A Prairie Home Companion

Thank you for rating this movie!

A Prairie Home Companion Movie Poster

4.17 / 5

User rating: 4.17

Based on 1126 votes and 69 reviews


  • User rating: 4.17 53.95%
  • User rating: 4.17 20.80%
  • User rating: 4.17 17.75%
  • User rating: 4.17 3.74%
  • User rating: 4.17 3.74%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 69

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2008

Great movie, I loved it. It might be slow to some, but if you like character driven movies you will enjoy this. The acting and story are top-notch.

User review rating: 0 October 17, 2006

Interesting film that gave me a glimpse into an era not too long ago when radio was live and everyday people lived every instance in the moment. If an error was done it was corrected immediately and they moved on to the next song. That environment is gone forever but this movie has captured the essence for all time. The attempt at comedy was weak so this one gets ***`s.

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2006

This Movie Is Bad Bad Bad I Hate it the plot is ok but the fact Lindsay Lohan is in it and she sings makes it bad it`s sould be 0 stars it should have never been done!

User review rating: 0 September 16, 2006

Very good movie! We all really enjoyed it.

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2006

Great movement throughout the film.. Meryl Streep and Lily Tomlins 10 minute spiel together makes the film worthwhile to watch. Great acting and great cast. weak link was lindsay lohan...but otherwise, great "little" film.......

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2006

classic

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2006

I loved this movie! And with such a star-studded cast, how could one not? Meryl Streep, Lily Tomlin, Woody Harrelson, Kevin Kline, Lindsay Lohan...the list goes on and on. And another thing which contributes so much to the film`s success is the fact that it`s based upon and even uses the set, musicians and crew of the long-running radio show of the same name. It`s just got an air of authenticity that makes it possible to just lose yourself until the credits roll. Bravo!

User review rating: 0 August 19, 2006

This is an excellent movie. Touching, funny, and true to life. This is a must see movie this summer.

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2006

Amazing cast! A real treat to see an ensemble of this magnitude.

User review rating: 0 August 06, 2006

Excellent. Good clean fun

User review rating: 0 August 01, 2006

Pretty good flick!!!

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2006

I really enjoyed this movie, it was well acted and very funny, very entertaining movie.

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2006

I thought this was a quirky story with surpisingly good singing. A very real connection with a small community, and remeniscent of a past era.

User review rating: 0 July 26, 2006

I thought that the piece had a very thin plot line. It was mostly a character exploration with some songs thrown in for good measure. My guess is that most actors signed on to work with eachother and didn`t really mind that the story wasn`t that great.

User review rating: 0 July 25, 2006

I think the actors made this movie and I really liked it.

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2006

Get casting. True Robert Altman. Meryl Streep has a sweet singing voice. Enjoyed the movie. You will too.

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2006

GREAT!

User review rating: 0 July 21, 2006

Homey, cheerful movie

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2006

Really good portrail of a fictional last performance

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2006

Excellent cast. Now I know that Meryl Streep and Lily Tomlin can sing!

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2006

If you yearn for simpler days and treasure those all too few square dances of your youth, this is your movie.

User review rating: 0 July 10, 2006

Watching Woody Harrelson and John C. Reilly sing "Bad Jokes" was worth the price of admission. I laughed until I cried and my sides hurt. Great characters all around.

User review rating: 0 July 10, 2006

Great ensemble cast. I left the theatre with asmile on my face.

User review rating: 0 July 08, 2006

good entertainment

User review rating: 0 July 08, 2006

Loved it! Love to listen to it on the radio, so was great to take a behind the scenes look at what it COULD be like.

User review rating: 0 July 08, 2006

I thought it was a bit too slow and there was too uch singing in it.Also I thought it was cheesy and sentamental considering it was a Robert Altma film.

User review rating: 0 July 06, 2006

too slow, people talking over each other, left after 1 hour

User review rating: 0 July 06, 2006

An excellent movie that not only entertains butmakes you laugh!

User review rating: 0 July 05, 2006

Excellent view of the past, and its simple pleasures!

User review rating: 0 July 05, 2006

LOVED IT!!! Meryl Streep fabulous as usual. Very entertaining. Wonderful cast. Meryl deserves an oscar nomination for this one. Can definately recommend this one.

User review rating: 0 July 04, 2006

A funny movie, shows what people are really like

User review rating: 0 July 04, 2006

Enjoyable if you like old country music. Meryl Streep and Lily Tomlin did a great job and worked well together.

User review rating: 0 June 30, 2006

i loved it. very, very funny. all favorite actors. well written &performed. would recommend &see it again.

User review rating: 0 June 28, 2006

A delightfully funny and refreshing movie - Robert Altman has a sleeper winner here! Meryl Streep and Lily Tomlin are outstanding and the dialogue is as hilarious and touching as you would expect from a 5 star film! don`t miss this one!

User review rating: 0 June 27, 2006

Wonderful cast of characters, skillfully acted.

User review rating: 0 June 27, 2006

Absolutely loved it. Started listening to the radio show over the internet after seeing the movie.

User review rating: 0 June 27, 2006

Absolutely loved it. Started listening to the radio show over the internet after seeing the movie.

User review rating: 0 June 26, 2006

excellant story

User review rating: 0 June 26, 2006

You gotta love Woody Harrelson no matter what he is in!

User review rating: 0 June 24, 2006

Fabulous movie! Great cast!

User review rating: 0 June 23, 2006

A wonderful movie, fantastic cast, and a perfect level of music to story, as far as musical films goes. The bittersweet tone running throughout was fantastic.

User review rating: 0 June 22, 2006

I go to movies for entertainment and I was entertained very nicely

User review rating: 0 June 22, 2006

I loved this movie because it was so funny. The Jokes in the movie were hilarious. Lindsay Lohan has a part in this movie where she sings a song About Frankie and Johny. It was a make you feel good movie. Lindsay Lohan Rocks

User review rating: 0 June 21, 2006

Great cast of actors to carry this movie

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2006

Performances very good; even Lindsay Lohen stepped up to the "production" plate. However, too much like a radio show was filmed and no real plot continuity.

User review rating: 0 June 16, 2006

Great cast - was a great fan of the radio show so this was icing on the cake !!!

User review rating: 0 June 14, 2006

Excellent performances by all in this wildly entertaining film.

User review rating: 0 June 14, 2006

The movie lacked a story line. Kevin Klien`s character seemed to be completely out of place. A bunch of big names doesn`t equal a good movie.

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2006

Good performances by all in this film, Singing was good for these actors. A little slow at the beginning and great at the end.

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2006

Quite an entertaining movie. It was not boring and moved right along with music and comedy. An all-star cast who were great.

Change Location