Atonement

Thank you for rating this movie!

Atonement Movie Poster

3.91 / 5

User rating: 3.91

Based on 310 votes and 50 reviews


  • User rating: 3.91 56.69%
  • User rating: 3.91 11.81%
  • User rating: 3.91 9.45%
  • User rating: 3.91 9.45%
  • User rating: 3.91 12.60%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 50

User review rating: 5 March 25, 2011

all time favorite movie. every aspect was brilliant.

User review rating: 5 October 22, 2010

Acting in this film was superb! The storyline was fantastic! And the overall execution was haunting! A very emotional movie.

User review rating: 5 September 28, 2010

Film adaptation of Ian McEwan's tragic novel. For an adult male to painstakingly recreate the inner world of a 13 year old girl is admirable. To deftly drawn us into the horrors of war and wrap it in a love story is worthly of applause. Such is the breadth of Atonement. It's faithful to the book but like all screenplays some details are missing - and none of the essence has been lost. Much of the dialogue is drawn directly from the pages and the period as well as the costumes ring true - all the way down to Marshall's loafers. Strongly recommended, especially for the breath-taking 6 minute tracking sequence along the beach at Dunkirk.

User review rating: 0 February 10, 2009

Very good movie worthy of all the fuss.

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2008

A beautiful love story, worth the watch.

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2008

Hated it. Don't know what all the awards buzz what about. Robbie was an awkward idiot. He himself brought about his misfortune, not Briony. She was the only one I felt sorry for. She was an innocent, fearful child who didn't know what was going on. Keira Knightley was so unattractive in this, both her looks and her accent. In the library scene, she looked like a spider who'd been smashed on the wall. No wonder Briony was terrified.

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2008

Beautifully directed, but the story was very under developed. Could have been amazing, but wasn't.

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2008

A classic. Beautiful story.

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2008

It was the longest two hours of my life and very very boring. It is two hours of my life that I will never get back!

User review rating: 0 February 14, 2008

I am was so disapointed after I saw this movie. I didnt like it at all, the acting was ok but the movie could have been way better.

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2008

horrid, a Deus Ex Machina ending, no atonement, and hilarious funny to see a writer tell spoilers on how the newly published book ends. weak

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2008

The most boring movie ever!

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2008

I didn't like it at all. Not much of a story, and what there was, wasn't to my taste at all. Movie bounced back and forth constantly and wasn't always easy to follow, although really it was a slow moving movie.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2008

Pretty good movie.

User review rating: 0 January 29, 2008

I really am not sure why this movie is getting the hype it is. Yes it was beautifully filmed, the acting was fine, and it is always a pleasure to see Ms. Redgrave but I found this movie to be slow, melodramatic, and scattered. Even the "I write about dead people" ending could not rescue it.

User review rating: 0 January 29, 2008

wow!!! it was soooo good. I would see it again. James McAvoy is so hot! Great acting too!

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2008

Amazing...that's all that needs to be said.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2008

Not even in the same league as Titanic. Not worth the hype or the crazy high ratings or accolades it has been recieving. I thought it was crap.

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2008

The only other movie that has ever made me cry that much was Schindler's List, which I think says a lot for this film. I haven't seen any of the other best pictures nominees for this year's Oscars but I think this film is a worthy contender.

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2008

Amazing story. Well acted.

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2008

I lost faith in this movie about halfway through, but then it absolutely took an unexpected and beautiful turn. I recommend this to anyone who loves classic love stories.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2008

I definately agree with what other people have said, it was veeery slow moving with pointless scenes. It wasn't a tear-jerker because I was going "what the heck is this?!". I'm glad I didn't have to pay for this movie and don't understand how it was even nominated for Golden Globes.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2008

Great love story, but it felt like a novel that had been adapted into a choppy and hollow movie....which is exactly what it was.

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2008

Slow moving. Characters under developed. Slowent. Beautiful scenery. boring. Kept looking at my watch.

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2008

pedestrian.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2008

Perfect Love story!! wow! and everyone looks gooood LOL 5 stars =D

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2008

Please save yourself the money, pain and agony. Talk about slow! What a huge disappointment!

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2008

Excelent

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2008

An ok movie but how did this beat out No Country in Golden Globe? if this movie is 5 star, no country should be 15 stars out of 5. i hope oscars don't try to create a controversial upset like global globe tried and just give the best movie its dues.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2008

Well, that's two hours I will never get back. What a snore. Beautiful to look at, well acted, but painfully slow. Don't bother.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2008

Wow - this was a great movie. It's a hard story to swallow as it is somewhat heartbreaking but definitely unique. It definitely makes you think about your daily actions and how something so small to you may mean the world to someone else.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2008

I'm so tired of going to see films where the best part is the popcorn. I was so angry with ho badly made this film is that I nearly threw my drink at the screen near the end. This film is terrible. Very little in the way of developing what could have been a great story, instead this film chooses to ignore the story instead and show scenes of big budget war on the beach in which the main character arenot even a part of. Read the New York Times review, very acurate. This film was slightly better than King Kong if only because Atnement is at the very least beautiful to look at. My one regret is that I canot give it one star so it gets a 1 out of 5 which is generous.

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2008

best movie ever

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2008

A very good movie that involves the consequences of a lie told by a young girl and the profound affect that it has on other people.Well acted by all cast members and deserves many accolades.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2008

Not what I was expecting at all. The ending was the best part, the rest of the movie seemed to drag on and on with pointless scenes.

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2008

I just loved it. It was too short if anything.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2008

One of the best movies ever made

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2008

Atonement has an impressive assortment of scenes. From the beautiful English mansion to the ruined Parisian amusement park that was devastated by the violence of the war…it is very pretty to look at. But despite this, the movie capitalizes on the fame of Knightly and McAvoy, who turn out to be secondary to Garai’s character – a captivating presence throughout the movie. Their love story seems to erupt out of nowhere, with no gradual development. This makes the viewer disinterested in them and their ultimate prevail or failure. Anyone who was hoping for an epic love story that transcends space and time will surely be disappointed. The acting is adequate, but a pair of unknown actors would hav

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2008

Wonderful writing.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2008

Very interesting movie... I found it started slow. Lots of unknown stuff going on but it all comes together. A great story. Sad but still good. 4/5

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2007

well acted and directed - - a solid movie.

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2007

great great movie not to be missed

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2007

Beautifully acted and worth your time and money.

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2007

Horrible, Absolutely Horrible!!!!!! Read the book and DONT GO watch the movie. Very slow, dragged on from the opening scene to the final credits...

User review rating: 0 December 26, 2007

very good movie touching, interesting and very well directed interesting camera angles, opinions and views even made me cry very very pleased

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2007

Loved it.

User review rating: 0 December 13, 2007

One word.........disappointing. Basically a hollywood formula with an English gloss. The main characters chemistry was thin at best. On a positive note, some of the cinematography was well done.

User review rating: 0 December 08, 2007

On of the best movies I have ever seen...a must should be shown in every school...what lying can and will do...shows the devistation of a terrible was.Loss of love...just go see it you won't be sorry

User review rating: 0 December 08, 2007

One of the best adaptations of a novel by a film. Heart-wrenching and memorable performances by all actors. James McAvoy gets the thumbs up for this one.

User review rating: 0 December 08, 2007

beautiful, captivating, kiera once again a delight, from dr. zhivago to pride and prejudice, and to atonement!she deserves an oscar

Change Location