42

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.39 / 5

User rating: 4.39

Based on 130 votes and 39 reviews


  • User rating: 4.39 65.63%
  • User rating: 4.39 20.31%
  • User rating: 4.39 6.25%
  • User rating: 4.39 3.13%
  • User rating: 4.39 4.69%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 39 of 39

User review rating: 5 August 01, 2013

Great movie.

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2013

Great movie, touching and heart warming. It will make you laugh a little, cheer a lot and even cry.

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2013

I almost forgot how racist this country is until this reminded me again. I really don"t think its gotten any better. The movies depicts that life story in an incredible light. The only other movie that pissed me off because of the unrightousness was Brave Heart.

User review rating: 4 July 17, 2013

great movie with some stellar performances. What an inspiration!

User review rating: 4 July 15, 2013

very well made film...amazing story

User review rating: 4 June 27, 2013

As a sports fan I really enjoyed the movie.

User review rating: 4 June 22, 2013

I'm a Canadian of Chinese descent. My parents suffered racial discrimination when they arrived. Fortunately, the younger generation in Canada now seem to accept other ethnic groups.

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2013

As a Canadian, I regret to say that we still have bigots and prejudiced citizens in Canada. This is particularly true in provinces like Saskatchewan.

User review rating: 4 May 30, 2013

Wonderful film. Should be required viewing for high school students. The use of the "N" word is disturbing of course, but it reflected the time and spectacular challenge of Robinson...a definite hero and brave individual (not to mention his wife). My only disappointment with this film was Ford's performance. The constant strained expression on his face made him look like he had gas the whole time.

User review rating: 5 May 20, 2013

This is the most inspiring movie I have seen and everyone I was with, age 11 to 50 LOVED it! We laughed, we cried, we were angered, we were in awe of the power of the human spirit. The trailier and description does not do this film justice. A definate Oscar nomination but should win.

User review rating: 5 May 07, 2013

Just saw 42 what good movie. I saw Jackie Robinson play baseball in the 50s. Jackie was a great baseball player.

User review rating: 4 May 06, 2013

I liked this film very much. Great casting, good story and gives you an idea of what Jackie Robinson had to deal with. Harrison Ford did a great job as Branch Rickey!

User review rating: 5 May 05, 2013

Just an excellent film -- even for people like me who don't care about baseball.

User review rating: 5 May 02, 2013

"42" will be hailed as one of the great films of 2013. Look for it to receive many awards!

User review rating: 4 April 27, 2013

Great Movie... historical inaccuracies though.. players left gloves on the field until 1953.... not in this movie. Actor who played Jackie could have copied his running style but didn't. Ford was exceptional!!

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2013

Uplifting movie that is good for all audiences, including those who aren't "into baseball".

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2013

I'm not a fan of baseball but really enjoyed 42 the movie and the life of Jackie Robinson

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2013

One of the best movies I've seen so far this year. Great for kids too, my youngest son is 12 and it was a great eye opener.

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2013

Excellent movie! Truly depicted the way of life in the 1940's. Jackie Robinson was a true inspiration. Loved the movie!

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2013

Having lived some years in the American South, I saw this racism first hand. Excellent movie. The only odd part was where the babysitter arrived. Had nothing to do with rest of the movie--and I really doubt whether this would have actually happened, either in the 1940s or in the life of the Robinsons.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2013

A wonderful movie. Well written, excellent cast. It leaves you cringing in your seat at times, as it should. It even has you laughing at times. When you make this kind of movie you also have to pay attention to the baseball being played by non-professionals! Good job!!!

User review rating: 5 April 20, 2013

Great movie.

User review rating: 5 April 18, 2013

Don't miss this movie.Great story, well done.

User review rating: 5 April 18, 2013

He is a legend; Film left me with tears throughout film. Harrison Ford derserves a golden Globe or Oscar nomination for this film; He should us why Branch Rickey is one of the greatest, if not the greatest baseball executive of all time. The game is bigger than personal predjudice, and ignorance makes one a fool. If you are good at something the colour of ones skin need not matter!

User review rating: 5 April 17, 2013

Great movie and nice to see a movie that depicts how blacks were treated but also how their was some caucasions who wanted to change things.

User review rating: 5 April 16, 2013

best movie of the year.

User review rating: 5 April 16, 2013

two thumbs up ...courage...

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2013

This is truly well made, almost a documentary, but with actors reliving Jackies past . For this movie it is a line-drive out of the theater. Thanks for showing us what the past was like and how he managed to overcome racist ideolog.

User review rating: 4 April 14, 2013

Harrison Ford should be nominated for a Oscar for his performance in this movie........very well done.

User review rating: 4 April 14, 2013

An inspirational movie!

User review rating: 5 April 14, 2013

are people seriously giving this a 2? You guys are just as bad as the Phillies manager. If the movie is to "transcending" for you, go watch American Idol to make you feel smart about yourselves. What an inspiring moving 10 stars!

User review rating: 5 April 14, 2013

A Truly Emotional and Inspirational Film that will definetly turn into being a sports classic for generations to come. Great Movie with a Great Message. Definetly a MUST see

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2013

If you don't get the point of this movie, I really question your intelligence. Great acting, go watch Honey boo boo.

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2013

Loved it! Loved it!

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2013

people who don't like this movie are idiots. It's supposed to be an inspiring movie during a difficult time. GO back to watching twilight

User review rating: 2 April 13, 2013

I've got to be honest, I'm not going to agree with most of the positive reviewers thus far. I was actually, believe it or not, disappointed with 42. It tries to hard to be inspiring, but it wasn't. A bad movie is a bad movie and this is one. Rating: 2/5

User review rating: 3 April 13, 2013

What a surprise. A strong addition to great baseball movies.

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2013

Excellent movie! No blood, no gore, no sex, no swearing, just a compelling, true story superbly told and acted.

User review rating: 0 April 12, 2013

Harrison Ford has never been sexier.

Change Location