American Sniper

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.02 / 5

User rating: 4.02

Based on 200 votes and 51 reviews


  • User rating: 4.02 59.79%
  • User rating: 4.02 15.46%
  • User rating: 4.02 7.22%
  • User rating: 4.02 2.06%
  • User rating: 4.02 15.46%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 51

User review rating: 1 April 30, 2016

Love Clint Eastwood but its too bad he sold out and made this Edward Bernays total propaganda crap.

User review rating: 0 May 26, 2015

It's easy to see why this movie was such a big hit ... it's gritty, gripping and leaves you breathless. I also love bathing in the tears of all the morons who hate the movie, and can't deal with the fact that it was such a resounding box-office success. To see the DVD at the top of most DVD sales and rental charts as well now must really sting!

User review rating: 1 May 25, 2015

A wonderful piece of fiction about a convicted liar who kills people in an illegal war of aggression and then gets shot by another vet with PTSD at a gun range...if that ain't karma I don't know what is. Clint Eastwood lost all credibility with this BS circus flick

User review rating: 5 May 19, 2015

"War propaganda bla bla bla" ... no it's not, sad little haters. It's a movie about humanity, and the horror of war. Eastwood's best to date. Saw it in the theater and can't wait to find some time to see it again on DVD.

User review rating: 1 May 19, 2015

War propaganda appealing to the basest of human common denominators glorifying a notorious racist and liar (convinced of lying by a US court of Law). Lousy way to end an otherwise illustrious career for Mister Eastwood.

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2015

Excellent movie, Gives you some thought of what they go through every day.

User review rating: 0 April 09, 2015

awesome movie I har wow

User review rating: 5 March 17, 2015

Such a amazing movie! Can't wait for it to come out onto DVD so I can buy it!

User review rating: 3 March 16, 2015

Good movie. Cooper was impressive. As with all of Clint's movies, a bit choppy at times and lack of clear direction, but overall a strong film.

User review rating: 1 March 04, 2015

Very boring. The only thing interesting was the last 5 minutes of the movie

User review rating: 5 February 25, 2015

Loved It!!!

User review rating: 5 February 21, 2015

Amazing movie, touching and inspiring. I'm going to see it again tomorrow.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2015

Outstanding film which gives us chilling scenes of war and warriors. I don't like violence, but this was way more than that. Bradley Cooper could win the Oscar with his incredible performance. So believable and sad at the end. I'll see it again it was so good.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2015

I feel good

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2015

Violent- very but absolutely realistic. War is not a game, people die violently. Bradley Cooper just amazing acting job, you can feel his own PTSD evolving and the hardship on his family. The Iraqi war has been such a waste of life and that USA decision has made the world a much more dangerous place

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2015

Well done...left me with a heavy heart but thats reality

User review rating: 5 February 12, 2015

This is a very good movie! Shows the heart of an American man just wanting to do what is right and desperately wanting to protect the people of his country.

User review rating: 3 February 11, 2015

did not think it lived up to all the hipe.

User review rating: 0 February 10, 2015

THANK YOU FOR YOUR SERVICE CHRIS!! Chris was a warrior and hero, because of people like Chris some of the reviewers have freedom of speech to bash the military, you should be ashamed!!!

User review rating: 1 February 09, 2015

The movie is well done in many aspects but fails completely in the moral side. It is very sad that a movie like this had been made just to glorify a soldier that excelled at killing people, that 100% of them would provably still be alive if the US did not ILLEGALLY invade Irak. Between 100 and 500 thousand people had been murdered in Irak plus another 3 to 5 million had to flee to neighboring countries. That mother and child depicted as terrorists at the beginning of the movie would still be alive today. This movie is immoral and a insult to all the suffering this people had and still have to endure. Irak is a total mess and innocent people still dies everyday because of the mess th

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2015

Bradley Cooper does a superb job in the role of Chris Kyle. But what blew me away on American Sniper is the directing. Is it possible that Clint Eastwood is at the top of his directing game at the ripe young age of 84 ?? This movie is relevant to current politics, war and the effect on military families. Excellent acting, sound, editing and directing.

User review rating: 4 February 06, 2015

A sad story well told and well acted Bradley Cooper.

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2015

REAL LIFE OF REAL MEN

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2015

Great movie! Loved it!

User review rating: 2 February 01, 2015

Good movie about Chris but terrible message! everyone had a gun.. Terrible message for kids!!

User review rating: 2 February 01, 2015

Good movie to celebrate Chris' life and his achievements.. But what I was hoping for the movie to reveal was why the Americans went to war the first place? Many thousands of lives were lost... They were looking for weapon of mass destruction. But found none.. Way to go C. Eastwood for a biased version of your story..

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2015

This movie was an amazing true story of an Amercian hero. Excellent movie. Best Actor for B. Cooper. Everyone should see this movie!

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2015

great movie. Well acted & worth going to see.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2015

It is truly amazing what some individuals are prepared to do for the good of others - thank you Chris!

User review rating: 4 January 28, 2015

Great movie!

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2015

Excellent movie! Couldn't imagine a life during and after war like that!

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2015

great story but not really interesting. give credits to all the soldiers out there.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2015

a great movie. liberal trash mongers should not disrespect those who have served, they should either serve, or get the hell out of the country

User review rating: 1 January 25, 2015

Another U.S. pr movie.......trash. Why not just call it Hurt Locker 2?

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2015

One of the best movies I have seen in the last year or more Clint does it perfect.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2015

So so good! Intense and heart wrenching. Loved Bradley Cooper, such a job well done!

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2015

I read the book and read a book about the book. This happens and was well portrayed, to the nay sayers and one star raters, stay in your basement, turn out the lights, if you go outside life might get ya...

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2015

Best film we've seen in a long time, must see film!

User review rating: 3 January 21, 2015

I would given this movie 4 or 4 1/2 stars if it hadn't been for one extremely bad, budget tv type scene in which a mannequin baby was used. It was so amateurish it took away from a really great, otherwise we'll made movie.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2015

It was a very good movie but sad at times

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2015

the best movie

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2015

A must see movie with all that is going on in the outside world that is creeping into ours. It has always been difficult for me to to wrap my head around the ongoing horrors of what all our soldiers go through when they enter a world like the middle east and witness what is every day life for so many people. Bradley Cooper did an awesome portrayal of Chris Kyle. Clint Eastwood is spot on with his directing. It was important to show both sides of life for Kyle - at home and at war. It is not often we get to walk, as a shadow, in the footsteps of someone like Chris Kyle who was and is still current news.

User review rating: 4 January 19, 2015

I am pretty much a "ditto" on most all the points previous reviewers noted and was surprisingly more endeared to it than expected, for this style of movie. Definitely entailed all the notable and poignant Eastwood trademarks! Cooper? Not totally convinced...? To movie speculates, wondering about the value gained? Definitely worth the watch. Not necessary to see on in IMAX. Copiously foul language throughout (typical?), but rendered itself slightly more acceptable as it served to add to the heinousness of the backdrop which it portrayed. All and all, you come out, endorphin's worked, heart-strings played and feeling you had gained!

User review rating: 3 January 19, 2015

The most important word in the title is 'American' ... I found myself struggling, as a Canadian, to get into and truly understand the unquestioning motivations of the 'Sniper.' Acting was great but I found the movie more of an endurance test than anything else.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2015

Good Movie again.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2015

This is not a great movie but its a very good movie. It is quite emotional and I definitely recommend it.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2015

Even though it was another military go get em dust up I was very impressed with this movie, the horrors of war are truly demonstrated in this film and the power of regret is also shown but mostly silent, we walk down the streets of our city's every day and see people passing by but we fail to see into peoples minds to understand the roads they may have been down, respect the men that serve our country abroad for they have experienced the true meaning of brotherhood, courage and compassion.

User review rating: 4 January 18, 2015

loved this film, acting was great, especially Bradley Cooper, another great Clint Eastwood movie.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2015

This film should have but never acknowledged the ambivalence of the war it was depicting and the questionable heroism of a man who killed men, women, and children in the name of freedom. Brad Pitt's performance in Fury was superior in every way to Cooper's here. Not deserving of a best picture nomination.

User review rating: 0 January 17, 2015

This is one of the best movies I have seen in a while....yes there is a lot of killing but it gives us an insight of what our soldiers are going through. Bradley Cooper is incredible in this movie...definitely Oscar performance. Loved it.

Change Location