A Scanner Darkly

Thank you for rating this movie!

A Scanner Darkly Movie Poster

3.76 / 5

User rating: 3.76

Based on 426 votes and 30 reviews

  • User rating: 3.76 36.74%
  • User rating: 3.76 23.11%
  • User rating: 3.76 25.38%
  • User rating: 3.76 9.09%
  • User rating: 3.76 5.68%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 30 of 30

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2007

I took a lot of vicodin so i can`t say that my opinion is completely valid. However, it did NOT keep me awake.

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2006

Not bad - not the best but certainly not the worst movie we`ve seen lately.

User review rating: 0 September 17, 2006

Got ripped off on the cinema ticket (about $11 US), then the scramble suits and inappropriate animation did my head in! Very irritating. Would definitely have enjoyed it more if it was just without any cartoon effects. Winona`s smokin` hot though.

User review rating: 0 September 13, 2006

I have to wonder how much of the original story is missing. The screenplay did not do an effective job of bringing the story to this medium. I found the pacing slow, and there were a lot of disposable characters, as written. I was disappointed. I didn`t enjoy the cgi, but I think it contributed to the confusion and unreality intended. I wish I`d rented it, frankly.

User review rating: 0 September 12, 2006


User review rating: 0 August 31, 2006

I thought it was a good movie, but was a little put off with the way it was filmed, I didn`t like the animation, the story line was unique and the acting good.

User review rating: 0 August 31, 2006

Philip K. Dick, what a imagination this man has! It was a great movie, loved all the effects, and the overall anti-drugs message that cme ringing through lod and clear. Great movie, deserved more credit at the box office than it got.

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2006

It is great to see any P. k. Dick material put to film. It is always a challenge.

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2006

Very griping, a must see

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2006

This one was okay, but the story often seemed as confused as its drug-addled characters. And it hammered home the `drugs are bad` message so hard, it`s as though the film`s creators think we`re stupid. The actors are pretty good though - Robert Downey Jr., Woody Harrelson, Keanu Reeves and Winona Ryder all do a fine job - and while a lot of people think the interpolated rotoscoping thing is creepy, I really enjoy watching flicks using this technology.

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2006

it was an amazing trip into Philip K. Dick`s world. Linklater managed to amaze me once again as he did in Waking Life, without repeating himself. As for the acting, the characters seemed to be written for the actors that portrayed them. Overall, a great ride and I would recommend it to anyone with an open mind

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2006

The best anti-drug movie I have seen yet ... at least at the movies! Contrary to the usual documentaries where you are confronted with emerced bodies and syringes, this movie depicts the dangers of the drug scene from within and without as well as its detrimental effects on the users.

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2006

Excellent film, thought provoking and very entertaining.

User review rating: 0 August 14, 2006

People need to get off the drusg. This is a type pf mive that doesn`t have a story, it usually leans on the characters to drive the film. Although, there was some Good perfromance (Robert Downey/Woody) I was disappionted with keanu`s low profile in the Film. He Just doesn`t have ot anymore and to me i always use to think ht was a Good Actor. Good Film, Mind Blowing,Impressive CGI, Clever Script.

User review rating: 0 August 12, 2006

The rotoscoping was an obvious, if dated, way to portray the scramble suits. The movie was quite faithful to the story as I remember it. That may be a comment on my memory however. A superb adaptation of a Dick story!

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2006

An interesting use of cgi but I wouldn`t want to see any more movies using this technique. This reminds me of Clockwork Orange.

User review rating: 0 August 06, 2006

I knew I should have gone with Barnyard.

User review rating: 0 August 04, 2006

Incredibly boring...Keanu Reeves is way past his prime.

User review rating: 0 August 04, 2006

With all those actors why the graphics? It`s set in the near future, there was no need of way out sets. Linklater seems hell bent on alienating his audience. Apart from handful of older phillip k dick fans it was skater kids, goth, and young grass crowd. Unless he`s trying to impress Japan Anime market (worth impressing) then it`s a bad business decision to color Keanu, and the rest of his stellar cast. I wanna see live flesh, in my movies, there was nothing in there a good f/x crew could have accomplished in live f/x. Linklater get over teh cartoons man, you got good actors, paint over them.

User review rating: 0 August 01, 2006

A really cool and deep movie that contains an excellent cast.

User review rating: 0 July 31, 2006

Have to see it,.......So different and a bit funny, a must see,....

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2006

I really enjoyed the whole concept. I wished it ended differently though. But overall, loved it.

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2006

Kinda dull. Hard to watch the shape shifting suit. Fell asleep. Sin City wannabe.

User review rating: 0 July 24, 2006

Pretty good flick!!!!!

User review rating: 0 July 21, 2006

Loved it. Will see it over and over. Can`t recommend it.

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2006


User review rating: 0 July 13, 2006

A surreal journey through the life of Americans caught between drugs and a bequeathed model way of life. Trust is out of the question when you don`t even know yourself. Keanu Reeves tries to understand life and death through conversations and anxiety driven trips with sketchy friends that set the mood and tones of this paranoid world. An empty culture left behind by it`s bored citizens trying to claim a motive to a life on drugs. Philosophically and poetically engaging.

User review rating: 0 July 13, 2006

Very well done. I loved the animation the most. It was $7.50 (for the ticket) well spent. Had a good storyline it could have been changed a little bit but it was still good. I want to see it again! Beebs

User review rating: 0 July 07, 2006

Trilling, engaging and frightening

User review rating: 0 July 07, 2006

Excellent Film! It is quite thought-provoking with regards to the drug culture. Will something like this happen some day?

Change Location