Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.67 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

785 Milner Avenue, Scarborough, ON M1B 3C3

(416) 281-1444 | View Map


3.67 / 5

User rating: 3.67

Based on 22 votes and 16 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.77272727272727
  • Concession User rating: 3.4375
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.64705882352941
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 16 of 16

loud crowd, staff does not help

January 24, 2016

crowd yells and talks during movie, employees won't come in and do anything about it. was told afterwards to go outside and tell the employee to go do his job. ??

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

Terribly behaved audience. Consistently, not a one off.

October 29, 2015

Avoid this theater at all costs if you want to enjoy watching a movie, and not hearing the raucous banter, whispering and straight up talking during the entirety of your stay. Have watched a bunch of films at this place as it is close to me, and only twice has it not been a house party atmosphere with constant narration, once because there was only 1 other person in the audience.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

Worst audience behaviour in experience

September 01, 2015

I have gone to this theater 4 times now, because of it's proximity, this is my "local" theater. And every one of these 4 instances, the audience has been outright disruptive throughout the entire film. Groups of people whispertalk, or just outright talk during the movie, from the start to the end. There has been 2 instances of people burping loudly and then laughing about it, loudly guffawing at the jokes they tell each other, and the most annoying type of moviegoer, the narrator, who feels the need to say out every thought they have about the story as it is happening, not letting the film's progress show them the next part. People have not responded to being shushed multiple times, whispered towards them to be quiet, outright being told to "shut up" when none of the other measures worked, and there is nothing the employees can do about it. They have a worker come into the theater and walk down the aisle and back up once or twice, but the place is set up that makes it obvious when they will show up, so the audience remains quiet for the minute that the employee is there, and goes back to their whispertalk party for the rest of the film. You can't sit rows behind people because you can hear them, and you can't sit rows in front of them because they talk forwards towards the screen, carrying the noise further. I cannot go back to this theater because it is better to not watch a movie, than watch a ruined movie by the constant noise around you. I have gone to around 10 other theaters in the city and not a single experience anywhere else has gotten even remotely close to the rudeness of this theater. The very worst experience I have had in the other theaters has been less than a tenth of the average of this place.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

worth what you par for

August 28, 2015

a little old and shabby, but ticket price is reasonable

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

James makes every trip there a fun trip-even when some movies bomb!

February 04, 2015

Regrades of when I take my wife or friends there. We are often greeted very friendly & welcoming by James! It does not matter if the theater is not the newest in town. It is still a very comfortable & relaxed atmosphere. The managers are friendly. The young staff needs more training. As in Except for the times they are taking in your tickets. They seem otherwise to distracted in their own conversations-rather than cleaning the washrooms fully & the floors between movies. The concessions stands are clean-but not well manned for busy times. Still coming back-its smaller-then STC but wow lots of parking! & At our age it's still very comforting, thanks to James again!!

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

It's comfy for an older theater setting

February 02, 2015

The managers are No. 1 they are fantastic! There a wonderful 87 year old man there-who deserves a Pay raise & a plaque or something-to acknowledge-for how much he cares about everyone & is still willing to work there for low wages & little respect from the young staff. The young staff are not doing well enough with keeping the ladies washroom clean, they just look at the sinks & sign off that ts clean, unless customer tell them. We understand the young staff that's ok, its a great place for teens to get their 1st job exp. But, not showing much respect to the theater goers, seems rude except when they are the person taking in the tickets at that stand.. The ticket machines are to often broken & that's very hard if ya get there on a day with no one at the ticket sales counter. The concession stands are clean-but to often short staffed-or like the other day 1 person at 1 end & the other the 2nd guy unsure what his customers order was-looking around like a typical teen at his 1st ever job. However not moving on after he got help to the next customer-as costumers I saw we were not alone seeing that we were unsure even where to wait to order. No lines or signs-guessing which cashier gets confusing. We are regulars there at least 2-4 times a month. The mangers are outstanding-friendly & knowledgeable.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

James always greets me at the ticket entrance to the movies and makes me feel at home, all the other staff are so kind, caring and compassionate

January 02, 2015

Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

You get what you pay for (which is not necessarily a bad thing)

December 11, 2014

If you're looking for an ultra modern multiplex with all the bells and whistles, the biggest and sharpest screens, the comfiest seats that recline, the clearest sound system, etc. then by all means go down the 401 to Scarborough Town. This theatre opened in the early-mid 90's and really hasn't been updated much since. The ticket prices are generally $3-4 cheaper than other theatres, and the concessions are standard cineplex prices. They added a pizza/burger/fry stand in the mid 2000's for a bit more variety, and the theatre also has an outdated arcade. The staff are generally capable, but most are students, and aren't always the most enthusiastic about fulfilling the requirements of their minimum wage jobs, especially when it comes to dealing with loud/rowdy theatre-goers or cleaning the floor in between shows. It's a decent theatre if you want to save a couple of bucks, but it's certainly not the most dynamic of experiences. It all depends on what kind of night/day out you're looking for.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

November 05, 2014

Clean.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

way way way too loud

August 26, 2014

bring ear plugs for the trailers and preamble

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3
Change Location