Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.13 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

3030 Bloor St. W, Toronto, ON M8X 1C4

(416) 232-1939 | View Map


2.13 / 5

User rating: 2.13

Based on 16 votes and 13 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.0625
  • Concession User rating: 2.35714285714286
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.07142857142857
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.07142857142857
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.07692307692308

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 13 of 13

Old school movie going at its best

September 28, 2016

I can't understand all the bad reviews online about this place. I go to it about once a week and have had a great time seeing alot of stuff I cant see anywhere else in the city. Sure tix prices are more, but name me another small biz (any other cinema charges about the same price and shows stuff that we have all seen a billion times or mostly mainstream stuff). I saw someone on line complan about not being able to take their bag in the cinama. I asked the cinema why they would have to do that . Their response was a very valid one. The kingsway cinema is a licenced bar ( you can buy a drink and have it anywhere in the building) because of this if someone brings in outside food or drinks The cinema can be fined and lose their licence as well. It's one of the only cinemas that has a FULL licence. (most other cinemas only have a spot where you can have a drink. Or it's a VIP screen and it's $25 just to get a tix) I really like old cinemas and if we don't do our part by going to them we may not have them in the near future.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

poor customer service

August 15, 2016

Poor customer service by both clerk and owner, in person and via online correspondence. Small screen cut off credits. Limited food and drinks. Musty smell prevalent in theatre. Movies often start later than indicated. Cannot bring large bags or backpacks into theatres.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

OLD MOVIE HOUSE with high entrance fee

July 17, 2016

I would never go to this cinema again. They charge $12-00 for seniors on the weekend, which is outrageous given that you can go to a modern cinema with stadium seating for under $10 As well, If you have anything that even resembles a backpack, you are obliged to take out what you need from it at are not allowed to take it into the cinema. This is outrageous as I have taken the same bag (it is not a rucksack or backpacK) I have taken it into every other cinema and never have I been told that I cannot take it into a cinema.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Not Great

May 15, 2015

Been to the theatre a couple of times and found there was a musty smell throughout the theatre. Seats are uncomfortable, prices high and the owner o r manager is rude and I different. What an appalling business.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Rui Pereira needs help, what an extremely abusive character he is.

March 31, 2015

The theatre was absolutely freezing cold (Sunday March 29). Generally I take of my outer coat in a cinema, however, was forced to wear it inside and still felt more cold than I have all winter long, any place. My daughter was forced to leave half way through, as she was so cold There is a distinct smell of mold as soon as you enter this theater (the downstairs larger auditorium). Difficult to contact as no email is provided on the Kingsway page. Finally called on the phone and was rudely interrupted with loud shouting the whole time I was trying to explain my predicament. He ended the call by shouting obscenities to me which I cannot repeat here, and also saying "If you don't like it you can go somewhere else and don't come back here" and then I was cut off as he put the phone down. My suggestion would be to have this manager replaced asap as he is getting his theatre a very bad reputation. I for one will be letting my friends know and will not be back there any time soon. I have never encountered such poor and abusive customer service interaction in my life. Yes it was that bad.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

coldest theatre ever

March 30, 2015

The theatre was damp, you can smell the mold, and really cold. A shame because it's a beautiful old theatre. When the manager was informed he was extremely rude, his comment was "Then don't come back!" So much for customer service...and neither my sister, my niece or myself will go back, nor anyone else I tell the story too

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

February 11, 2015

I find when you enter the Kingsway Theatre it is well run and organized. The owner is very present and adds to the smooth running of the theatre when the patrons are there. The staff are friendly and helpful. I enjoy going to the Kingsway, even though I have coupons to go elsewhere for a cheaper price.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Abusive theatre owner, Rui Pereira!

February 10, 2015

Horrible theatre! Super crowded unsafe feeling lobby with staff yelling at us to move with nowhere to go, watered down pop, mediocre popcorn, wasn't even let in to the theatre until after the posted start time, seats were so narrow I had to sit on the edge of mine and got a backache as a result, ugly scaffolding in theatre. Glossy tiles in washroom offer no privacy in stalls, my male partner was uncomfortable in the men's because the urinal was in full view of the door. Smoke from the popcorn machine triggered my asthma. When I discovered how to even reach the owner (no email contact info on The Kingsway website, I had to use FaceBook), Rui Pereira was abusive, telling me not only to not bother coming back, but also to "go f*** yourself." He also posted many abusive responses to negative feedback on YELP. There are a lot of great theaters in Toronto with excellent customer service, and a happy, safe environment. The Kingsway is not one of them, and doesn't deserve anyone's business.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

Not impressed

May 11, 2014

This cinema is a complete rip off, the upstairs cinema is the size of a shoe box, it does not have very good air circulation (feels stuffy), kind of smells, and has the worst picture quality in Toronto. I sent a complaint email to Rui (general manager) and he did not respond. Wow, great customer service, NOT.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Never again

March 24, 2014

My wife and I went to 7 pm showing on a Saturday night. The lounge or waiting area was closed off so all of the patrons for two shows were restricted to standing in a small roped off area opposite the concession stand. We don't like being jammed in like sardines so we stood over at the side. The two surly staff behind the counter kept insisting we get behind the tiny roped off area. When we refused the manager came and insisted we follow his rules. When we didn't comply he grabbed my ticket and told us to go the Cineplex and not return. As if we would.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1
Change Location