Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.80 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

2141 Theatre Rd. South, Cobourg, ON K9A 4J7

(905) 434-8233 | View Map


2.80 / 5

User rating: 2.80

Based on 17 votes and 12 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.11764705882353
  • Concession User rating: 3.35714285714286
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1.8
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.35714285714286
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.35294117647059

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 12 of 12

Wow

June 25, 2016

Haven't been there for years,after reading the reviews ain't going there tonight,guess we will go elsewhere, fix the problems people.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Best popcorn ever

June 04, 2016

Please put kid movies out!!!!!

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Love the drive in experience but the staff here is TERRIBLE!!!

September 25, 2015

Staff rudely searched car on the way in for...contraband? No, outside food! We bought popcorn from the concession stand and it was terrible. Tasted like it came from a bag...not fresh popped. Prices comparable to going to any other theater so the price was fine but the quality is unbelievable. Staff is the worst. They threaten you from the moment you are there about the rules. Place seems dirty and you feel generally like they are tolerating you being there. Bizarre. I love the drive in experience. This one is the closest to home, may have to drive further to experience others. Such a shame.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Rude, filthy, food quality not worth price

September 08, 2015

I brought my daughter to this theatre for a treat. The concession is filthy. The bathrooms as well. The gates open so late that by the time you get through the concession line you've missed the first half of the first movie. They don't allow outside food, but only provide unhealthy snacks and drinks which aren't suitable for kids. Our burgers were charred and the popcorn over salted (likely to get people to buy more overpriced drinks). This place is poorly run. It'd be nice to see the health department rating. Also, I think it's very inappropriate that they use their security cameras to view people in the privacy of their own cars. Perhaps the local police should be looking into this. We won't be returning. It's worth the drive to the farther drive in to have a more sanitary and stress free experience.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Young People Don't Get It

September 08, 2015

Growing up, drive ins were always the place parents go with the kids because it affords privacy and a lot of fun especially when you're there in a group. Clean bathrooms, concession stand cleanliness... Give me a break. IT'S A DRIVE IN! If you had seen some of the drive ins we used to go for entertainment 30 years ago, you'd realize they haven't changed a bit! You go for the fun, the nostalgia, the CHEAP admittance to some great flicks! We paid $7 per person! Been to a theatre in GTA and surrounding areas? $17 to $19 per person and the washrooms are even worse not to mention the idiot that keeps talking or the moron with a boufonne hairdo in front of you, and how about the kids that won't shut the heck up because modern day parents don't believe in discipline. I will drive any day the 50 minutes it takes to get to the Port Hope Drive In knowing I am in my own comfortable space with great surround sound in my MODERN vehicle with no interruptions and the only noise you hear is me and my date kissing between flicks. The people that want the champagne experience, stay or go to the big city and leave space in the centre aisle for those of us that appreciate the true drive in experience.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Please Sell

July 28, 2015

I wish they would sell and let someone else take over. Not operated very well. I live locally but have to make a long distance call to get the show times. The problem in this area is the cobourg theatre is also low quality so they have little competition. So there is little motivation to improve. I go out of town it's worth the drive and the extra money. The bathrooms are the worst which makes you wonder what the kitchen is like where they cook the food. Movie selection is terrible!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

great place

June 05, 2015

Awesome!

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

same movies over and over again

May 15, 2015

For the last three years the movie selection is horrible. They play the same main feature for three weeks or more. This long weekend the Avengers is playing again. It's the third or fourth week now. If you want people to come to the drive in then change it up more often.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Ignorant Staff

September 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I drove 45 minutes to try the Port Hope drive in for the first time. We had a plastic bag in the back seat with two small snacks, a water and a pop. I bought these snacks because I have severe allergies to gluten and corn which is in everything they sell at concession stands. He bluntly asked me to empty the bag 3 times. I ended up giving it to him and paying the $20 to get in. We parked our car and sat there talking about how ridiculous it was to get treated like that by some rude kid. We figured he would be the type to go through vehicles during the movie and after reading the review below I guess it's normal practice at this place. We drove out walked up to the guy and got our money and stuff back with a smart remark from the guy of course. We left and will never go back. If you're thinking about going to a drive in I suggest you go anywhere but here, unless you enjoy being disrespected by a bunch of kids.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Extremely rude and not understanding

August 12, 2014

We are staying at a cottage. Packed the kids up with a few treats from Dollarama and was unable to enter due to our snacks. A family of four was turned away ahead of us as well. I have NEVER been treated like this and they lost out on two full cars that may have purchased something from the concession stand anyway. The staff is very rude, unhelpful and apparently does not care about making money or having a good reputation.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 1
Change Location