A Single Man

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.03 / 5

User rating: 4.03

Based on 60 votes and 15 reviews


  • User rating: 4.03 46.88%
  • User rating: 4.03 31.25%
  • User rating: 4.03 6.25%
  • User rating: 4.03 9.38%
  • User rating: 4.03 6.25%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 15 of 15

User review rating: 4 November 08, 2010

Awesome, beautiful film, bravo.

User review rating: 2 November 08, 2010

Could this be any more boring.....

User review rating: 5 September 28, 2010

Masterpiece... that was the word on my lips as I left the theatre. I was in complete sympathy with George's (Colin Firth) agony. Beholding the opening scenes in a deathly quiet theatre with a lump in my throat, striped my defenses and readied my senses to let the story flow in. Matthew Good was painfully beautiful and charming; an understandably tragic loss. I felt every twist and turn as well as George's awakened recognition of the world around him, and his place in it. Bravo Tom Ford!

User review rating: 5 September 01, 2010

a very good film!!. Colin Firth gives a performance that is unmatched - he was robbed of teh oscar last year. Tom Ford does a brilliant job for his directorial debut.

User review rating: 3 July 28, 2010

Naive as this is going to sound, I thought that this movie would have been simpler than it ended up being. I thought it would be about one man's journey through his twofold pain: his grief over the death of his lover compounded by the fact that, it being the 60s, he has no outlet to grieve properly or healthily. Mea culpa. All the characters are very well written (especially Jennifer, Mrs. Strunk's 9-year old daughter, strangely enough). This is a film that lives steadfastly in the realm of subtlety at the expense of plot advancement. I quite enjoyed seeing the way other characters interact with George, especially his ex-girlfriend Charley who completely misunderstands the nature of his rela

User review rating: 4 July 12, 2010

Excellent, moving movie about love, happiness and the precious thing we call life. Firth is amazing.

User review rating: 5 July 09, 2010

Beautiful Movie

User review rating: 4 July 08, 2010

Great film - a real gem!!!

User review rating: 5 July 06, 2010

Fantastic, simple, yet complicated and deep movie. Firth gives a performance of a lifetime. Moore and Goode and are also amazing. I thought this was one of the better movies of the year.

User review rating: 4 July 06, 2010

A beautiful movie about life, love, friendship and death. Colin Firth gives an amazing performance and was robbed of the best actor Oscar. Tom Ford gives brilliant direction.

User review rating: 5 March 29, 2010

Firth is fantastic. The film is lovely.

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2010

This is the best movie I have seen in years. Colin firth deserved the Oscar for best actor not jeff bridges.

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2009

Truly visually stunning from top to bottom.

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2009

Colin Firth has never given a better performance. This is not only the best of his career, it is the best of the year. Brilliant, subtle and completely believable. A heartbreaking story, Isherwood would be very, very pleased.

User review rating: 5 December 12, 2009

Great performance by Firth.Certainly Oscar worthy.Juliana Moore is very good in a supporting role.Not for people who go to movies to see Zombies,explosions and car crashes.You know who I am talking to...those people who gave The Hangover 5 stars...

Change Location