Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.66 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

135 Gateway Park Drive, Kitchener, ON N2P 2J9

(519) 650-0071 | View Map


3.66 / 5

User rating: 3.66

Based on 14 votes and 10 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.64285714285714
  • Concession User rating: 3.71428571428571
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.78571428571429
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.78571428571429
  • Customer Service User rating: 3.35714285714286

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 10

Worst Experience Ever

January 03, 2016

I used to love going to this theater but now the customer service sucks! 30+minutes wait at concession, messy floors, rude and unhelpful employees. When I made a complaint all they did was blame it on how busy they were. All I wanted was an apology for the crappy service and I never received it. Will not be returning.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Great Theatre

August 31, 2015

We have been to several different theatres and find that most seem to be run by inattentive staff who don't care about the customer's experience. This is not the case with this theatre, where the staff is courteous, the theatre clean and well organized. We have watched movies in in both the iMax and regular screen formats and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Noisy people ruin my movie

April 21, 2015

Totally disgusted went to see Unfriended April 17 at 755 worst experience in my life. Myself and three others wasted our time and money seeing this movie. Others were rude talking. The attendant came in a few times to silence them. It did not help. We have enjoyed going but this was the worst experience ever. After the movie there was no one to complain to.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

POPPED,WARM, GOLD AND BUTTERY ..

January 25, 2015

IF YOUR GOING TO HAVE POPCORN, YOU GOTTA HAVE BUTTER !

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

September 04, 2014

Customer service is great but at a cost to the employee. Sell sell sell is what they are suppose to do and if they don't upsell they are hauled back into the managers office and writtened up. So while that smiling face is taking your order he/she is being watched by a manager to make sure that their employee is making as much money as possible for Landmark cinemas.customer service/good employee relations I think not!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Waited 21 minutes in line

March 10, 2014

One staffer on till serving mom with two teenage kids. As this clearly indecisive family (they were already there when we arrived) continued to debate their order I watched from my second place in line as the bank style line overflowed into the lobby. This was just before 7:00pm while at least seven other young staff and what appeared to be a manager shared something on their phones while approximately forty of us waited for service. Twenty one minutes later we ordered our tickets and snacks from that same single staff while his "co-workers" and manager laughed and chatted away. Frustrating. Theater was and is always clean. Normally great place to see a show.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Damaged jacket

November 18, 2013

My husband and I were at the former empire theatre in Kitchener on Gateway We were watching the movie 12 Years a Slave. We arrived at the theatre about 10 minutes before the movie started so it was already dark when we sat. When the movie was over my husband noticed the back of my jacket was literally covered in some kind of black marks. I assure you these were NOT there before sitting down. I have a brand new just purchased 2 wks prior long light brown lambskin jacket. We went back into the theatre and there were a couple of young people cleaning up. We went back to our seat and it appears that there was something oily spilled on the seat at which I sat. There was no one behind us because we sat at the very back row. I dont have to tell you that OIL DOESNT COME OUT of leather. I broke down one of the young guys went to get the manager but I just wanted to leave to get my jacket taken care of. My husband returned and waited for almost a half hour for someone to see him. No one came. I assume that after each show the seats are cleaned because I have seen it. This is the first time this has ever happened to me and I am unsure what exactly to do. The jacket was a gift from my husband and I was told that it could be dyed to hide the oily spots. I am unsure if I am writing to the right people or not but I would sincerely like some resolution to this. I am not going to sue or anything my jacket was about $100 but its the principle of it. I did not pay to watch a movie and have my property damaged doing so. this incident happened Saturday afternoon - it is Monday morning now and I have sent my jacket off to be dyed a very dark brownish black to at least cover the damage. For the record this has never happened at your theatres before and please understand I know its an isolated incident but I was so very upset. My husband never did speak with a manager, he thinks the kids just did not tell anyone...because they didn't want to get into trouble.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Zero for customer service

November 13, 2013

We went to see captain Phillips at 12:30 on Tuesday. 12:30 show was listed on both the website & newspaper. Got there, no show. The lady in charge said they do not honour that website & the gentleman who got his info from the paper must have got it wrong. So all the customers were wrong. What would it have cost her or the company to give us passes to come back later? Instead of happy customers we left grumbling. We did go back later but we both think much less of Empire theatre & will probably now go to the theatre in Cambridge. BTW I worked in customer service for 30+ years! & I was always under the impression that businesses are supposed to keep customers happy. Shame.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Best theatre around

September 03, 2013

Great that you can buy your tickets at the confection area!! Only downfall is that too many of the staff (not all) don't butter the popcorn in the middle as well as on top. They will do it if you catch them not doing it but you shouldn't have to watch closely for this. They keep you busy doing your debit payment so you won't notice. Otherwise, theatre & washrooms are clean. Ticket takers are helpful & pleasant. Well managed.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Best Theater in the Area

August 12, 2013

Everyone is always friendly, bank line concession means you don't get held up by someone with a hundred question or need to look for the quickest line. Combo are a bit pricy but they are everywhere. Place is always clean.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5
Change Location