Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.41 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

1100 Pembroke St. E, Pembroke, ON K8A 6Y7

(613) 735-8318 | View Map


2.41 / 5

User rating: 2.41

Based on 67 votes and 57 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.52238805970149
  • Concession User rating: 2.25806451612903
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.36507936507937
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.31746031746032
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.59016393442623

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 50 of 57

Always a great experience!

November 10, 2016

I attend this theater often. It is consistently friendly, clean, courteous and a great experience every time I attend! Thank you for your courteous service, and continued effort to keep theater movies in Pembroke with often failing attendance.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

It gets you out of the house.

October 22, 2016

It's a small town theatre and one shouldn't expect state-of-the-art equipment. The staff are nice and very much obliging. The seats however need to be replaced. Don't care how good the movie is if the seats are worn out. The sound system could probably use an upgrade as well, but if funds are limited, then let's get comfy first!

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Good Small Town Theatre

September 27, 2016

The Algonquin is a good small town movie theatre. The prices are comparable to theatres elsewhere. The staff is friendly. Sound bleed is an issue but it is an issue faced by many theatres. I have noticed worse sound bleed in the large cineplexes in Ottawa. I wish that there was a better variety of movies but I suppose that the movies offered are the ones that will sell in a place the size of Pembroke. Pembroke isn't New York or even Ottawa.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Needs Updating

September 02, 2016

It's sad that they can get away with such poor conditions because there are no other real options. Usually full of teenagers that aren't exactly courteous to other patrons. I save my money and go to Petawawa instead.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Only theatre in town

August 21, 2016

I find the people rude, the food disgusting, and the overall experience was brutal. Terrible place to waste your money!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Popcorn smelled rancid.

August 09, 2016

The theatre as a whole is what you would expect from a small town, and I've been to this particular one a few times. All my experiences weren't amazing but never as bad as last night. It took forever to get through the concession line, and once we were finally seated that's when my friend and I smelt the horrible smell. At first I thought it was the room itself, but we realized it was the popcorn. It smelled, to be blunt, like flatulence. We thought we were going crazy but then when we tried it, it was very soggy and tasted just as it smelled. We got extra butter on it, and I believe the butter had gone bad. Not only is this an issue with quality but it could really harm someone if they're selling rotten food. I will never buy food again from them.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Best theatre I ever been to. At least 30 over the years. The owners are great people. Always friendly. The best

August 03, 2016

The best

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Let's hear it for small business!!!

July 15, 2016

No it's not a chain theatre with all the whistles and bells. But it also doesn't cost a small fortune to take your children to see a movie. Yes the big city theatres are shiny and colourful with their arcades and self serve everything. But that's why you pay an arm and a leg. I like our theatre, it works, it's climate controlled and it's a small business with local owners. Give them a break, they work very hard to bring these movies to our small city. Yay, Algonquin cinemas!!!! Keep up the great work!!!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Honest Buisness

June 20, 2016

So I went to see a movie last Tuesday and left my black crocodile skin wallet on the armrest next to me. When the movie ended, I got up and left. When I got home, My dad told me that Pembroke Theatre just called to say That I had lost my wallet. I was shocked!!! I didn't even realize I had lost it. I came back to the theatre right away and the lady there gave me back my wallet. It was the young man working there that had found it. I'm so happy we still have some honest people working in Pembroke. I'm sure is someone saw it, the "could" have taken it. I had some cash in there and it was an expensive wallet. I'm very very happy with the way the owner dealt with the situation and will continue to go see movies to support the local theatre!!! Thank you guys soooo much.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

worst ever

June 16, 2016

In my opinion this is not even close to deserve 1 star. Over priced for the experience. THE OWNER IS RUDE TO HER EMPLOYEES. I witnesses it first hand yelling to a young lady for forgetting a item. the only one in the area besides going to Renfrew. Which I now do worth the drive from Petawawa. Good atmosphere and great price even offer combo snack offers.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0
Change Location