,i love epic movies,it gives you a sense of what it could have been like in past history,the scenery was awsome,ya sometimes a bit slow but you can t have battles non stop,overall very entertaining,go watch it

User review rating: 0 March 27, 2006

absolute garbage the movie was slow and boring. the excessive use of the f word didn`t fit in with the rest of the dialog. it`s the type of movie you see on tv and wonder who the idiots were that payed to see it in the theater

User review rating: 0 March 24, 2006

I am a huge Gerard Butler fan and admit that I would pay just to watch him paint a wall.This being said; he was a fantastic Phantom and a beautiful Beowulf.Can`t get enough of the man and his characters!The rest of the movie was okay too.

User review rating: 0 March 23, 2006

Gtreat scenery.. after that, boring. Many technical flaws... where did all the wood come from if there were no trees, how does the ship move if there is no wind to fill the sail, how can the dead guy float (wet suit under the costume), how can the hero swim weighted down with armour etc. etc. Mediocre acting, poor script. Save your money.

User review rating: 0 March 21, 2006

Not good. Very pedestrian movie. I own pretty much everything gerard butler has ever done but this movie was such a let down. Beautiful scenary was the best part of this movie. Gerard himself was excellent, but the rest of the cast, dialogue and most scenes were kind of embarassing to watch.

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2006

I really enjoyed the movie, it was a very different type of storyline, it was quite a sad story really. The scenery was absolutely beautiful. The only down side was some of the language (it didn`t fit the century, and wasn`t necessary). As always, Gerard Butler was superb. He puts 100% into all of his movie roles, and didn`t disappoint in this one.

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2006

Beowulf & Grendel is an absolutely beautiful movie. The acting is top notch and the cinematography is superb. The music is perfectly chosen to add to the moods of the breathtaking, haunting landscapes. No one living today has a clue what the people then sounded like, so any criticism of accents is inane and sophomoric--besides, this movie is for English-speaking audiences! This is a top-notch film.

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2006

I really liked Beowulf $ Grendel - the location was fabulous, and the story does a new take on a myth which seems to be still evolving. Loved the acting, especially Beowulf, and the sets and costumes. I want to go to Iceland!

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2006

Disappointing and ragged. They tried their best, but the director couldn`t decide if it`s an art film, a travelogue, a comedy, or a poignant commentary on the futility of vengeance. It ends up as none of these things. The 13th Warrior -- which is the same story written by a 9th Century arab -- succeeded because it had a single focus and a single tale to tell and kept things moving, instead of spending so much time gazing around, didn`t use or need subtitles to tell us which part of the story we`re in. Tight pacing should tell us where we are, not subtitles. There should be a minimum of irrelevant side-stories like everyone converting to Chris

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2006

I think the film is a feast for the mind and the scenery will blow you away!!! Say it at the Totonto Film Festival and now three times in Winnipeg. It is a must see!!!!

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2006

The fake prosthetics and bad acting by all 15 members of the cast (except Gerard Butler)made the film ubarable save the scenery. There was no music half the time and most of the movie made no sense with Beowulf walking around lookin for Grendel. I could have more fun having a conversation with a sink.

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2006

I would agree that some of the language is a little modern. But the film delivered, and thats the bottom line. What I don`t understand is why it never had any televison advertisement. It would have been a box office hit, if more people knew about it.

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2006

A wonderful not so Hollywood type of movie with amazing landscapes and scenery. Gerard Butler in another great performace.

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2006

The people who are rating this movie high must be the promotors. This movie was a big waste of time and money! THe only thing good about it was the scenery! Trust me, save a bad movie experience, stay away!!!!!

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2006

I thought this movie could have been better without the smut/dirty language that would be more welcomed in an Adult movie. The theme of the movie is probably the only that interested me as it involved the ancient tribes of northwestern Europe. Is it me or do Scandinavians have really long heads? :P Must be their beards.... Grendel reminded me of some proto-European whose people were dying out. Possibly there is some truth to the legend after all. Overall worth seeing, but don`t expect epic battles, amazing special effects, or even a good script. You won`t find them here.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2006

Great movie and very well thought out. Most people wouldn`t know that most of the Armour was made right here in Calgary Alberta at Valentine Armouries. they do increadible work

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2006

Amazing. Saw it in the Calgary film fest. Well worth the gala fee

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2006

I saw this film in Toronto during the film festival, and i was disappointed with it. The story strays from the original poem, as it must to get a movie from it- but it went in the typical direction. I love Gerard Butler, I think he`s a wonderful actor and the scenery in the film is fantastic. I just think it could have been adapted from the original without the dramatic quasi-romantic triangle addition to it.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2006

I absolutely loved this film. The scenery was breathtaking, and I would highly recommend this film to anyone (not a child-friendly film) but otherwise it is great for anyone. It has high action, romance, and as the hero Beowulf Gerard Butler is both believeable and heroic. Sarah Polley does an absolutely fabulous job as his love interest. Even if you`ve read the poem, the twists and turns of the plot will keep you glued to your seat and the movie will not leave you once you exit the theater. It is truly amazing!

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2006

Move over Mel Gibson, it`s Gerry`s turn. He`s hot.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2006

I wasn`t sure what to expect. I knew Mr. Butler would not let me down and deliver once again a most stunning, convincing portrayal. He`s the reason I went. I can honestly say there were a few scenes I had a hard time watching, but overall, the movie was spectacular and Mr. Butler did not disappoint! Beowulf was masterfully portrayed as a strong, powerful warrior. He was also a man with a conscious, able to show mercy.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2006

I thought that this was a wonderful movie. The only down side was that Sara Polley had no accent and sounded like a modern day Canadian, which would really spoil which ever scene she was in. Other than that, the story was great.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2006

What a fantastic movie! I didn`t know what to expect when I went to see it in Toronto this weekend but I was blown away - and saw it a second time! The scenery alone is stunning - but the story itself, the dialogue, humor and the actors (Gerry Butler as Beowulf and so many others) could not have been better. See it now, see it tomorrow - and please, PLEASE!!!! Someone bring it to the STATES!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2006

Great film, amazing scenery and great acting. Gerard Butler really showed the compassionate of Beowulf.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2006

I feel like I just hit a roadside bomb!Never go by first night reviews.Very suspect WHO wrote them.Since when is a 5th century dialogue riddeled with 21st century F,B,C and D..K word bombs.Yes the cinematography is beautiful,but a slow moving plot about man`s inhumanity to man and revenge is not enough to carry the movie.Though old languages dialects are hard to nail down,Scotish and Danish.The witch is disconcertingly N.Americanized.Her character,I think stumbled onto the wrong set.This is obvious why it`s not in the U.S yet and WON`T be.A 4.7 rating,please!2.7 is closer.Wait for the DVD,and your own popcorn.

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2006

I first saw this movie at the Toronto International Film Festival, and I actually enjoyed it more this second time around. It is an admirable film on several levels, most notably in the way it deals with themes like intolerance of another race. The landscape is visually striking and really lends a mood to the film. Acting-wise, the cast is excellent, most notably Gerard Butler and Stellan Skarsgård. The script is often humorous, though I sometimes found the use of modern language jarring. Overall, it is definitely worthwhile to see in the theatre. I think it`s great that we have the opportunity to see a movie like this...something tha

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2006

Excellent cast, excellent script, excellent direction, and excellent cinematography..what else is there needed for a movie to be..excellent...hopefully it will find a US distributor...but for now..enjoy Canada..you have a gem of a movie in your hands...

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2006

Stunning! The landscapes were "other-worldly" - it`s easy to imagine how challenging it might have been to film in such a raw, unforgiving climate. The uncompromising landscape itself speaks volumes about the bleakness of the world during that era. Visually a feast for the eyes! The almost modern dialogue offers an interesting contrast and an anachronistic feel to the film. The characters` interactions are often extremely and refreshingly humorous, wholly unexpected in a movie with such grim and thought-provoking subject matter. The actors each play their parts beautifully. The incomparable Gerard Butler (everywoman`s hero)as Beowu

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2006

It knocked me out when I saw it at the Palm Springs film fest! Absolutely GORGEOUS cinematography of stunning landscapes and stunning performances by the cast. I wish U.S. distributors would wake up and jump on this amazing film! It`s one that truly cries out to be seen on the big screen!!

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2006

Can`t wait till it gets here to the states. Another triumph for Gerry!!

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

Why is there no USA distributor for this exciting film?

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

Even better then I expected! Great work ;)

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

Excellent movie. A US distributor needs to pick this one up!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

A thrilling retelling of the story of Beowulf and Grendel.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

Beowulf and Grendel is a cinematic masterpiece.The actors are international and brilliantly portray their characters.It is a story that is timeless.It is both serious and irreverent,definitely a must see.Old English Literature never looked so good.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

I had the opportunity of seeing it sitting 4 rows behind Gerard Butler so already it was quite an experience for me. I truly enjoyed the movie. I thougth that Butler`s Beowulf is a man with compassion and yet ready to do anything to help King Hrothgard (superbly played by Stellan Skarsgard) of the threat that is Grendel (wonderful Ingvar Sigurdsson: I`ll be on the lookout for more work done by that incredible actor). The story is well-rendered, very accurate except for a few additions to it like the character of Selma who is not part of the actual poem. Sarah Polley took her small role and turned it into an eye-catcher after Selma has th

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

I had the opportunity to see this film at the TORONTO INT`L FILM FESTIVAL in SEPT 2005. I loved it, looking forward to seeing it again opening weekend!!!

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

I loved it----story, scenery, acting, music---all brought the ancient story/poem to life in all its primitive glory! Well done, Mr. Gunnarson!!!!!

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

I viewed Beowulf and Grendel first at the Vancouver Film Festival in the fall of 2005 and was impressed enough that I`ll be attending the premiere tonight in Vancouver. I also intend to see it again in Surrey sometime over the next week. The script was both interesting and compelling. Though the script strayed from the original poem the changes did not destroy the original epic work. The filming was exceptionally done, the wide shots of Iceland`s landscape wonderful. Sarah Polley was a brilliant addition to the film as the witch. It is always gratifying to see Canadian artists featured in films of this quality. The casting of Gera

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

This is a fantastic film and can`t wait to see it again and add it to my movie collection.

Change Location