Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 4.60 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

55 Dunlop St. W, Barrie, ON L4N 1A3

(705) 797-8860 | View Map


4.60 / 5

User rating: 4.60

Based on 33 votes and 26 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 4.60606060606061
  • Concession User rating: 4.61290322580645
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4.33333333333333
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4.5625
  • Customer Service User rating: 4.90909090909091

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 26 of 26

Love the reclining chairs and really appreciate the variety of movies. Have seen some amazing shows there that not come to the bigger theatres.

July 01, 2016

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

I agree best popcorn anywhere

February 12, 2016

I love this theatre because it is smaller than the cineplex theatres and much quieter. They also tend to play quality films.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

This is the best theatre in Ontario!!

February 05, 2016

I lived in Barrie for many years. Unfortunately, life took me back to Toronto. When I am looking for a movie, I often check what's playing at the Uptown and wish I could go! Sometimes I do because my parents are still in town. Best theatre around!!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Recliner theatre is the best!

October 24, 2015

Love the recliner seating. Ticket and concession prices are the lowest in the area.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Love the recliners!

July 17, 2015

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Gem of a theatre

June 29, 2015

It is a lovely theatre. Terrific follow up to dinner at one of Barrie's finer restaurants. The popcorn is great. Really an enjoyable theatre, and locally owned, not part of a chain.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Love the nostalgia...keep up the great job!

June 03, 2015

Thoroughly enjoy the experience everytime. The staff is friendly and super helpful everytime. Love the popcorn!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

an old fashioned in the best way

April 21, 2015

My husband & I would rather support our local cinema than a large conglomerate We enjoy the timeliness of the Uptown Cinema give it a try!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Love it!

March 06, 2015

The only place I will go to see a movie! Especially love the recliners! Great popcorn, great customer service, No crowds. Excellent price. Why would you go anywhere else?

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Great movie value and variety in the heart of downtown Barrie!

December 13, 2014

I don't know how they make money charging $5 (taxes in) for a matinee movie...but it's the best deal around! My husband and I often go to a 4:00 Saturday movie ($10 total), then walk to one of the fabulous downtown Barrie restaurants for dinner afterwards. It's even better when we get theater #3 with it's comfy reclining seats! Movie variety at the Barrie Uptown is fabulous. They bring in the BFF (Barrie Film Fest) each fall, and also have film fest movies the first Wednesday/Thursday of each month, and then another one on the third Thursday for "date night". My only complaint is that cleanliness is sometimes an issue. We had to brush popcorn off our seats last weekend before sitting down (from the previous patrons). However, the good far outweighs this minor inconvenience for us.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5
Change Location