12 Years a Slave

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.29 / 5

User rating: 4.29

Based on 300 votes and 81 reviews


  • User rating: 4.29 67.38%
  • User rating: 4.29 14.18%
  • User rating: 4.29 6.38%
  • User rating: 4.29 4.26%
  • User rating: 4.29 7.80%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 81

User review rating: 5 August 19, 2014

an excellent film about the strength of the human spirit and the need to survive

User review rating: 5 July 10, 2014

magnificent film - you wanna hug your children after this movie

User review rating: 4 April 06, 2014

Okay so yes this deserved the Oscar. Outstanding acting, excellent story.

User review rating: 1 March 11, 2014

Should be less than 1 star. Vulgar and obscene, we left in the middle

User review rating: 1 March 11, 2014

I am surprised that so many people give 5 or even 3 stars. It's absolutely tasteless and full of disturbed characters, women or men. Public nudity is not necessary by any actress, who wants to see that, can go to the porn movies, so much crude scenes. Why don't we make clean movies about all the beautiful black or white people who have dignity and morals and won't undress for a public.

User review rating: 1 March 06, 2014

ok hollywood we get it. black people are good. white people are bad. now you can stop making these stupid movies.

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2014

A very dark time of our past but such a great movie!

User review rating: 3 February 20, 2014

Vary good realy deep a little cruel but all around a good movie

User review rating: 2 February 17, 2014

This movie was not to my liking. How anyone, black, white or green with pink spots could survive the violent beatings is beyond me. While it is a true story, it is not very realistically acted and it is more of a documentary than a movie.

User review rating: 0 February 07, 2014

Any colored people appreciate or like this movie? How about a movie about black people building pyramids or the contributions they've made to society? Seems Hollywood can only show blacks as slaves.Slavery isn't Black history,only a fraction.

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2014

this movie was incredible,must be seen. The acting is amazing, and heart-rending. For the people who have posted using the words "gratuitous violence", seems rather strange when you look at what the meaning of gratuitous is-'Without apparent reason, cause or justification' well the violence and sadness of the movie IS the point. The gratuitous violence perpetrated on fellow human beings (especially black people)is a shameful horrible historical story that needs to be told again and again till we are free of racism and hatred of others.I have seen much more violence that didn't actually have a point on T.V. GO see this movie!

User review rating: 3 February 03, 2014

Superb acting, but sadly the movie didn't live up to its potential. The writer, director, editor etc clearly weren't up to the task of sharing this incredible, tragic story. The dragging out of painful scenes like the lynching long past the length needed to make the emotional impact was almost sadomasochistic. Best Actor, Actress, Supporting Actress? Sure. Best Picture? No.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2014

Great movie, sad but very good acting, really enjoy it.

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2014

Well done

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2014

Great movie, brought me to tear. The director need a little bit of work but the movies was great. It saddens me to know that my ancestors had to endure these things.

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2014

Left the theatre very upset. Shared my thoughts with the staff

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2014

Who in the RIGHT frame of mind would show this??? Control freaks like to see this type of movie. It's got a sick, horrible plot. Rated 14. Should be rated for the Mentally ill,

User review rating: 5 December 21, 2013

The pen is mightier than the sword! All of the slave owners from America's South who used brutal violence against their fellow human beings and made their fortunes off the backs of slaves cannot hide nor distort the truth of their wickedness because of men like Solomon Northup, who was able to write. This is a movie for all to see.

User review rating: 3 December 15, 2013

I’m missing all the hype over this movie. Incredibly strong performances, I agree, and a good story, a story worth telling, but making the whippings and lynchings more brutal, adding more scars and prolonging the visual aspect of a man hanging from a tree sets does not amount to great movie making. It sets up for a cathartic but formulaic ending. Again, great acting, great story, but not great movie-making.

User review rating: 3 December 03, 2013

The idea behind this movie was 5*. But the movie itself was painfully long. 90% of the scenes were dragged out. At one point the camera is on his face while he is staring at...? For about 30 seconds. We finally get to the end where he meets his family again and its only about 5 minutes long with no excitement or meat to the story. I'm almost positive not how a family would have acted... Worth the cheap Tues admission but no more and be ready for a very long drawn out movie. :(

User review rating: 2 December 02, 2013

One of the most unpleasant movie experiences I have endured in a long, long time. The violence depicted is so gratuitous omnipresent, and aggressive that I began feeling like a slave myself. I should have left, but in the hope of finding some redeeming features - the acting was decent - I regrettably didn't.

User review rating: 1 December 01, 2013

So much unnecessary brutality. As usual Brad Pitt saves the dat,so to speak, gets his "humanitarianism" from AJ and with equal transparency. Pitts appearance just made the movie longer. Very disappointing flick

User review rating: 1 December 01, 2013

Not very well streamlined. Brad Pitt a bit of an injected messiah and movie too long and brutally savage

User review rating: 3 November 25, 2013

Perspective of a male psychologist: 98 on RT and a rare 5 stars on Tribute? How could it go wrong. First surprise, the theater was almost empty. The film is simple: 5 minutes of a happy family in New York; then 2 hours of unspeakiable brutality in the middle as demon-possessed men and women abuse their slaves in every way possible. No character development, evil remains evil; the slaves try to survive in an impossible world. Brad Pitt's arrival at the end and the eventual release happen so quickly and seem so random that there is no satisfaction, no resolution. Spectacular acting without doubt, but what are you left

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2013

"I will not give into despair!" A powerful message by Solomon Northup that allows him to deal with the evil brutality for 12 long years until he gains his rightly deserved freedom. This movie is a must see for all! The cinematography that focused on the beauty of nature in McQueen's signature still shots powerfully contrasts the inhumanity that took place on the plantations day in and day out. The acting, directing, and cinematography combined cements this movie as a work of art for generations.

User review rating: 2 November 24, 2013

great story but was too slow movie. some scenes were unnecessarily long!

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2013

This movie typifies how the filmmakers are pushing the envelope more on graphic violence. it gives you yet another example how sick americans are. I had to cover my eyes on some scenes. people were leaving the cinema in disgust at the beatings. whats next in graphic violence beheadings stop this crap please.

User review rating: 4 November 23, 2013

Very good but some scenes were too long for effect I suspect, but instead I would like to have known more about the Canadian connection - which was brief at best. Therefore this another movie that while historically important the links to Canada and so on were only briefly highlighted.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

a powerful & moving film that reminds us that this could happen to anyone & still does

User review rating: 0 November 18, 2013

This true story of a formerly free man sold into bondage makes for harrowing,unforgetable viewing.Chiwitel Ejiofor and Director Steve McQueen(Hunger,Shame) offer one of the best movies of the year and it is bound to be remembered at Oscar time.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

What an excellent movie!! Chjwetel Ejiofor is the main character, a free black man from the northern states who gets kidnapped and sold into slavery. The movie is based on a true story, and has all the elements you would expect - racism, slavery, intolerance, ignorance - unsettling and disturbing but true to the period. The acting is terrific, especially by Ejiofor. As upsetting as it can be, it should be seen by all. Directed by Steve McQueen. FIVE STARS!

User review rating: 0 November 18, 2013

Good movie, but could have been made a bit shorter by shortening some scenes (like when he was hanging there) by a few minutes. Very moving.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

excellent movie but hard to watch in places

User review rating: 5 November 17, 2013

Based on a true story, the plot involves a free black man who, through trickery, becomes enslaved for 12 years. It's an historial drama - bleak, depressing, and disturbing. It hosts an all-star cast with Chjwetel Ejiofor as the main character and who does a superb job, & co-stars Brad Pitt and Benedict Cumberbatch. Written and directed by Steve McQueen, this movie is absolutely a must-see, and should not be missed.

User review rating: 4 November 17, 2013

I saw this last night. It's based on the true journal of a free black man from New York who was kidnapped in the 1830s and sold into slavery. It is a very well-crafted movie: superb acting, excellent script and direction, cinematography was great. I rate it very highly: 4/5 stars. However, I can not say I actually 'enjoyed' it. The subject matter is gut-wrenching. When I walked out of the theater I felt as though I'd been kicked in the stomach. I don't recommend watching this if you are easily upset by the evil some people are capable of.

User review rating: 5 November 17, 2013

gripping, raw

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2013

Oscar nomination definitely!!

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

Based on a true story, this retelling of what was Solomon Northrup's reality is often very hard to watch. It is an assault on your psyche; and the brilliance in the filmmaking is evident. The silences, cinematography, soundtrack all contribute to enhance the acting in this film. Powerful!! A must see for ALL.

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

Horrifying account of one Nan's seemingly hopeless journey from freedom, to slavery, and his attempts to re-gain that precious right. Not for the faint of heart, this movie shows all the inhumanity and violence of the south during the time of slavery. A great story, but very hard to watch.

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2013

Brutally honest portrayal of slavery in southern U.S. seen through the heart-breaking eyes of a once free man captured to be a slave over a 12-yr. period. I see Oscar nominations all-around.

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2013

The movie was well acted and was an emotional roll coaster. It bought tears to my eyes and the injustice angered me. I would recommend this movie - the quote "I don't want to survive I want to live" will stay with me always.

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2013

amazing...gripping

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2013

SUPERB !!!

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2013

one of the best movies I've seen, very unsettling

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2013

very good

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2013

touching, emotional

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2013

hard to watch at times

User review rating: 4 November 11, 2013

Fabulous acting but extremely dark. There was no balence in this movie, just one sadistic slave owner after another, after another. Do not send young teenagers to this.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2013

Amazing story

User review rating: 0 November 10, 2013

superb film!

Change Location