Ben-Hur

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.56 / 5

User rating: 3.56

Based on 168 votes and 59 reviews


  • User rating: 3.56 48.57%
  • User rating: 3.56 12.86%
  • User rating: 3.56 10.00%
  • User rating: 3.56 2.86%
  • User rating: 3.56 25.71%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 59

User review rating: 2 December 03, 2016

Really cheesy movie - slow and lacklustre. Should be called something else because it in know way compares to the original.

User review rating: 5 October 06, 2016

Incredible!

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2016

Excellent - loved how they incorporated the story of Jesus into this more than the original. Original hard to beat, but really enjoyed this version too.

User review rating: 5 September 17, 2016

awesome story

User review rating: 5 September 06, 2016

Loved it!

User review rating: 5 September 05, 2016

Ben Hur is an outstanding adaptation of the classic novel and the 1950s movie that garnered as recall 11 Academy Awards the most ever won matched only by Titanic.. I found it to be an inspiring and action-packed story of love turned to hate between two brothers in ancient Jerusalem. How that hatred that almost destroyed them was transformed by a rising and mystical Messiah who threatened both the entire Roman Empire one brother fought for and the high status and beliefs of the other brother.. A moving message of the power of Love so needed in our world and nation so divided by hate and fear.

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2016

Boring, story is not interesting at all. The two main actors are good actors but the rest are not. Its a video!! If they want to make these remakes make good ones....money grab.

User review rating: 1 September 03, 2016

dud..dud..dud........should I say anymore..if there whas anything lesser than a one star rating.. it would get my vote

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2016

Very exciting movie! Good storyline!

User review rating: 1 September 03, 2016

Ha. The people with the truthful reviews won this one. 28% rating on Rotten Tomatoes, and a one star from me. This one sure will not be sitting beside my original copy.

User review rating: 5 September 02, 2016

I really enjoyed this movie....story was great.

User review rating: 3 September 01, 2016

Nice remake, better on the love angle but lacking on the rest of the film compared to the 1959 version.

User review rating: 5 August 31, 2016

Awesome remake it's a must see!!! I'll own this movie for sure, it will be right beside the original version.

User review rating: 3 August 31, 2016

Good movie

User review rating: 3 August 30, 2016

I enjoyed it, but watched the 1959 version yesterday and it was much better. Even the color was better.

User review rating: 4 August 28, 2016

The action in the beginning was hard on my eyes. I had to turn away because I couldn't follow it It seemed to smooth out and not bother my eyes anymore, once I got used to it.

User review rating: 5 August 28, 2016

great re-make of a classic film.

User review rating: 5 August 28, 2016

Loved it! Exciting movie and an important life lesson as well!

User review rating: 1 August 27, 2016

Bad version, bad actors, no personality. Cheap movie. The best...Horses!

User review rating: 5 August 27, 2016

Great action scenes! Incredible story line.

User review rating: 4 August 27, 2016

very good movie-kept my interest all the way thru-the chariot race was awesome-im sure the 1 and 2 star ratings were from people who didnt even see the movie. i give it 4 stars

User review rating: 5 August 27, 2016

Good movie

User review rating: 5 August 27, 2016

I had to see this movie since I am a fan of the 1959 classic. I'm satisfied with this remake. It was worth my time. Tottally recommended.

User review rating: 4 August 26, 2016

I attended the movie with two friends and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I have have seen the both previous versions and liked this much better.

User review rating: 5 August 26, 2016

This movie was much better than the 1959 in many ways - the story line - the battleship & chariot race scene - the fact Jesus shows up more - the ending showing forgiveness & a new hope - but I'm sure there are many who will think other wise but to bad for them!

User review rating: 5 August 26, 2016

Exciting, engaging and entertaining. Exceptional visual perception of the battle of ships, chariots, and brothers

User review rating: 1 August 25, 2016

PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY.........THE WORST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN.......CHARLY MUST BE TURNING OVER IN HIS GRAVE.......sucks>>>>sucks

User review rating: 5 August 25, 2016

Wonderful movie & Beautiful ending

User review rating: 4 August 25, 2016

Loved it, have watched more than once. Gotta see it on the big screen for the visuals alone !

User review rating: 4 August 25, 2016

I agree it does have a slow start, but the chemistry between the two leads is so engaging, I didn't mind. I thought they did a good job of building up the suspense, actually. Good acting from Toby Kebbel and Jack Huston. Actually, pretty good acting all the way around. Stunning visuals, awesome ship battle and chariot race, and the Crucifixtion scene of Christ brought tears to my eyes. In fact, I cried through the whole last ten minutes of the movie. Brotherly love and forgiveness for the win !

User review rating: 2 August 25, 2016

We found it hard to see why this movie cost $100 Million to make. There is no comparison to the the original Ben-Hur and for those who never saw it I can see why you would give it 5 stars. One of the worst endings of a spectacle film in movie history. Camera pans down from the crucifixion of Jesus to the chariot race circus. There's more...

User review rating: 5 August 24, 2016

I really enjoyed it and my wife too. It deserves 5 stars. The story is compelling. The scenes with chariots are superb. The scene of the escape from the boat was awesome too. For me 1 star rates don't make any sense. There is just one scene where the camera was like moving with a dance but it was too short to take out a star only for that. I loved it!

User review rating: 4 August 24, 2016

enjoyed it overall; but handheld camera work annoyingly too jerky-flitty on close-ups; but long/wider shots better, as well as action scenes in race gave edge-of-seat thrills, realistic horse+chariot tumble-crashes. good storyline with ending more inline with a Christian message like the book rather than the old 1950's era hollywood movie.

User review rating: 4 August 23, 2016

Just finished watching this movie with 3 friends. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. Read a few critiques reviews and wondered if they watched the same movie. The movie followed the original movie in many ways but with a surprise ending that we all loved. I seem to note lately that when critiques give a movie a bad rating and I watch it we are generally at opposite ends of the spectrum - they dislike it and I love it. Having said this it seems the others I was with came to the same conclusion for this movie. The story was well developed with good action scenes.

User review rating: 3 August 23, 2016

This Movie did a good job. But...the first 45 min. could have been done in 20 min...alot of the motions were like the camera was jerking...but still not bad..The chariot scene was really great..I would give this movie a 3.5 star...Still a good watch...

User review rating: 1 August 23, 2016

Here is my one-star for the movie. I believe I know where all the 5-star - or most of them - are coming from.

User review rating: 1 August 23, 2016

Morgan Freeman - best of his career. Did the popcorn have something on it? Or maybe it was free? Why don't the movie sponsors give us real people a break and leave it to us to put real comments about the movie here.

User review rating: 5 August 23, 2016

Great movie, I loved it !!

User review rating: 5 August 22, 2016

Astonishing! Morgan Freeman gives the performance of his career!

User review rating: 5 August 22, 2016

Loved it! It was a fast two hours. All the one star reviews make no sense to me.

User review rating: 3 August 21, 2016

I went to see ben hur and was looking to be disappointed because the trailer made the film look cheap it and when I saw it I like it as this was a remake was made really really really good, is it better than the classic ???? for me I would say no but it was worth seeing it on the big screen and I would go to see it again, my only beef would be the weak start, the flash backs on remembering and I hate the film poster as it made to make the movie look dumb, and don't listen to people giving it a one star their review doesn't reflex the film

User review rating: 4 August 21, 2016

very good movie the story line very well combined in the mix of matching time lines though out history good action war i enjoyed it a lot i give it 4 stars

User review rating: 1 August 21, 2016

My wife and I went to see this movie the day it was released. I had high hopes but they faded within the first 30 mins. This movie is unwatchable. The camera work didn't pull me in...it pushed me away because it was such a muddle visually. I thought movies today were made with steady cams not camera operators who are filming as if they were drunk. The action sequences had so much potential but the cameras were too close so what we saw was confusing and incoherent. The other big problem was with casting...apart from Morgan Freeman the other actors brought no presence to their roles. They were empty. A great story poorly portrayed.

User review rating: 4 August 21, 2016

It's worth my time, great story

User review rating: 1 August 21, 2016

I give it one star for a tiny bit of eye candy by the lead actor.

User review rating: 5 August 21, 2016

Good story. Great action.

User review rating: 0 August 20, 2016

I can't even give this movie 1 star! This was a truly idiotic idea to remake this classic movie. And as the 1959 version was filled with pathos for the characters, this remake was nothing more than a D-class action movie. Mark Burnett and Roma Downey did a wonderful job of producing The Bible for t.v., but they really struck out with this movie.

User review rating: 0 August 20, 2016

Pure junk and I haven't even seen it as yet. God with dreadlocks giving advice, sounds captivating.

User review rating: 5 August 19, 2016

Almost as good as the original! The chariot race is totally exciting, excellent, well done.

User review rating: 5 August 19, 2016

This was a great and modern retelling! Would love to see a remake of Citizen Kane starring Zac Efron.

Change Location