Alexander

Thank you for rating this movie!

Alexander Movie Poster

3.26 / 5

User rating: 3.26

Based on 16515 votes and 263 reviews


  • User rating: 3.26 47.23%
  • User rating: 3.26 11.26%
  • User rating: 3.26 1.12%
  • User rating: 3.26 0.92%
  • User rating: 3.26 39.47%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 263

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2008

alexander the gr8 was highly moving,it was so surreal i felt like i was part of the movie. i absolutely love watching a movie that moves me.history plays a huge part of everyones life,i always wonder........where did my ancestors originally come from........watching alexander the gr8 intrigued me.i had to watch it a few times to understand why alexanders ambitions went off track and it hurt to hear that his offspring,the heir of the throne, had lost his life due to insecure citizens/circumstances.thanks to these insecure citizens who became defensive towards alexanders ambitions........where would life be today? would we be stronger if we were alexanders descendants or would we be lost and f

User review rating: 0 October 14, 2007

i loved the movie so much , colin was brilliant .

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2006

This was a TERRIBLE movie

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2006

Good efforts, I liked the movie. Hats off to the Art direction.

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

loved rosario in this movie

User review rating: 0 December 05, 2005

the greatest, most impressive and beautiful movie with very cute actors and with true love story

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2005

This movie was ok....some great fight scenes....i thought Angelina Jolie`s part was awesome though and Colin Farell was good, too. I was a little disapointed though but it turned out to be ok.

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2005

THE BEST MOVIE I`VE EVER SEEN.

User review rating: 0 October 02, 2005

Masterful. The film gets better with each viewing!

User review rating: 0 September 13, 2005

Awful movie

User review rating: 0 August 09, 2005

Like Waterworld, you`ll have to give it time to "age". Then you`ll have a classic.

User review rating: 0 August 06, 2005

I thought this movie could have been great,Colin Farrell did a pretty good job but the movie was so slow going that your thoughts tended to trail off and you became bored with it.I was upset that parts were cut from the movie perhaps taking away important pieces to the movie. If your going to go in a controversal direction for this story keeps your audience captivated.

User review rating: 0 August 05, 2005

SHAME on you Oliver. Hollywood has really turned it up in churning out crap lately for the almighty dollar. I`m glad it bombed. Hollywood should stay out of historical movies and stick to science fiction or animation.

User review rating: 0 July 25, 2005

OLIVER STONE SHOULD RESEARCH HIS FACTS IN GREECE! AT IT`S ORIGINAL SOURCE, NOT THRU SECOND & THIRD PARTIES. HE SHOULD APOLOGIZE TO THE THE GREEK PEOPLE IN GREECE AND AROUND THE WORLD! BAD MOVIE! FIGHTING SCENES ARE VERY GOOD, BUT THAT`S IT.

User review rating: 0 July 24, 2005

THE MOST STUPIDEST AND BORINGEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME!! OLIVER STONE IS THE WORST DIRECTOR IN THE HISTORY OF HOLLYWOOD TATS ALL I GOTTA SAY, IF U HAVN`T SEEN IT DON`T BORTHER I SUGGEST U KEEP UR MONEY!!!

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2005

What is with the seemingly Irish/Scottish accents??????

User review rating: 0 May 29, 2005

It is a distortion of history. Alexander was made to appear as a hot headed, emotional fool.

User review rating: 0 May 09, 2005

well i thought that this was a very good movie

User review rating: 0 April 01, 2005

this movie is not historically accurate although it may seem like it is that`s because most of you never studies ancient history in detail.

User review rating: 0 March 25, 2005

this was the worst thing i`ve ever seen in my entire life. i love Angelina and i love Colin Ferrell, but for the first time in my life, i wished Hollywood would throw in their own plot and have them both shot square in the face.

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2005

Personally, the whole world made a big deal about Troy and when I saw it, I didn`t like it. It didn`t have enough battle scenes. But, I really liked this movie. The ony thing that I think didn`t work out was Val Kilmer and Angelina Jolie as Collin`s parents, they didn`t make them look old enough. But overall, I LOVED this movie!

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2005

Absolutely fabulous.

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2005

i think Alexander was not that great

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2005

I loved it. The actors were great, the story was great (Well, he WAS Alex the Great, wasn`t he?), the music simply fantastic. And I think Colin Farrell did a marvellous job. I must confess, I did not know him before but boy, he is great! And he looked (nearly) like 20 when playing that part. They all did a gorgeous job! I really can`t understand why that little bisexuality stopped the movie from winning at least four Oscars... Well, that the bizz, I guess...

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2005

No where near as bad as they are saying but NOT GOOD either. The casting is where this film disappoints. Angelina Jolie and Val Kilmer as Colin Farrell`s parents?...Come on!! Colin Farrell is too old to portray a 18 year old and his badly dyed hair, no comment. The film does have some stunning cinematography and some of the sets are quite spectacular but since the casting is attrocious and some of the performances, lame, this is purely "campy" fun but at 3 hours, the "fun" wears out quickly.

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2005

This movie is simply the worst epic movie of all time! I don`t even know where to begin! Colin Farrell is the wrong choice for Alexander, very much so. The movie is incredibly boring, the fight scenes are very bad. Bad acting, bad casting. The music does not capture the grandeur of the story, I can`t even remember any of the music (that says a lot). This movie feels like a documentary, a bad one. Bad directing. The story could have been great, but it was horrible because it was not told properly. It seemed like someone had to cut out scenes to make a 10 hour feature into a 2 hour movie and that someone just chose scenes at random. This was a

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2005

I really loved this move. All the actors did a great job on this film.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2005

Terrible and disappointing account of history

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2005

VERY KOOL!! Rosario Dawson and Jared Leto are great in this movie. Should have been nominated for the Oscars for Make up, Costume Design, Cinematography, and Director.

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2005

Battle scenes? huh!? The only battle scene that we saw was the battle of getting my money back. Battle scenes they say... C.J.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2005

It was alright, I wouldn`t go see it again. Mr. Stone sure made the movie long enough. Wow was it long, I coudn`t decide if it was an epic, or biography, perhaps it was an (epic-biography).

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2005

another boring oliver stone movie...

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2005

Hooray for Oliver Stone`s penchant for accuracy. It is a bit long but I would not call it boring. It does call for one to set aside any preconceived notions and perhaps some latent biases to fully appreciate the story the man and the movie!

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2005

Loved it! Loved the relationship between Colin&Jared. LOVED Angelina! Ok so it was a bit long...this is what it takes to make an epic. I don`t think Oliver Stone was going for a feature film! He never has! Hellooooo Platoon! Go see Alexander!

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2005

This movie is long, boring and disappointing...what a waste of time

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2005

This is a flawed movie-- (Too much long dull narration for one!)--but what a great failure it is: sweeping, grand and beautiful, with some spectacular scenes such as the bird`s eye view of the first battle. The historical detail is amazing and apparently quite accurate, according to a review I read by a Classical professor. I`m glad that`s it`s doing well overseas as it`s not half as bad as the reviews over here suggest. I wonder how much the homoerotic overtones, Colin`s dreadful dyed hair and plain old dislike of Oliver Stone had to do with the bad reviews. As much as I like Colin F, he doesn`t strike me as a leader of men-- he`s much bette

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2005

AWESOME!!

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2005

great! oliver stone did a very good job

User review rating: 0 January 17, 2005

i was very disappointed. Long, Boring, the men were prettier than the ladies (except angelina), colin kept switching accents throughout the dialogue, never did "get" who hopkins was out of alexander`s men. Oliver danced all around the gay issue but didn`t have the guts to delve deeper into it. Do not go do not waste your money!!!!!

User review rating: 0 January 17, 2005

simply grate

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2005

Worst movie Ive ever seen and Ive watched quite a few. The girl infront of me in the cinema played games on her mobile phone before going to sleep.

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2005

Excellent!. Nobody couldn`t done it better.

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2005

BOO THIS MOVIE WAS THE WORST I HAVE EVER SEEN CRAZY BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOo

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2005

I thought Alexander was spectacular!! Well made and exciting and one of the best movies of the year!!

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

it was no good

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

In my opinion Alexander was a good movie, no it isn`t going to win oscars but in my opinion it was an enjoyable movie. People who compare it to movies such as Gladiator are being slightly shallow, for why can we not just sit down watch a movie and say whether we enjoyed it or not, why must we compare it to others or judge it on others. I also believe that many audiences did not like the movie for many people in this narrow minded world like to shy away from homosexuality, it is here now and so why would it not have been there then and what is wrong with it anyway.Stop being so very old fashioned and just judge and enjoy the movie for what is

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

Absolutely awesome! I have long been a fan of Burton`s Alexander, but I think Colin may have actually outdone the master! As for the fact checks: As a holder of a Masters Degree in ancient history I can say that it was about 80% (thats an A for all you guys who didnt finish high school!). I was a little disapointed there was not more about the Egyptian oracle and maybe even the Battles in Asia Minor. But for a 3 hr film they did well in the tradition of I Claudius. As for all the viewers and writers on this post who seem to have a problem with the "sexual ambiguity" of the ancient Greeks: pick up a book. It is a FACT the ancients where far

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

awesome

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

great

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

good

Change Location